We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Julie M” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saracen's Head Steakhouse

The Saracen's Head Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Julie M”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

What a find! Excellent food, particularly the steaks, as you would expect from a steak house! Very good service, chef came out to make sure everything was to his standard. Newly refurbished. Clean & smart. Sunday early evening so not much atmosphere but we were with friends so didn't matter. Helpful, friendly staff. Very pleased we found this on our way home to Derbyshire. Will be revisiting:)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    84
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We totally found this place by chance and I'm glad we did. We came up to Stoke-on-Trent to head to Alton Towers (back in Oct 2013). We arrived at the restaurant/pub and from the outside it didn't look like much. Inside, the place had recently been painted and refurbished. Sat down, ordered our food and it was delicious! I had the lasagna and my partner had a Cajun chicken. Both dishes were tasty, well cooked and the portions were a good size. If we are ever back in Stoke-on-Trent area again I would definitely go back there. Lovely food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Try the pie - yummy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here on a few occasions and love a good steak which are amazing by the way, but if youre also a lover of the good old traditional pie you must give this a go. Its filled with steak which just melts in your mouth and so does the pastry its so light. The homemade chips that come with it are gorgeous. My husband had his usual steak which was cooked to perfection but hes goin to try the pie next time. My only regret is i couldnt eat it all i was stuffed. Lovely staff and surroundings. It also has a lovely little beer garden which has recently been installed. Lookin forward to my next meal here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited on a Wednesday night in mid-January. The food was excellent and just kept coming. The food was as good as any you would get anywhere. The waiter was very friendly without being over attentive. Very well priced, it was well worth it for an excellent meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“"outstanding"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been in a few times now and cannot fault any of the meals that I have had, steaks are top draw, chicken balmoral is a favourite of mine though. Staff are a credit to the manager. Brilliant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wokker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saracen's Head Steakhouse also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to The Saracen's Head Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing