We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tollgate Hotel & Leisure
Ranked #3 of 19 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Room was clean and spacious which was good for the price.
When I checked in I had to go and find someone as reception was closed up and no one about.
The food was nice but the menu was limited.
I did find the younger members of staff in the restaurant and bar a bit too casual referring to me as mate, pal, bud and fella.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    57
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
39
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

great place if you need a stay over in Stoke on Trent area, friendly staff, more like a motel, big beds, comfy, clean, possibly a bit dated, great breakfast if you book over the phone, breakfast is free. the staff aim to please and are all very helpful. we will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited for one night last Saturday as we were seeing Rod Stewart at the nearby Britannia Stadium.
Arrived early but they were more than happy to allow early check in. Rooms were a good size, and I liked that they overlooked the local cricket ground so we could watch a match that was happening that afternoon!
As you can imagine the whole area was busy due to 25000 people going to the concert, but the hotel staff helped us with getting taxis to the stadium, and we got back in time to head to their sports bar and catch Englands opening game of the World Cup!
Nice people and a good hotel.

Room Tip: All are ok i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here over the weeknd as went to see Rod Stewart at the Brittania Stadium. Check in was very quick and the receptionist was very polite and helpful. We had a room near the stairs which we thought would be noisy, but actually it wasnt. Room had everything you needed and was clean, nice touch of 2 free bottles of water, Premier Inn take note. Not sure the room was worth the money but I guess Rod being in town hiked the price. Check out was fairly quick although no one on reception so had to wait. First time I have never been asked "was everything ok". Would I stay again? Only if there were no other options.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chopknock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stopped in this hotel for a family weekend to Alton Towers. The theme park being about a 20 minute drive from the hotel.

The hotel itself is more of a motel as you can park outside of your room, which to be honest I like. We stopped in the Lodge, which is a bungalow just over the road from the main complex. This lodge has a decent sized living area and kitchen, and one main bathroom, three bedrooms one with ensuite. All of the rooms were of decent size, They could do with investing in some new beds though, we all thought they were uncomfortable. We only stopped for 2 nights so it was not too bad.

Breakfast was not included by default for all rooms, but was for us, it was a full english with all cereals etc. A good hearty breakfast.

The "sports" bar was a tad strange, everyone seemed to congregate in the long corridor, leaving the seating area empty. The drinks were reasonably priced.

We did not eat in the hotel, but some of my friends did, they said the food was very nice, and well priced.

They also have a spa area, which to be honest we did not try, so I cannot really comment on that.

Ive talked about the good things, now about the bad. There was only one major thing wrong with lodge that we stayed in. The whole place just needed a good deep clean. On the surface everything was clean, but when you looked a little closer it hadnt been done properly. I asked at reception if the lodge had been unoccupied for some time, as thats what it seemed like to me. however I was told it was booked most nights.

So on the whole a good place, and the lodge is an excellent idea, and at an afforable price. If they just give the hotel a good deep clean, this would be a much better hotel.

Room Tip: The lodge is a great idea for families with older children who dont really want to be sleeping in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My Work gives me the pleasure of staying many of the hotels UK has to offer, so for me to write a review Means the hotel has to be doing something right. I simple don’t have the time to write about every hotel.
The customer service was great, staff made it pleasure and easy, Facilities very good Gym has a great choice, and the evening spent either watching the cricket or relaxing in the bar.
The food was FANTASIC the chefs Tikkia Masala WOW Devine.
Rooms clean and comfortable beds Important.
When business brings me back within 30 mile radius, certainly know where I’ll be booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Tollgate, the service was excellent, the food and drink was well priced and the staff couldnt have been more helpful with our three children.

The best thing was the 5 bed room which most hotels dont have, i would recommend this place to anyone with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m4rkh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke-on-Trent
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
4.1 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Hotel & Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Hotel & Leisure

Property: Tollgate Hotel & Leisure
Address: Ripon Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 3BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tollgate Hotel & Leisure 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tollgate Hotel & Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tollgate Hotel And Leisure
Tollgate Hotel & Leisure Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing