We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault”
Review of The Birches Head

The Birches Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Jen & Pete welcome you to The Birches Head. We believe we are an 'oasis' pub that offers virtually everything under one roof from eating and drinking to live music and keep fit. The Birches Head formerly The Birches Head Hotel is at the heart of the Birches Head community 1/2 mile outside the town centre of Hanley. We pride ourselves on our tag line, 'Love Being Local'. We use, where possible, locally sourced products, our staff have been employed from the local technical college and nearby area and all our crockery is from our world famous ceramic industry. The pub was refurbished in April 2013 and it too is all about our wonderful city. The lounge and restaurant is decorated with Warrilow prints and scenes of the local area whilst the traditional bar shares its love of our two great football clubs, Stoke City and Port Vale. With a Food Hygiene Rating of 5 we pride ourselves on cooking all our food from fresh; therefore expect a short wait for your food. Our beer is also exceptional. We have a range of draught beers, 4 permanent cask ales plus additional guest beers, great tasting wines and of course a full range of spirits and mixers. We have disabled access to the front (detachable ramp) and rear of the pub and a stair lift to our upstairs function room which is available to use for all family events. Outside is a terrace and smoking area plus the top class bowling which adjoins the pub. We open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week to eat in or take away. We have various keep fit classes Mon - Thur, Quiz night and Play Your Cards Right Thursday, live music every Friday & Saturday and open mike on Sundays. We also have Sky 3D & HD plus BT Sports for all the major live sporting events. So please come to our house for a great night out. Please note - we do not have a car park. There is parking on the streets in and around the pub. Also there is a community car park in Acton Street (the street directly behind the pub) and entrance can be gained into the pub from the alley way opposite.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I meet my friends here occasionally on a Thursday evening for the pub quiz. Always a pleasent atmosphere and enjoyable banter. Service is really good and the staff are all polite and friendly. Whenever I have eaten here, the food has always been delicious and the steak has been cooked to perfection. Really cannot fault; it's how a pub should be (just wish it was closer to where I live)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank mfinney2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for review! We are so glad you enjoy your Thursday evenings with us. We pride ourselves on our steaks and we are receiving some fantastic comments. so thank you. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff who work extremely hard for us. Finally,it is so kind of you to visit and support our pub even though it is not your 'local'. We are extremely grateful and as a thank you please accept a 20% food discount when you next visit. Warm regards, Jen and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 626 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited The Birches Head pub with our pupils for their British cultural awareness week at school. Pete and Jen devised a talk and a tour of their establishment which was fantastic. All the pupils and staff enjoyed their food especially, the amazing fish & chips.
What a lovely couple who put their heart and sole into their business making it such a success. We highly recommend this pub for their friendly and welcoming staff and lovely food. We wish them continuing success for the future and we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hiya! Thank you for writing your kind words. Peter and I loved the visits from your school. It was something completely different to what we normally do and we thoroughly enjoyed it! We do genuinely love showing off our pub so it was a fantastic opportunity and I don't mind saying that we both learned things too! You know that you and the children are welcome back any time. Please also accept a massive thank you for the card, flowers and chocolates, it was a lovely gesture :) As a thank you please accept a 20% food discount when you return. Kind regards, Jen & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Birches Head on 31st May 2014, we chose the Birches head as it had a warm atmosphere, was excellent value for money and Pete and Jen always made us feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble and they would go the extra mile for us. On the day Pete, Jen and the staff at the Birches Head made our dream into reality. The room looked amazing, thoughtfully decorated down to the finest detail which was acknowledged by all of our guests that attended. The food was outstanding, the menu we were able to choose ourselves, all guests thoroughly enjoyed their meal, the food exceeded their expectations. The staff we helpful and attentive at all times making everyone feel welcome. The whole day ran smoothly, everything was taken care of. The room was re-arranged for the evening reception to the highest standard, the DJ recommended by Pete and Jen was one of the best. All in all we would highly recommend the Birches Head to anyone who is not only looking for somewhere to share their special day but for anyone looking for a welcoming, friendly establishment for all family occasions. Finally we would like to thank Pete, Jen and all the staff at the Birches Head for going above and beyond the expected to make our dream come true, thank you, Leanne and Carl Sireno xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hello you two love birds! Leanne and Carl thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your special day with us. It was such a lovely and perfect day from start to finish and made so easy for us by you all. Me, Peter and the staff loved being part of your day and we were all so proud of how well it all went! When customers make wedding enquiries I always now refer them to your review, it is so helpful to us and our business. THANK YOU! Make sure you come and see us with your photos when you have the time ;) Looking forward to seeing you and we will ensure you receive a 20% food discount as a thank you. Jen & Peter xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Thank you for a lovely delicious Lasagne meal ...well recommended ....my compliments to the chef....staff ...and warm welcome from the owners of the hotel.
Thank you so much...l will come back again soon and recommend you to my friends

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you ever so much for your review! I will pass on your comments to our Chefs and I love our lasagne too! It always makes us very proud when customers write so publicly on websites such as this words like 'excellent' and 'recommend'. It makes all our hard work and our staffs hard work so worthwhile. Please let us know when you next visit so we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Warmest and kind regards. Peter & Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

just visted for the first time this lunchtime.we both had the rib eye steak..well cooked and tasty..chips -the nicest weve eaten for a long time..
pub was busy because they had a large party booked in so had to wait a while,but well worth the wait ,and staff were attentive and helpful.....

will be back again soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We have a lot of lovely comments about our twice cooked chips! It is so kind of you to be so specific about the food you had and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff. Please let us know when you next visit so that we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Kind regards. Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Birches Head also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Birches Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing