We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High St. Brand, Country Pub Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High St. Brand, Country Pub Charm”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

As a frequent visitor I'm probably biased, but the D&P remains a firm favourite for a mid-week treat. The menu is wide and varied ranging from full restaurant meals for large parties, to cosy fireside snacks and meal deals (I recommend the sharing platters).

The wine selection is excellent and the beer well kept. Seating is spread throughout the venue and varies from small tables for two in secluded alcoves to open dining in larger restaurant areas and even private dining areas for larger groups. Remaining true to it's pub roots it still retains several comfortable seating areas for those wishing to drink and thankfully a traditional bar area still remains too.

Weekends can sometimes be hit and miss in terms of quality and delivery, especially for larger parties where the problems associated with catering for the masses still seem evident on the odd occasion. A recent family party was somewhat disappointing, but was instantly made better by the appearance of the manager. A rare occurrence in a pub these days.

On the subject of service it's this that brings us back on a regular basis. Credit where due to the team in general but a special mention Bradley. Always a welcome smile, remembers the favourite wine even if it's been a while and always finds time to make you feel special. Every pub should have one!

This is a pub, hotel and restaurant that has maintained it's charm, character and atmosphere whilst catering for a wide ranging clientele. Whether business or pleasure it's one to bear in mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoy visiting Ye Olde Dog & Partridge. The comments you have made regarding the service and quality for group bookings has been passed to our management team so that it may be addressed.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    73
    35
    25
    21
See reviews for
63
100
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Travelling home along the A50 near Burton on Trent, and only 3 miles off our route. We were looking to get an early evening meal (food is served all day) and found the Dog and Partridge to have a lovely atmosphere with real fires. Staff were polite and helpful. Food was very good and reasonably priced. We would recommend the Chilean house wine (red or white). Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

After a chilly day at Uttoxeter races Ye Olde Dog & Partridge was just the experience we were looking for. The welcome was as warm as the log fire, nothing too much trouble. Rooms are finished to a high standard & very comfortable. Supper was delicious. Hats off to the kitchen staff who coped remarkably with high volume of covers, their food clearly a hit with the locals, and rightly so.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Carol J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Good Night Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Lovely little hotel. The room we had was fantastic very clean and lots of space. Same with the Bathroom. The staff were vey helpful and it was lovely to just sit downstairs in the bar and have a quiet drink. You can also eat within the pub which although we didn't i am told the food is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel is dated from the 1400's & is on the main street.We had room 8,which is right at the very top of the hotel.The stairs in places are very very steep and I know it is an old property,but we felt some mention should have been made. We had a lovely welcome and were shown to our room.It was a good size,with a comfy bed.We had to ask for a second set of towels and the tv to be re-tuned,but we could not find the phone,which had been removed.All saying that,they could not have been more helpful. There were adequate tea & coffee facilites.The bathroom was lovely,with a good shower and those jets that squirt out all over your body.The towels were a good size and there was dove toiletries too.
The restaurant is part of the Chef Brewer group and represents good value,quality food.The staff were all very nice and we enjoyed our relaxing time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear ShrewsburyChefette,

Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge.

Your comments have passed to the managment team to ensure our high levels of service are maintained.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Excellent hotel for which I only have the highest praise. There are so many positive aspects to the venue itself as have been been reviewed elsewhere on this site.

In my opinion though the best thing about staying here is the welcome and care from the friendly staff. The managers, Michael and Julie Butler, could not have done more to make us feel at home and welcome. From the moment of check-in to checking out the following day they were both very friendly and welcoming, but also exceedingly professional. The waiting staff at breakfast were efficient and thorough. It was a busy event, as 30 of us from a wedding at the castle the previous day, had all booked for breakfast at the same time. Toast, butter and milk jugs were replenished without having to be asked, orders were taken and delivered with accuracy and speed. Coffee was hot and plentiful and all was served with a smile and cheerful attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragoon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstone, Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my wife and was very happy with every aspect of the room and restaurant. Our room was large and airy with a huge very comfortable bed and was equipped with tea and coffee facilities, a fridge, an iron and ironing board. There was also air conditioning and a large wall mounted TV. The bathroom had a large free standing bath and a very powerful shower. The room is in the older part of the building and there are a few winding stairs to contend with. Only a problem for those unsteady on their feet.

The restaurant had a great menu and the waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable about the hotel and local area. Despite sleeping above the main street in Tutbury their was very little noise and we slept very well. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of cooked and buffet style food and it was served until 10am if you fancy a lie in.

We strongly recommend this hotel for a weekend stay or even longer but there isn't too much to see and do in Tutbury. Overall a beautiful building filled with character, fantastic accommodation, great food and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutbury
4.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Property: Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Address: High Street, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing