We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what you make of it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Stoke East
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 16 May 2014

When we arrived at the hotel there was no one on the desk so we followed the directions on the sign and found a member of staff in the bar to check us in. The member of staff seemed rather inconvenienced by our arrival and wasn't very cheerful. When we first walked into the room we were struck by how cold it was (even though it was quite warm outside) my husband belived that the window must be open due to how noisey it was but in actual fact the window was shut just not very sound proof. The room had no curtains and the heater was broken, but the hotel obviously knew about this as they had provided an stand alone heater. A major problem with the room was that there was only one plug. The one behind the TV was visibly and quite dangereously broken which left us with the choice of charging one of phones or warmth from the heater. The bed linen was clean and well presented. The wall had some bizarre red stuff aplattered up it which really needed to be cleaned. The bathroom was quite average, it wasn't sparkly clean but it wasn't really dirty. The towel rail didn't heat up at all and the toilet had to be pumped to flush it. The shower was awful it was just like a really low pressure tap. We had food in the pub below which was really nice although I wouldn't recomend the breakfast. The staff we spoke to in the bar were all nice and friendly. I definitely wouldn't stay here again though.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dodgethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Needed somewhere near Leek. Its a bit like a premier inn next to a pub. Nice big car park,room was clean and tidy. Staff were friendly and helpful.Not far from Stoke and the football stadium or the southern peak district. It did the job just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireManinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel because of its proximity to Alton Towers and the value compared to other hotels in the area. The room was clean and provided all the mod cons you would expect (kettle, television, hair dryer, iron- even a trouser press!) and the bed was comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly inside and we had a warm welcome from a young lady, though she confessed she didn't know how to check us in and someone was on their way and it didn't take long, though I wish someone had changed the light bulb above reception that was flickering constantly and address the staff running around outside the front door smoking- neither give a great impression to customers walking in. It was clear that the room was run down and in need of a refurbishment. The sofa looked so worn and tired, as did the double doors that looked over the back of the hotel. For the most part it was quiet, which surprised me to say it was to the side of a pub, but as I said we overlooked the rear of the property. There was not a 24 hour reception and there was no one available after 2330 when the bar closed but we had no problems. We ate at the pub during the evening, food was alright- standard pub grub!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This lodge is easy to find and in a convienent location. It has a pub connected to it named "The Hungry Horse" which offers food and drinks at a reasonable price.
It is opposite a McDonalds and near a large Tesco.
Be advised that the Reception desk is not always manned and you may need to approach the bar staff for help.
The rooms are clean and spacious and of modern design.
There are tea/coffee facilities and free Wifi is available.
The Television has Freeview built in.
There is an iron/ironing board, trouser press and hairdryer.
The beds are very comfortable.
My only complaint is that the window blind doesnt give full blackout to the room so I woke up early when the sunlight shone through.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times before/after visiting Alton Towers. The rooms are a little dated and could do with a refurbishment but the staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are always clean and the location is good for transport, shops and food. They have a Hungry Horse pub on site and a Tesco and McDonalds on the doorstep. Good value for money for this region.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here last night as we were visiting Alton Towers, the room was basic but very clean, the bed was comfy and facilities great. We went next door for some tea which was great and served in a timely manner. The only downfall to this Hotel is the noise you can hear everything from rooms next door and above. There is also constant traffic vehicle reversing bleeps. Also on checkout there was 4 members of staff on the desk and NOT one member of staff said goodbye or how was your stay!! Quite rude really. Would not stay there again or recommend to anyone, which is a shame as this could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sound proof one!! Or earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stop off on the way to Alton Towers (approx 10 miles from it). Decent room with everything we required, I would say good value for money. There is a bar and a Hungry House serving your standard pub food. If you are looking for a place to stay near Alton Towers I would recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
4 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Stoke East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Stoke East

Address: Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England (Formerly Weathervane Value Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: £42 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Stoke East 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Stoke East Hotel lies just 4 miles from Stoke city center itself, perched conveniently by the A50 to make access to all major routes as easy as falling asleep in one of our wonderful rooms! Our lodge style hotel has been recently refurbished, and offers a contemporary-yet-comfy setting for any stay whether you're here on a romantic getaway, a business stopover or a family break. In fact, we're so family friendly that even 'Mr Tumble' once paid us a visit on his way home from Alton Towers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Stoke East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weather Vane Value Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Best Western Stoke East Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing