We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Stafford Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks ago and it wasn't the best hotel we've been to. Not the worst either but still...

The room was like a sauna, which seemed to be because the main hot water pipe went through it! The night receptionist did supply a small fan, which didnt really help cool it down.

The room itself seemed clean enough but the celing plaster was in need of repair and the obvious maintenance that was needed was off putting.

There was a wedding on and we were above the reception and it was as if the disco were next door! Thumping bass, a DJ with the volume up full... Soundproofing would have been nice as you could hear the disco at the other side of tge floor, as I found out when I went for the fan.

Some of the staff were great but some gave the impression we were interrupting her day when we arrived. Breakfast was ok, nothing more than cereal, toast, cooked breakfast and hot drinks.

It's a prime location and looks better from the outside. Nothing a refurbishment and some new staff wouldn't fix.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for North Stafford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 days and were a bit worried when we read the reviews ... Yes the hotel is a bit run down but it was very clean the staff do a fantastic job and we really enjoyed our stay .. I loved lovely welcoming atmosphere and the hotels character , don't listen to the bad reviews

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariajane19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had read the reviews after booking and thought we were in for hell but honestly don't know what these people are talking about the hotel is dated but in a very nice way loads of character its clean comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and very helpful the rooms were clean and well equipped and the location is very handy to alton towers etc book it anytime reviews are. Utter nonsense

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam12345679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having read previous reviews we decided to chance it and hope previous travellers were being picky. Arrived at 8.30 , it is literally across from stoke on trent train station , so good in that respect. having phoned prior to booking they said we could leave bags in storage before check in. Receptionist didn't as much of offer a good morning, just made way to cloakroom for us to store bags, didn't even take our name or verify the booking. We got the bus to alton towers for the day and returned at 7pm to check in. 2nd receptionist did seem more welcoming, but didn't show us round or tell us about dinner/ bfast or facilities. Our room was 114, and first impressions initially were although old and dated we're ok it seemed clean, but the wall was all damp, curtains hanging off ect. Dinner, was different maybe just bad timing , soup ready but no bread rolls, salad left but all the prawns picked out, fish no chips, Luke warm drinking water, I could go on. after dinner we returned to the room, and after dropping something on the floor my son went to pick it up and found a condom wrapper by the bed, and on pulling back our bed sheets they seemed to be full of body hairs! On reporting this to reception, I was simply told you can't be moved room. But on insistence she called someone after laughing down the phone about the situation I front of me, someone came to inspect the offending items, he offered to clean room, so we're sent go the bar for a free drink, at 22.00 after being up since 5am it was the last thing we needed. Breakfast was as good as dinner.
I am not fussy and don't often stay in expensive hotels, we were only expecting a clean room and bed, not to sleep in other ones bits. Good points location, baggage store. Bad points, see above!

Room Tip: 114 looks on to main road / station entrance. But room itself was poor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yvonne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Looking at past reviews other people experienced the same standards... Dirty rooms, mouldy shower, dated decor and most of all poor customer service by staff.. As it was part of a package holiday no real choice but to stay.. shame!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Firstly the hotel messed up the booking on arrival. First room was 329 which was disgusting, wallpaper peeling of the walls, cobwebs everywhere, bathroom door didn't close let alone lock, loo wouldn't flush anything away, bath...well less said about that the better, no way would i have stood in it let alone lay in it.. Got moved to room 308 which was marginally better though stinking hot, no fan, no air conditioning and a window that opened all of 3 inches and with 4 of us in the room it was like a sauna. Paid for the buffet in the evening... what a mistake. The menu told us what we were supposed to be eating but i would never have known otherwise. Staff were sloppy, food area was messy with lots of the dishes spilt into each other. Kids hated the place so we decided to leave a day early. Breakfast the following morning had more left on the plates than eaten. Tea had to be made from water from a thermos flask??? We packed up and handed our key into reception, the bearded lad glanced up. I said we are checking out a day early, he took the key then went back to looking at his desk. He didn't even want to know the reason.
Appalling customer service, hotel would be better off being bulldozed. Never in a million years would i recommend this dump to anyone

Room Tip: book elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went to a wedding and asked for directions to room. Young man at desk was so miserable. Left a cardigan there and went for it the next morning. Of course it had gone but the woman at the desk and the young man who took me back to the room were both really miserable. If I talked to people like they did I would have a 'good talking to' by my boss.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bakerboy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Stafford Hotel

Address: Station Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: £39 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Stafford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Stafford Hotel is a spacious and elegant hotel, conveniently situated in the heart of Stoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel North Stafford
North Stafford Stoke On Trent
North Stafford Hotel Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing