We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterworld

Waterworld
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WaterWorld is the UK's number one Tropical Indoor Aqua Park based in Staffordshire. Splash around in a wave pool surrounded by slides, rides and flumes. There is plenty to do for all ages, for weaker and stronger swimmers alike, with a Water's Edge Restaurant where you can lounge and grab a quick bite to eat. We have a choice of meal deals, sharing platters and specialities of the day. Many of the things on our menu are also gluten free, nut free or Halal. Just ask the helpful staff on your next visit. For a dripping good time, WaterWorld also host a range of birthday parties for all ages in its own special beach themed party area. With unlimited time in the pool, birthday buffets as well as goody bags and balloons every child has a whale of a time at a WaterWorld Beach Party. If you're looking for the most happening party every Friday, the Wave Rave is the place to be. With the latest chart toppers, exciting games and competitions with give-aways, it's easy to get fluming excited.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dirty!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I haven't been to waterworks for years so didn't really know what to expect,
The changing rooms are so dirty with rubbish and chewing gum all over the floor! The hair dryers didn't work and the shower water trickled out, we had some food in the cafe which was cold horrible and looked like it had been sat there for hours! The lady that served us didn't smile or speak at all! The slides are ok but the water feels dirty almost slimy!
Will not be returning here again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinions regarding water world, You say the changing rooms were dirty, the lifeguards situated in the changing rooms do constantly clean throughout the day, this is to ensure high standards are maintained at all times. Unfortunately we do not have any control over customer discarding of their rubbish but do implement measures such as nappy bins and bins around the whole of the facility. Toilet checks take place every 20-30 minutes by male and female lifeguards. At the close of business every area has a deep clean with a strong disinfectant. Unforeseen technical faults can occur, if this does happen our maintenance team work efficiently to ensure all of our hair dryers are in full working order. Records show no issues with our showers. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food from our café, our food is freshly prepared whilst abiding by all food hygiene procedures. Our staff are customer focused and strive to offer the best possible service. Our pool water is closely monitored to ensure our PH levels are adequate for our guests. We are sorry to hear you would not return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    465
    302
    196
    265
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely filthy!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been here a few times with it being local each time we have been dissatisfied!

The only reason for today's visit was that we were turned away from alton towers splash landings as it was too full. After promising the children to go to a waterpark!

Overpriced and I was charged for 16 month old baby!

Changing rooms were filthy. Slimy floors. Broken lockers, no door on few changing rooms, stank of urine!

Pool area wasn't much better, paint peeling off everywhere and unpleasant smell! Things floating in the water, won't even mention the state of the toilets!

We didn't seen anyone clean anything the whole time we were there!

The water was freezing I had to take my daughter out as her lips had gone blue she was that cold!

Definitely will NOT return, lesson learned here was to pre book at splash landings!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank SJT0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to express your opinions regarding Water world. As cleanliness is the upmost importance to us, we find your comments extremely concerning; all areas are deep cleaned with a strong disinfectant at the close of business. Cleaning also takes place prior to opening to ensure standards are constantly at the highest. Our maintenance team cater to all jobs efficiently and effectively as possible whilst also regularly carrying out water checks to ensure the water and air temperature is at an adequate temperature. High and low level painting has recently been put into action through out poolside. Under water checks ensure any debris is removed. The toilets are monitored every 20-30 minutes by male and female lifeguards, whilst constantly cleaning the changing rooms and other facilities. Bins and nappy bins are provided for all customers to use. We are sorry to hear that you would not return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent family day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Granted this place is now showing it's age but we had an excellent day out. Our oldest child is 19 and youngest 8, all were more than entertained with the selection of slides available.
Some on here are saying Splash landings is better, I have visited both and although splash landings is newer and cleaner looking, you have to queue much longer for each ride. The splash landings master blaster is better than the waterworld version but you can queue for 40 mins at Alton towers. The longest we queued today, Easter sunday, was 10 mins.
We arrived early and got straight on everything, we opted for the rapids and wave pool when the queues looked bigger, around lunch time, and at the end of the day we were getting straight on all slides again.
The food is typical for tourist attractions and reasonably priced, compared to other waterparks but you can take your own in, if you're looking to visit on a budget. We paid £20 for 4 meals, inc drinks, 2 sides and 4 ice creams. Our older 2 picked a platter for £10, you can buy 2 of these for £18. A cappuccino is £1.40.
Lockers are paid for on the way in and cost £1.50, you can take your bags in with you if you prefer. You only get 50p refund for your locker token, which can be used as many times as you like on the day you visit.
Also, check their website before you leave, for printable vouchers, we saved a around £20 for the 6 of us this way. Hope you enjoy your visit as much as we did!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sezzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to express your views regarding Water world. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent day out and enjoyed many of our features and rides available. All staff members strives to meet customers’ expectations, whilst lifeguards are efficient in queue control to ensure customers are only waiting for small period of times. Our poolside café offers a wide selection of meal deals which are popular with all guests. Our website is regularly updated with money saving incentives. We hope to see you again soon 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family friendly fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Been twice in the past few months. Been in term time (when my daughters school was on a teacher training day) and also went last week in the Easter holidays. Luckily with living 10 mins away we were there early in the school hols. We had a comfortable 2 hours before it got really really busy!! If you want to avoid the queues for the rides Go Early! The actual waterpark is great for kids of between 7years and teenagers. Plenty of good rides - my daughter loved the lily pads (swinging across) and the giant fish bowl. I also took my youngest daughter who is just 2 years old. A lovely area for toddlers with plenty of slides. She loved it! We ate at the poolside cafe which is what you would expect - burgers and chicken nuggets - however they were nice and not greasy and about average price. Wouldn't rave about the food but wouldn't complain. The staff are all very young and I didn't see any of them " chatting " amongst themselves like I have seen at other pools. A few areas could do with tidying up as some of the rides look a bit shabby but it doesn't affect the fun. It did get very busy after midday (we got there at 10am) so we left after 2.5 hours. This was plenty of time in the water though. My only dislike - not enough family changing rooms - we had to stand dripping wet waiting for 10 mins for a free changing room. Other than that thumbs up.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenno32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to express your views regarding Water world. We are ecstatic to hear that your expectations were met with regards to the fabulous rides and features we have available whilst catering for all age ranges. Our staff offer excellent customer service and strive for the best in their job performance. Water world attracts a high influx of guests demonstrating how popular the water park is. Our changing room’s offers ten rows of cubicles with four rows offering family cubicles, we are sorry to hear you had to wait to get changed. We hope to see you again for another fun day at Water world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was very good, enjoyed it, going on all the slides, and rapids. It can get busy, but get there early, will save you any queue's. The out door pool is really good too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayner7689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your day at Water world and your expectations were met. We hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterworld also viewed

 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Waterworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing