We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tollgate Hotel & Leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tollgate Hotel & Leisure
Ranked #3 of 17 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tollgate Hotel & Leisure”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel I came across as it was my daughters birthday!!! It was also recommended but I was very disappointed in the room decor, as it is bit outdated. The room could be a bit more modern especially the appliances. We also found the Wii Fi was VERY slow, and when reported to the receptionist, they say that when a lot of people are using it, it becomes slower,!!! Not good. The hotel is about 30 minutes drive by car but hour an a half by public transport to Alton Towers, which runs very often from Monday to Saturday. The staff are friendly and breakfast was served with very polite staff. Wanted to use the gym facilities on the Saturday but was told that the gym was closed due to a function going on!!!

Room Tip: The family lodge I believe is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    57
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
65
40
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We went to Stoke for a family party at the Tollgate Hotel and booked a room so we did not need to worry about taxis.
It was a very average hotel 70s in decor and styling. Room was very basic we had a disabled room that we did not need which I thought was odd.

Breakfast was below average seemed that the ingredients were on the cheap side and the coffee was instant very disappointing.

Parked my car by the room and it nearly got hit by a cricket ball from the local ground not good .

Room Tip: You don't get what you pay for make sure you ask what type of room they have allocated you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth western australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We found the Tollgate Hotel by accident and thank goodness we did, we were very impressed with the family owned business. We found the accommadation to be very quiet, clean with little extras in the spacious room.
Nothing was too hard for Adrian, he helped us out of a pickle with our classic Austin Healey car which we had shipped all the way over to England from Australia for a National Rally in Cornwall.
The price was very affordable which came with a huge breakfast in their Dinning/Bar.
We left Tollgate with great memories.

Cheers
Andrea and Keith Patching (WA)

Room Tip: All the rooms I should imagine would be quiet, very clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Arrived with a work colleague for one nights stay. We waited almost 15 minutes at the vacant reception desk until a gentleman appeared from the noisy hotel bar in a football shirt. He advised us that the hotel was playing host to a funeral party and therefore the hotel was busy and the check in service was slow. Unfortunately we weren’t advised that the party would be taking place during our stay at the time of booking. This would have most definitely influenced our decision as to where to stay and we would have booked another hotel.

Most of the hotel rooms are located outside at the rear of the building. We were allocated rooms 12 & 13. The rooms are very tired, head boards and carpets worn, blankets on the beds, generally dark and dingy. The pictures displayed on the hotel’s website are very unrepresentative. Building work was being carried out next to my colleague’s room, which made her room noisy; she was uncomfortably with work men wondering around smoking.

We stayed less than ten minutes, called reception to ask to be moved to better rooms, however we were unable to reach anyone. With this in mind we left and found another hotel, the Holiday Inn, which was cheaper per night.

I e-mailed reception informing them we had left the keys in the ‘totally untouched’ rooms and did not intend to return, and therefore they were free to let the rooms. I am yet to receive a reply.

To my frustration the hotel charged me the next day the full rate for both rooms and their ‘light’ breakfast.

Stoke has a number of hotels, many close to this one, I would suggest either the Holiday Inn or Premier Inn, which are both clean and modern, this hotel I would consider to be more of a motel, it has no redeeming features and overall is very poor.

You will notice a couple of positive comments, and that is mainly the reason for booking this hotel in the first place. I can assure you that these comments, in our opinion, are not reflective of the hotel itself as of May 2013 and the images on its website as of May-June 2013 are very unrepresentative.

Room Tip: Book a newer hotel in Stoke, most are the same price or cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DaveJ1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aoldfield, Owner at Tollgate Hotel & Leisure, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dave,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a 'review'. Whilst noticing that ALL reviews you have left on Trip Advisor are extremely negative, I would like to respectfully address the points you make:

"We waited 15 minutes at the vacant reception desk"...This has me most perplexed as we are fully staffed throughout our opening hours and you state at the same time that we were really busy yet no staff were present. Strange?

You also say that you would not have booked a hotel room with us if you knew we had a private funeral reception at the time. Why? I think it is unreasonable to expect us to inform guests every time we hold a funeral reception in our private function room, notwithstanding the fact that these functions do not affect hotel guest’s stays in any way - apart from serial complainers.

If you were not happy with your hotel rooms, and I must admit that we are currently working our way through a refurbishment programme, then all you had to do was ask at our busy reception that somehow had no staff?

Regarding your final comments on staying at other hotels, it really does make me wonder if you have an affiliation with them by naming them. Also, all the negative reviews you have left include various hotel brands, but not the two you mention in this review.

We are a family-owned and run business who strives to exceed customer expectations and we are proud of the excellent reputation we have in the area. However, we realise that this may not have been possible with you, considering all reviews you have left on other hotels too are scathing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff here were very helpful and it is in a fantastic location for alton towers, breakfast was quick and easy, and was close to a pub for tea, and was perfect for a family of 5, and the room didnt even seem crowded . altogether a great place for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_adams13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Although the staff were friendly and efficient this hotel is a little tired. Bar/dining room area was somewhat basic with old-fashioned decor. The food was OK but not outstanding - full English breakfast was adequate. The room was large but again somewhat outdated. Clearly the leisure part of the hotel was popular with lots of activities being used by "locals". This hotel is really for one night business stays where basic facilities are OK. We would not return even though the location was pretty good for visits to local potteries. Free wi-fi was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here as on overnight pitstop before visiting Aton towers the next day, the room was large with ensure bathroom, had enough room for us 1 double and 3 singles for the kids plus a sofa to watch tv on, free wifi a bonus, breakfast was more than adequate, would prob stay here again when visiting alton towers as was approx 20 mins from park.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie210177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
4.1 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Hotel & Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Hotel & Leisure

Property: Tollgate Hotel & Leisure
Address: Ripon Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tollgate Hotel & Leisure 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tollgate Hotel & Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tollgate Hotel And Leisure
Tollgate Hotel & Leisure Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing