We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb little railway”
Review of Foxfield Railway

Foxfield Railway
Ranked #16 of 119 things to do in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockport
Level Contributor
197 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Superb little railway”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A lovely little railway, focusing on the history of industrial railways, lovely helpful volunteers, lovely buffet bar with real ale, great railway, good ride, if short, good selection of industrial locomotives, good cafe with great coffee and cakes, the staff let my son on the footplate of a locomotive, an put coal on the fire, cannot do enough for people, a great railway.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    45
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Way To Let of Steam”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After receiving a gift voucher for a steam train ride we choose to go to Foxfield Railway ,we had a little trouble finding it due to one the roads being closed off for repairs we got there but had a hour to wait for the next train journey so we had a drink from the One Legged Shunter and sat outside in the sunshine which was pleasant we also had a look around the museum then sat on a bench on the platform to await our train departure, the journey was short and sweet, stopped at the end to move the engine to the front ready for the return trip back which was enough time for a photo shoot from the other side of the tracks

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank leisurelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just keep going....”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Being a local to Foxfield has many advantages! Great trains, great scenery, great little bar, great beers, occasional live music, occasional special days and most importantly it's heritage. I even don't mind the critique of my garden as people walk past! What is not so great is the fact that there seems to be a divide between the rail enthusiasts and the "occasional" visitors who put much needed money into the Foxfield purse. Total admiration for the volunteers who do so much to keep both the railway and the bar running. Please don't alienate the public who merely want to look and participate when the feeling arises. The "One legged Shunter" is a delight and the lady working it has made a tremendous improvement and is much appreciated by the "occasional" visitors. Not so easy to keep this facility running during the winter. More live entertainment with more publicity may help this on its way. Good luck.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great big trains and a chance to get up close”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Foxfield has some fantastic and full-sized shiny steam trains that fascinated and terrified my toddler! The rail trip is short but pretty, and the shed with the other trains in is great for seeing how massive these trains are from the bottom. And the 'Thomas' faces thrilled my little boy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KateinCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Foxfield in steam”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

if you want to visit a small but friendly Steam railway the Foxfield is worth a visit. situated along a country road just outside Blythe Bridge in Staffordshire. There is an engine shed with a variety of engines being restored including a steam crane and a very old diesel. The bar there is called the "One legged Shunter" and sells good beer, also a café, shop for memorabilia. The train rides are not to expensive and take you up a steep line which if it continued would eventually lead to the Foxfield Colliery ( closed long ago ) worth a visit for railway enthusiasts and people interested in industrial archaeology. No fee for entry but there is a fare for train trips.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foxfield Railway also viewed

Froghall, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Foxfield Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing