We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“checked out a day early”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“checked out a day early”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Firstly the hotel messed up the booking on arrival. First room was 329 which was disgusting, wallpaper peeling of the walls, cobwebs everywhere, bathroom door didn't close let alone lock, loo wouldn't flush anything away, bath...well less said about that the better, no way would i have stood in it let alone lay in it.. Got moved to room 308 which was marginally better though stinking hot, no fan, no air conditioning and a window that opened all of 3 inches and with 4 of us in the room it was like a sauna. Paid for the buffet in the evening... what a mistake. The menu told us what we were supposed to be eating but i would never have known otherwise. Staff were sloppy, food area was messy with lots of the dishes spilt into each other. Kids hated the place so we decided to leave a day early. Breakfast the following morning had more left on the plates than eaten. Tea had to be made from water from a thermos flask??? We packed up and handed our key into reception, the bearded lad glanced up. I said we are checking out a day early, he took the key then went back to looking at his desk. He didn't even want to know the reason.
Appalling customer service, hotel would be better off being bulldozed. Never in a million years would i recommend this dump to anyone

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    219
    212
    172
    317
See reviews for
183
342
55
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went to a wedding and asked for directions to room. Young man at desk was so miserable. Left a cardigan there and went for it the next morning. Of course it had gone but the woman at the desk and the young man who took me back to the room were both really miserable. If I talked to people like they did I would have a 'good talking to' by my boss.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bakerboy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Came to this hotel as part of package trip and was disgusted by the cleanliness and decor of the place. There was that much dust round the edges of the room i had to ask for a hoover. The bathroom was full of mould, toilet wobbly and shower head so dirty you would come out dirtier than when you went in, floor boards creaked really badly, window opened 2 inches so no fresh air could get in and the t.v. which was out of the ark had 4 channels. In the restaurant the staff were rude and pushed you out the way instead of saying excuse me and for the food i suggest you go to subway next door much better service and selection. Overall don't bother with this hotel its not good enough to let your dog sleep in.

Room Tip: don't book a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kealie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Viisited the hotel for a meeting,and decided to stay for the £5 three course lunch.

Soup was one choice Carrot,There were four main courses on offer consisting of Liver,Chicken,Mushroom Stroganoff,and Battered fish,the sweet consisted of plated cake and ajug of weak cream the vegatables consisted of cauliflower,carrots, broccoli,and green beans a choice of two potatoes -chips and boiled potato,and a salad consisting if melon and some citris fruit.
The chips were soggy and luke warm.I decided to try the chicken which turned out to be overcooked and very dry,and the vegetables were also very dry and undercooked.In front of the buffet area is a raised step which which had no warning except someone had tried to put masking tape over it.All in all a more greasy spoon experience than a 4 star hotel resturant experience and even at £5 a complete waste of money and better value can be had else where

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

An excellent hotel for the price - right opposite Stoke-on-Trent rail station, but still incredibly quiet, even though there were two wedding functions during our stay.
Staff were polite and courteous, rooms spotlessly clean with wonderful bath and power shower (24 hour hot water).
Cable TV in the room, we weren't bothered about wi-fi, so if that matters to you, you can get it in their lounge area.
Never too sure why people say there are no "facilities" nearby. Just a bit of prior research would show that a 7 minute walk to Stoke Town Centre reveals two excellent pubs, "The Glebe" and "The White Star" - superb "Titanic" beers. Opportunities for daytime snacks (the Staffordhire Oatcake a local delicacy) at The Stoke Cafe, buy fresh oatcakes two doors down. There's a large Sainsbury's and several Indian restaurants.
If you want to go "oop 'Anley Duck" then buses leave every few minutes to Hanley Bus Station and out to Newcastle. Trains will take you to Crewe, Manchester, Macclesfield, Birmingham, etc.
Plenty to do and the hotel is a great "base camp."
One thing to remember is to check bus timetables as buses to/from places like Leek for instance stop around 8pm.
Brilliant hotel for the cost - we didn't try the bar or breakfast as there are so many other local options. Recommend that when you book, print out a bus timetable and check out pub reviews for the local fayre - it's well worthwhile.
If you do go, enjoy your stay. We did :O)

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, let them know in advance, they're more than happy to accomodate you. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel from Britania web site and specifically chose the double executive room as had a long drive (170 miles) after work and wanted to be able to relax in the 'spa' bath as advertised. Sadly was there for funeral the next day. Arrived around midnight too late and tired to change anything. The whole place looks like it hasnt been decorated since the smoking ban, yellow dirty paintwork with chips and dents, holes in doors, threadbare furniture. The double exec room was awful it may have been clean but the general atmosphere and surroundings made me feel dirty. There are no spa baths that work and although i booked a room with one I got a room adapted for the disabled with rails around toilet and bath. I can only say its not a pleasant stay and wondered why such a beautiful building has been left to ruin. I wouldnt stay there again and dont recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank janejackntom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had an excellent stay, staff very friendly. Came here last year and visited with friend this time. Excellent value for money, close to all amenities, room was lovely and spacious. Really good night sleep. Be back in October would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Property: North Stafford Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent
North Stafford Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing