We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food, pretty good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Exchange

Spice Exchange
Ranked #41 of 536 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice food, pretty good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited with friends for no specific occasion and was pleasantly surprised. We arrived about 20 mins early and waited a only a few mins for our table to be ready, the only thing was that we then waited a a fair while for service. Once it came though it was good. The menu was very nice, some new dishes we hadn't seen elsewhere and well explained so we could choose more easily. Rally liked their slant on some of the ingredients too - try it, you'll be pleasantly rewarded!

If there was a negative to be had it was that service before ordering was slow, but between courses they were a bit quick, so our night could have been over and done with sooner that we expected. We were swayed by the desserts menu but a bit disappointed. The desserts whilst lovely, didn't live up to the their grand names.

Price wise not bad at all, mid range, would we go again, yes, definitely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank w4sssup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    45
    16
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have frequented this restaurant several times both as a small and large group of guests. Obviously the service will differ a little when part of a large group 8-10 + due to the practicalities but on every occasion I have been very pleased with the way my guests and I have been attended to. They don't waste resources by dressing the tables unnecessarily which I consider an excellent way of reducing not the cost but the impact boiling white table clothes etc has on the environment. The menu is 'something' different but caters for those who don't want to be to adventurous. They are also always more than happy to explain the menu. Great place to eat !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

First time visit here for family birthday on Monday 30th June. We were a bit concerned that as it was a Monday it might have been a bit quiet but it was busy and had a great atmosphere. We had a perfect table for five of us & they had put up some balloons & a banner which we thought was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly & polite & explained any dishes we asked about. The food was superb & for me was possibly the tastiest curry I've ever had. For us the portion sizes were just right. At the end of the evening they bought out a desert with a candle & sang happy birthday & gave the birthday boy a box of chocs. All this was totally unexpected which we thought was a lovely thing to do. We will definitely be back. Great service, delicious food well presented & friendly staff. Thank you Spice exchange for making our evening extra special.

Helpful?
Thank Lez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just to expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The food is nice enough and presentation is excellent but there is just not enough of it. The drinks are excessively expensive and the whole experience leaves you with a feeling of being ripped off!! We won't be back anytime soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank stephen_kelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hassled to many times about Popadoms and drinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The food is good. This is spoilt by the waiters hoovering like vultures. We were asked four times if we wanted popadoms and a further 25 times if we wanted another drink. The drinks are very expensive costing over £2.50 for a small glass of coke when you think you can buy a bottle for 2 pounds then you can see how much a mark up there is.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riverfallss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Exchange also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Spice Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing