We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pub, shocking food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The pub looked nice, stylish and cosy and the service was nice. However! The food was terrible. dry and tough chicken for several of us who had some sort of meal with chicken, stale and hard bread, lasagne was terrible and peas cold and hard?? Its a shame that the food let it down so badly as this place has so much potential going for it. Maybe the chefs need reviewing? My family all have backgrounds of hospitality so we know the standards. The food at this place didnt meet it at all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

just got back from having our first meal at the ode dog and partridge - I can honestly say that they meal was lovely - we both had beef noddles to start with which we thought was a different twist for a starter - I had chicken with bacon and cheese in bbq sauce with chips and salad - the chicken was free range - chunky chips - I really enjoyed it - my partner had mix grill - he has a big appetite but couldn't finish it all - it was cooked to perfection - we will be certainly visiting again - also thank you to our waiter - who was very helpful and friendly to us - fellow south Derbyshire - thank you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had been going to the Dog and Partridge for many years and always enjoyed eating out there. Since the previous manager and chef have left, this which was once a lovely pub to eat in has no longer been the same since. We understand that there are teething problems when new staff take over which we were hoping to be been ironed out by now, unfortunately they have not. The steaks are no longer cooked to perfection and the service is slow. We are now looking for a new pub to eat in around this area, any suggestions would be gratefully received.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellitots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Food very average, but not averagely priced. Drinks expensive and of no particular quality.

The main problem is service. Service is dreadful, and I mean dreadful. Staff seem totally disinterested in the job and this manifests itself in slow and disorganized service.

The pub company that owns this place should be ashamed. This is a fantastic building in a great location. It COULD be a great asset to the area but will never be whilst these amateurs are in charge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank FreddieTheHedeghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

To start with, the booking was a mess. Initially we were told that only a deposit was required, then pestered for the money in full. Then sent a booking confirmation for three people when we had booked for four! Apparently this was due to a 'fault with the system'. Service was relatively quick and polite, but we were sat next to the disabled toilet and baby change, which stank, and every fifteen minutes, staff were washing their hands in there, letting the stink of the toilet out. The starter of pate was the only nice part of the meal. The soup starter had congealed cream on top which my sister had to scrape off with her spoon. Also, not enough bread for the pate or soup and none extra was offered. Moving to the main course, the turkey was simply the worst I've eaten since my school days. An overboiled Bernard Matthews Turkey roll that disintegrated upon attempting to cut up. The roasted veg were almost raw, or burnt at the ends, and the Yorkshire puddings were either soggy or dried out and inedible. The gravy was clearly gravy granules. Moving onto dessert, the pear sponge pudding had a strong and strange metallic taste and was tough at the base, and the Christmas pudding slice was lacking in fruit. For £60 a head, I repeat, SIXTY POUNDS A HEAD, the food was the worst kind of Iceland/Farm Foods rubbish, badly cooked. This cost apparently did not include wine or coffee, though the (dried out and presumably reheated a number of times from their Mr Kipling box) mince pies were included (only squirty cream from a can offered to go with them). I live in London and had come to visit family over Christmas. I have eaten plenty of expensive dinners in the Capital and trust me, this wasn't as good as your average Weatherspoons Sunday lunch. Avoid this place and go somewhere decent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Three course meal was excellent, as a party of eight people the food and service could not be faulted from the moment we arrived until we left the Staff could not have done more to make it a very special Christmas Day lunch, the portions were extremely generous and home cooked (no ding food here)! Saving again for next Christmas and will definitely be visiting here again soon and would highly recommend eating here.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

went out christmas eve for a drink.we went to the dog for a nice pint of beer.we have been in there many times.we went to the bar and to my shock they only had one beer on .we brought a pint of the beer on which was not very nice plus i had to ask to have my pint topped up.the place is getting worse.The last time i went the beer had just gone so i had to wait 20 mins for a drink then i was told that there was no more beer.hope they sort there beer out.dont think we will going for a while.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashenden03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutbury
3 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
436 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
439 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
344 reviews
15.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Address: High Street, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Price Range: £51 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing