We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I chose this Premier Inn as I was unable to get in Trentham Gardens where I had stayed previously when visiting Alton Towers. The hotel is quite new so the rooms are of a good standard with everything you need for an overnight stay. We were a party of 4 (2 adults and 2 children ages 7 and 14) and there was plenty of room for us all. The area itself is not as nice as Trentham Gardens and for me personally it did seem to take longer to get to Hanley although the distance between the two hotels is pretty much the same.

We arrived back quite late from Alton Towers and decided to eat in the Brewers Fayre which is attached to the hotel at 8.30pm. Service was friendly and the food was ok. I did however have to send my son's hot dog back as the bun was rock hard. We ordered desserts and 10 minutes later the waitress came to our table with two of the desserts we ordered informing us that the cheesecake was not available along with about 4 other things from the dessert menu. My husband had ordered a hot dessert and we asked her to take his back and bring them out all together once the others were ready so we could all eat together. This was a minor issue but really we should have been informed when ordering what was not available or alternatively the waitress should have come to the table before delivering the desserts to enquire whether we wanted an alternative.

Breakfast in the morning was good and the costa coffee machines are a real bonus for me as I love costa coffee. Breakfast at Premier Inns is always good value especially when the kids eat free.

I concur with some other reviews that the glass atrium by the lifts does get very very hot. Thankfully we were on the first floor so could run up the stairs quickly.

There was a couple of issues which has stopped me giving this hotel a 5 star review. When we got to our room on arrival there was only 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel in the bathroom so I had to go back to reception to ask for additional towels (there are no phones in the rooms so you have to go back to reception if you have a problem). In the morning we noticed that there was hardly any toilet paper in the dispenser and very little shower gel. Again I had to get dressed and go to reception to ask for these to be replenished. This was very annoying! Premier Inn are fully aware of the number of people staying in the room when you book so why can't this information be passed to housekeeping before you arrive to ensure you have adequate towels etc. The staff at reception were very helpful when I reported the problems but this could have so easily been avoided.

Overall it was a good stay with a couple of minor issues and I do still feel that Premier Inn does offer the best budget value accommodation for short stays.

Will I go back to Hanley? Probably not as I felt Trentham Gardens was the better hotel when visiting Alton Towers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and well presented. Air con helped with the summer heat, and the hotel is a very short stroll from both a Tesco and Sainsbury. Next to a Brewers Fayre pub (no surprise as both owned by Whitbread) which is basic but comfortable, though the food is a touch pricey for what you get.

Only a couple of niggly faults. The atrium for the stairs and lift was incredibly hot no matter what time of day you went in it, though thankfully it was only for a couple of minutes at a time. The Wi-Fi is a paid service, but will only work on two devices which then can't be swapped. If you've a couple of smart phones and a tablet/laptop, for example, you'll have to sacrifice one not having a Wi-Fi connection.

Overall though these didn't detract from the stay, and this hotel is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having read the recent dire reviews of the North Stafford Hotel, this is the only real contender in this price range in Hanley. The general standard of housekeeping and comms facilities in this modern budget hotel are very good. If you are short on time at breakfast, Sainsbury's cafe is a good value option across the road and is empty in the early morning.

Room Tip: our south west facing room did not overheat thanks to efficient aircon and are triple glazed to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great, friendly hotel. Brilliant rooms with everything you would expect from a Premier Inn.

Helpful & cheerful staff, who were happy to help with anything.

Superb modern rooms with air con, comfy bed & huge TV.

We had a total of 5 rooms as we were attending a family wedding nearby, all rooms were great. One of the disabled rooms we had had an interconnecting door to the room next door which was fantastic. The disabled rooms (we had 2) were huge with massive easy access bathrooms.
Family rooms were big & comfy too.

The Brewers Fayre that is attached & also served breakfast was great & the food was of great quality.


Highly recommended overall.

Room Tip: Disabled rooms are huge as are their bathrooms - excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

clean and tidy, friendly hotel. everything you need for an excellent stay, great for Alton Towers trip. Fab breakfast and evening meal. very comfortable!!
brand new hotel in an ideal location which includes being close to a supermarket and sports shop. Very safe and secure site, excellent caring staff that are approachable and helpful. Easy sign in process. Rooms high quality with air conditioning ideal for our hot days! Good for kids and families as all made welcome. All you can eat well prepared cooked or continental breakfast. Very happy with stay for our family. Welcome break that is much cheaper than many hotels or resorts making a short break cheap but quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We used this hotel for a short break near alton towers... about 25 minutes drive away. The hotel itself is within walking distance to town centre about 5 minutes. Breakfast is served in the attatched Brewers Fayre & is again good value for money. It's a comfortable modern hotel & great value for money. I would definitely revisit again...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for short holiday to alton towers. Loved the new look rooms with large tv and air con that actually worked. The staff were all friendly and helpful. It's a five min walk to he city centre. I've stayed in many PI but this is the best one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkpr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stoke-on-Trent hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
1.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel

Address: Etruria Road | Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a ten-minute walk from the shops and cafes of Hanley town centre, in the heart of Stoke-on-Trent ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing