We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value for food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wulstan

The Wulstan
Ranked #316 of 535 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing value for food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I visit here often with my friends &/or family and I am impressed every time! The two for one offer is amazing value for money and I would definitely recommend! Haven't had a bad meal yet on the frequent visits I have had so far! The service is also great with friendly staff and has a nice atmosphere! The decor is also lovely inside after it's refurbishment a few years ago with a children's okay area to keep kids entertained! All in all it is great all round and I couldn't pick fault!

Helpful?
Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    23
    13
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“every pub should have a mandy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

come here a lot with family and mandy is one of the loveliest, friendliest waitresses i have ever come across - a definite credit to the pub! food is lovely even though the wait can be long, but its worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Came here for my mum's 71st birthday. Table was ready for us, in the window area, where I had requested.
Ordered drinks at the food pay area where the waitress very kindly offered to bring them over to our table.
The food is typically pub grub, very reasonably priced as most meals are 2for1, it was served very quickly and was red hot.....lovely! Desert was quick and tasty too.
Very pleased with service and all staff were lovely. They have a play area outside which is great, the only draw back is the children have to walk on the car park to reach it.
Great value for money...we will defiantly visit again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YvonneQuigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited the Wulstan with friends on their recommendation and was pleasantly surprised.
All meals are on a two for one basis and menu is very extensive.
We went early on about 5pm so there was not long to wait for the meal to arrive.
Me and my partner opted for the rump steak in a Wexford sauce (which was one of our favorites at a previous establishment)this was priced at £12.95 but as it was 2 for 1 seemed good value
With 2 pints the bill came to £18 .50 .
Steak was cooked as requested and came with chips, peas, mushrooms ,tomato, and onion rings
Service was good and can find no fault and would recommend to anyone wanting a cheap pub meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

i went to the wulstan on the 1/7/14 for a change never bin before brill staff lovely meals when I got there I had my starter and I liked the sauce so they gave me some more for free brill place highly recommend this place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessie753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wulstan also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Wulstan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing