We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of The Birches Head - CLOSED

The Birches Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Pub is now closed for food until further notice. Jen and I have now left the pub and the new owners will be taking over on the 17th January. The pub is open in the interim for drinks only. Kind Regards, Pete & Jen
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went on recommendation and wasn't disappointed - all 4 of us enjoyed our meals and the girls waiting on were very polite - will go back for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello there. Thank you for writing your review. It is very kind of you to do so. I will make sure that I pass on your comments to our staff. They all work really hard for us and do genuinely care about our customers. Please make sure you let us k now when you next visit so that we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Kindest regards Jen & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 649 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had our daughters wedding reception here on 31/05/14 from start to finish it was excellent, we had 54 people for a three course meal and 90 for the night reception and everything was perfect throughout the day. Nothing was too much trouble for Peter and Jen and all our guests commented on how good the food and service was, when you consider we had people from London, Cheshire,Northampton and Derbyshire who are used to eating in up market restaurants it made us proud that we had chosen the birches head, we would like to thank Peter,Jen and all there staff for a fantastic day and we will certainly be using it again. Considering the rest of the bars were packed on Saturday we still had there uninterrupted attention in the function room upstairs until the early hours(perhaps why Peter looked tired next day) once again thanks very much to Peter and jen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

THANK YOU!!!! We were so proud to be part of your special day. The biggest wedding we have done so far - it was a tremendous honour to welcome you, your family and your lovely friends for such a wonderful occasion and what a fantastic day!. Your review is thoughtful and lovely and make all my, Peter's and all our staff's hard work absolutely worthwhile. Also thank you for all the lovely comments made to us on the day too. Please make sure you come and see us with all the wedding photos :) and as a thank you for everything please accept a 20% food discount. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Warmest regards, Jen and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just spent a lovely evening here for my husband's birthday with our daughters and their partners. The staff were warm and friendly and couldn't have been more welcoming. The food was fresh, tasty and very reasonably priced. You don't often get service like this in a pub in Stoke - the staff clearly enjoyed their jobs, which is refreshing. We will definitely be back and will recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bidpiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our pub. It really does mean a great deal to us that we have contributed to you having a fantastic birthday celebration. The fact you will recommend us to other potential customers is a fantastic endorsement to what we are aiming to achieve here at The Birches Head. We truly value our staff who do a truly amazing job on behalf of Jen and I. Please make yourselves known to us during your next visit and we will be only too pleased to give you a 20% discount on your next food bill. Kind Regards, Pete & Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A warm welcome and friendly staff all helped make a good night with a great meal. Came across the Tripadvisor reviewswhen looking for somewhere to go to eat for my girlfriend's mother's birthday and was not disappointed. The prices are very reasonable and didn't break the bank with 6 of us. The food was all well presented and tasty and all home made. We will be coming back and I would recommend it to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank DHM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your gracious comments and for choosing us for a special birthday celebration. We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. We always pride ourselves on our home cooked food and appreciate your comment that our prices are reasonable. Thank you for your recommendation to others. It is a tremendous help as we have only been open for just over a year. Please accept a 20% food discount from me and Peter when you next visit. Kind regards....Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Visited The Birches Head for lunch today with my husband and baby son. I had the beef lasagne which was delicious and my husband opted for the gammon, egg and chips, which he thought was amazing.

The portions were very generous and the chips were homemade and simply scrumptious.

The waitresses and bar staff were very friendly and attentive and couldn't do enough for us.

Decor is lovely both in the lounge and bar areas and the seating is very comfortable.

In conclusion a very pleasant dining experience. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will definitely be back to sample some of the other dishes on the menu.

Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for you eye catching title and your generous comments about our pub! It is so heart warming when our customers take time out to write such wonderful things about us. I will pass on your comments to our staff because they are doing a fantastic job and their standards never waiver no matter how busy we are. To be honest with you, the Lasagne is one of my favourites too!
Please let Peter or I know when you next visit us so we can ensure you receive a 20% food discount as a personal thank you from us. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Birches Head also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing