We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but VERY noisy!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Stoke East
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
“Clean but VERY noisy!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here last night as we were visiting Alton Towers, the room was basic but very clean, the bed was comfy and facilities great. We went next door for some tea which was great and served in a timely manner. The only downfall to this Hotel is the noise you can hear everything from rooms next door and above. There is also constant traffic vehicle reversing bleeps. Also on checkout there was 4 members of staff on the desk and NOT one member of staff said goodbye or how was your stay!! Quite rude really. Would not stay there again or recommend to anyone, which is a shame as this could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sound proof one!! Or earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    135
    93
    27
    30
See reviews for
100
130
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stop off on the way to Alton Towers (approx 10 miles from it). Decent room with everything we required, I would say good value for money. There is a bar and a Hungry House serving your standard pub food. If you are looking for a place to stay near Alton Towers I would recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival the staff where friendly and the room was clean and tidy, evening meal was good value for money, but then came to breakfast and I was so very disappointed to find out that breakfast was not included in my room fee, and in fact it would have been far cheaper to stay in the Premier Inn.

In fact this is the first hotel I have ever stayed in where breakfast is not included in the room fee, and for what I paid it was not worth the money.

Checking the website it is not clear that breakfast is an extra charge.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AdiOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stoke-on-Trent hotels

Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Popped of the duel carriage way for a spot of lunch.it was a great menu quick and efficient and the staff were lovely.Value for money was great.its a big restaurant and I would imagine its busy as the weekends.Nice bar area as well for those not eating even showing SKY sports

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrWhoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend as an overnight stop for Alton Towers. Perfect for such an occasion! Stayed in room number 1 which unfortunately was right next to the stairs. They could be doing with some extra carpeting because we could hear every single person as they came and went. Room was brilliant though! Clean, spacious, comfy bed.

Went to the Hungry Horse next door for dinner which was great! Exactly what we needed!

There's a McDonald's right across the road which we went to for an early breakfast before leaving.

Guy on the front desk was lovely :)

With the exception of the loud stairs, nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Overnight stay with my son for uni Open Day. Twin room was clean, spacious, well stocked tea & coffee facility & toiletries, comfy beds. Only downside was wall attached hair dryer seemed a bit dodgy, but they obviously knew this as there was a spare one on the side. Also water was pretty cold for a shower, but bearable. Good & easy access hot food downstairs in Hungry Horse. Staff all very friendly and helpful.Reading some other reviews, I think some people expect too much. Basically, you get what you pay for, but this was definitely brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountessExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

stopped here for one night as a stop over for alton towers the next day. good basic room, we had a double and still room for a sofa in the corner...don't get me wrong it could do with a bit of an upgrade but still, it was ok....apart from the electrical appliances

went to use the hair dryer (the one attached to the wall) it fell apart in my hand (nearly electrocuted me!!) and went to have a cup of tea this morning and inside the kettle was green...I went over the maccies to have a cuppa but the kettle was truly disgusting

also, I know the hotel couldn't help it but there were some very drunk men in front of the pub shouting and saying inappropriate things to people on the way in...wasn't very nice

so, good location ,comfy room and good wifi also...just be aware of the appliances

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sca438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
7.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
14.3 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Stoke East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Stoke East

Property: Best Western Stoke East
Address: Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England (Formerly Weathervane Value Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Stoke East 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Stoke East Hotel lies just 4 miles from Stoke city center itself, perched conveniently by the A50 to make access to all major routes as easy as falling asleep in one of our wonderful rooms! Our lodge style hotel has been recently refurbished, and offers a contemporary-yet-comfy setting for any stay whether you're here on a romantic getaway, a business stopover or a family break. In fact, we're so family friendly that even 'Mr Tumble' once paid us a visit on his way home from Alton Towers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Stoke East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weather Vane Value Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Best Western Stoke East Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing