We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food!!”
Review of The Duke Of York

The Duke Of York
Ranked #23 of 539 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Old Plough menu really does live on at the Duke of York, Barlaston. We visited to check it out on a Sunday lunch time and were not disappointed. The whole menu can be found there in all its glory. My husband thought he would never again taste the delights of a "Going Dutch"-how wrong he was. My Open Steak Sandwich was cooked perfectly and the chips were as brilliant as ever. Our starter of Carrot & Orange soup proved to be a hit as the flavours worked well together. Would recommend this place to everyone who loved the Old Plough and to those who weren't familiar with it. It's great! Have booked a table for 10 for a family lunch at Christmas time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan194879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    47
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Steaks”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Thought I would give this pub a try after finding out it was the menu from The Old Plough in Etruria and I was not disappointed Steak was done to perfection , had my favourite Harrington double Decker with homemade chips delicious followed by the usual Touch of Class for dessert. Staff were very friendly and the pub it's self had a lovely homely feel. I was with a party of 14 and there was no delay with the food . Has a good range of real ales . All in all lovely friendly pub catering for everyone. Will be returning for sure

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top steaks!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After seeing the reviews on trip advisor we agreed to visited... We were not disappointed! The steaks were cooked to perfection, chicken tender and moist, hand cut crispy chips and fresh side salad! Service was friendly and attentive! Will be visiting again! *****

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevveyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb steak.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Following positive reviews on trip advisor my partner and I decided to pay a visit to the Duke of York on Wednesday evening.
Staff were very friendly and greeted us cheerfully on arrival.
We had our drinks order taken immediately and were given an appropriate amount of time to peruse the menu.
Food was hot, plentiful and served quickly. My partner thoroughly enjoyed his garlic mushroom starter.
We both ordered steaks which were cooked to perfection with delicious sauces and homemade chips.
(Steaks average £15-£18)
I finished with the gorgeous touch of class for dessert.
If you miss The Plough in Etruria fear not, its menu has been resurrected here in this pleasant village pub along with excellent service and a relaxed friendly atmosphere.
We will be returning very soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank upsydaisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big portions”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Visited The Duke of York at lunchtime. The menu is limited at this time of day, however the food is of the highest quality. The portions are big you need a good appetite to finish the lot. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Balock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke Of York also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Duke Of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing