We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baby Russets

Baby Russets
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$37
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional English restaurant
1 review
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My daughter had her 21 st birthday meal here. There were 25 people in our party. The service was amazing all the food served around the same time. The staff couldn't do enough to make it a very special day for my daughters birthday.We all enjoyed the excellent food and service. Thank you and see you soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    86
    35
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One to try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

"Hey, I've heard some good reports that Baby Russets are worth a try if you are coming over to Stoke sometime again soon, not tried them myself yet though", thanks Gaz, I will do just that!

And so it was to be, restaurant booked, slight hiccup and had to cancel, hiccup cleared and restaurant rebooked.

Situated in the square adjacent to King's Hall in Stoke, plenty of parking directly opposite but it's handy if you know your way around to make access a doddle, fortunately my partner for the occasion does so we arrived nice and early.

We were very warmly greeted to a very pleasantly decorated un-cramped restaurant and offered two tables to choose from as I had asked for a quiet corner if available.

Seated we were soon offered the menu and specials by a nicely attired and charming waitress, a bottle of Merlot ordered and equally quickly delivered, nicely room tempered too.

For starters a prawn cocktail and the smoked haddock fish cakes, for mains we had already viewed the menu online and decided to try the pies, meat and potato and steak and kidney. Baby Russet's is afterall proudly advertised as an 'English' restaurant, so traditional fares it would be on this occasion.

The meal was absolutely delicious, very nicely presented with very attentive service, the pies, copious delicious meat topped with a separate but truly scrumptious short crust pastry topping, a dish of chips too to complement the vegetable side dish and a whole jug of gravy, superb!

For afters, well we were well and truly stuffed by the very ample portions but took a look at the dessert menu just in case, a nice 'robust' selection but nothing really light enough to tempt us, a nice fruit sorbet and/or some fresh summer fruits may have just done the trick though.

Oh and to the final treat, the bill, what can I say, really excellent value for a truly delicious meal, served in a very pleasant and very well run 'English' restaurant, we will be back very soon so thank you very much Steve, partner and staff for a wonderful meal to compliment a wonderful night. M and J

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Large party well looked after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nine of us attended a birthday party on Saturday Night at Baby Russets a place none of us had been before (not for the want of trying but could not get in) We were seated at a comfortable table with plenty of room at the for our party considering the size of the restaurant we were not cramped at all. Various starters were ordered all of which were excellent , there was an issue (the only one of the night) where one of our orders was incorrect , however the correct starter was brought within a couple of minutes . Main courses and deserts were also excellent and the whole evening was thoroughly enjoyed by all .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing yet again! Superb food and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visited again as its now one of our most favourite places to eat, we count down the days till our next visit! Went with my husband and my parents on a wednesday evening at the beginning of june, food and service absolutely suberb all 4 of us chose different meals, the tiger prawn chorizo and white pudding (i asked to change from black to white pudding) which was no trouble for them at all, was divine. My dad had steak and kidney pie he said best pie and pastry hes ever had and i agree as i snook a taste! Absolutely suberb couldnt fault a thing! Recommend booking in advance as gets booked up, but guarantee you wont be disappointed.many thanks to steve and his team for a great meal. See you on the 29th for sunday lunch. Yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank welovedomrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Time warp with benefits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Be prepared to step back a couple of decades and enjoy wholesome well cooked traditional British food.
Portions are man size so take your appetite with you. Excellent value, friendly service. Great for family gathering.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baby Russets also viewed

Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Baby Russets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing