We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten Free Fish and Chips”

Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free
Ranked #28 of 537 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television
Description: Opened in February 2012, a new local chip shop with the option to takeaway or sit in and enjoy your food in beautiful surroundings. Run by husband and wife team Steve & Julie and staff members. One of a few establishments that provide a delicious Gluten Free Fish & Chips anytime we are open. Good old fashioned steamed Steak & Kidney puddings. Soaked mushy peas, like your Nan used to make. Chip shop curry, gravy and freshly prepared, on the premises, homemade chips cooked in Rapeseed oil (the healthiest option ~ proven to be a vital beneficial cholesterol reducer), 100% Cod fillets cooked in our delicious light batter or in breadcrumbs. King Prawns "hot n spicy". Scampi and Plaice are available. All fish is made to order, so please be prepared to wait a few minutes whilst it’s prepared. Build your own burger. HUNGRY? Try our belly buster challenge! Our huge takeaway insulated lidded cups for hot drinks come with a complimentary biscuit.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

After being diagnosed with Coeliac Disease last year I struggled to find anywhere to get Gluten Free Fish and Chips. I came across Mothertown after moving to the area. I now visit each week, the food is amazing and tastes great! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Ceekay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juel0608, Owner at Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks C for this great review. Thanks for trusting us with your Gluten free choices. Our GF menu is growing all the time, be sure to check out the whole range. Julie & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    11
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gluten free fish and chips fantastic”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times, not of late due to weight loss programme but the food is top quality for me best chippy in the city, gluten free fish, my wife is a coeliac, she reckon are delicious and have tried them myself and got to say taste great, run by nice couple who care about what they are doing so support this chippy go there and enjoy, eat in fab and takeaway fab,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeteNVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juel0608, Owner at Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Fabulous! thanks so much for trusting us to cater for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
“Great service, great menu, great food.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We all really enjoyed our gluten free battered cod, chips and mushy peas. Clear notices for people with special diets and the staff happily helped advise aswell. We look forward to going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juel0608, Owner at Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Well thanks so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We understand how hard it is to enjoy a treat when living with intolerances and thank you for choosing and trusting us. See you very soon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

There is a ritual that says we must have fish & chips before an away football match. So Mothertown was the choice when we went to Port Vale. Without doubt, the best we can ever remember. Not a trace of grease, lovely white fish, delicious batter, triple cooked chips and peas soaked overnight to taste just right. If you're in Burslem, don't go anywhere for your fish & chips except Mothertown.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
060804, Owner at Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Oh what a lovely review.... If ever a ritual is to be done, then we whole heartedly agree this should be it.. wink wink, Many thanks for your kind words and although triple cooked chips sounds good they are infact double fried.. i wouldn't like to mislead anyone! On another note...Hopefully even if Port Vale don't win on a certain day you will feel like you had a good day after eating with us!. Spread the word and thanks again for taking the time to leave this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

As a coeliac being able to trust anyone else to cook your food is a big thing... Mothertown are amazing. All food freshly prepared and it is without a doubt the best fish and chips you will find anywhere! All of the gluten free food is truly a treat and the new fishcakes are superb. Top food worth every penny. Treat yourself you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trenthamrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
060804, Owner at Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Oh how lovely.. These kind words make all the hard work so worth while. The best feeling in the world is getting customers to try NEW products, especially when they "think" they don't like certain foods or have never tried them.. we have a few customers now who have tried our prawns... they now love them! same with onion rings and fish and even chips...! We certainly seem to be doing something right as the feedback is just amazing 99.9% of the time.!!! thanks again for taking the time to leave this review and look forward to seeing you very soon. Julie & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Mothertown Fish & Chips ~ Gluten Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing