We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff”

The Church Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 537 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have dined at The Church many times, and have yet to have a bad experience here. The staff have always been welcoming and attentive, any little errors are rectified quickly (trainees have to learn and this is perfectly acceptable). The food has always been excellent, the price isn't too steep, and the range of wine is good. The downstairs bar area is very comfortable but can get crowded at busy times.

All in all, a great venue, and one that we look forward to visiting time and time again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAA1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    93
    67
    55
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“All out funtastic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My 7yr old girl wanted to have an old fashioned tea party for her birthday party.
We had a great day. Diane and Paul went out of there way to make it special. Nothing was too much bother, lovely cupcakes, sandwiches cut into butterfly's to go with the theme, hot food was really nice and went down well. It looked really girly but ver posh.
My daughter was so happy with all decoration.

What wasn't eaten we brought home, lovely fresh sandwiches.
We were allowed to have entertainment, this was a blast.

The staff were helpful and very polite, what a funtastic day was had by all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic year after year!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have been coming to this restaurant for a number of years now, booking a table for between 16 and 20 for our annual training course in Stoke. Diane is always welcoming and goes to great efforts to make sure the event runs as smoothly as possible for us. The meal is always fantastic value and I get lots of very positive feedback from the participants who love the atmosphere and the food. The dessert trolley is always a big hit! It is great to be able to offer my friends such a reasonably priced meal in a venue that would do credit to a far more expensive restaurant. We look forward to coming here every year. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iabcombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

we visited on father's day with our 4 year old son. The food was lovely (we had chicken and ham suet pudding) and the setting was so unique and pretty. Service was a little slow (and we had to ask for more drinks) but it meant that our mains didn't arrive as soon as we'd finished our starters which we would prefer. we would definitely recommend & visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Grumpy2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great building and idea”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went when it was the tarot reading was a great night out will be going again. Food was nice and love the chocolate lumpy bumpy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Church Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Church Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing