We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Beautifully refurbished, good value hotel. Friendly staff could not be more helpful. Excellent breakfast. Only downsides were noise from the street from 06.30 and the soft, lumpy mattress which the manager said he would look into. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floors unless you like climbing stairs, and not onto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHard2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here with friends as we were going racing at Uttoxeter and were delighted with our choice. The hotel staff were fantastic; I phoned ahead to ask if we could leave our bags knowing it was too early to check in and there was no problem. When we arrived, we asked if we could get something to eat (11am) and they arranged coffees (inc decaf) and delicious bacon butties! They even asked if we wanted them to arrange a taxi for us to the course.
When we got back, we were asked what time we wanted to eat and were told that the bags were waiting in our rooms - great service.
The rooms were brilliant, everything you could ask for including an iron and ironing board, teas, coffees etc too of course.
We ate in the restaurant on the evening and the food was lovely. The staff were attentive, helpful, chatty and nothing was too much trouble. I must add that the Creme Brulee was to die for!!!
We had a full English the next day and got a steady supply of tea and coffee and toast along with a well cooked and tasty breakfast.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a great place to stay for whatever the reason but particulary if you are going racing - just to note the Sat Nav sent us on 2 different routes to the course and the cross country route is much shorter and quicker (its only about 10/15 mins the longest way though).
Well done D&P and thank you - we had a brilliant stay and that was as much to do with your outstanding customer service as it was the lovely quirky and well kept rooms and good food!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john-anne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear john-anne50,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review, we are pleased to hear how the staff were able to make your stay so special and appreciate the recommendation, we hope to see you again in the future.

Regrads
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

When we first arrived we were greeted by a lovely woman named Julie who could not do enough for us. She was very helpful and kind.

At around 8.30 we went for something to eat. We must have sat for 20 minutes before our order was taken and another 30 for starters. They were sorry about our wait but we were starving and it didn't seem that busy. But, the food was excellent and was worth the wait. As we went to pay the bill one of the woman on the bar was speaking quite rudely to another waitress who clearly needed help but was just getting moaned at which made it awkward for us while we stood and waited to pay our bill.

Our room was on the third floor. It was very noisy as it was on the street. It was also very hot and the air conditioning didn't seem to help. The room otherwise was a great size, great television and very very clean.

Would recommend this hotel to family and friends and will be back in the future. The steak was superb!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaD1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Staff and building are its major asset. Food and service ok. Probably too expensive compared to other small hotels we have stayed in.Stairs could be a problem to some people.Good location close to A 38 and burton on trent

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

ear bryan m,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we have sharde your feedback with our management team.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely double room on the top floor of this very old pub with an ensuite bathroom. The staff were really friendly & welcoming, plus the evening food was good. Free big car park and lovely central village location. An hour south of The Peak District, some of the most beautiful countryside I've ever seen. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear FionaGra,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Rergards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked a family room as we were two males and they have no twin. Called prior to booking to confirm this was not a problem.
Told it wasn’t, saw pictures of room with one double bed and one single.
On arrival after a 300 mile drive for the one night event at Tutbury castle we were shown into room.
With a double bed and nothing else.
Advised staff of problem and they went away came back with option of 50% reduction and mattress on floor, no Z beds available for adults nor other rooms or accommodation in another hotel in next village.
Not really an option as we booked hotel as within walking distance of castle.
My friend who was paying hotel costs ,I paid travel costs went to reduction and slept on floor.
Next morning trying to check out at 7.30am no one around to get discount off credit card or take key.
Ended up leaving key in door of room and calling to sort out discount later.
Which was done but whole thing left a sour taste.
Hotel itself was ok, nothing special but not worth in my opinion £99 a night with breakfast extra.
As someone who has travelled the UK for work purposes staying in a variety of BB and hotels I feel I have the experience to qualify to make that statement .
I accept this was a genuine mistake and attempts were made to rectify situation but still I will not be returning next time in Tutbury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Eight of us spent two nights here as part of a reunion trip and were made to feel most welcome by the staff. The management team were hands on and very efficient, quietly ensuring that everything ran smoothly. We were seated in a private area for our meals which was much appreciated both by us and no doubt by the other diners. There was a varied menu and the food was well presented. If there was a downside it was in accessing the bedrooms up flights of steep stairs which in such a historic building is not surprising, but it may be a problem for those with mobility issues. That aside, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 527Monica_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutbury
4.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
431 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
8.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
189 reviews
15.3 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Address: High Street, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Price Range: £55 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing