We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money. Worrying fire policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth the money. Worrying fire policy”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for one night with my wife while attending a wedding in the area. The pub is an old building which is very pleasant. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful check in was very smooth and we were shown to the room. Our room was very small at the top of the building not really a double a three quarter bed and bathroom had only a shower not a bath. The shower while looking impressive with a number of shower heads didn't work properly due to the knob being broken. We paid £109 for the room which was expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed in. A minor point no biscuits with the tea/coffee, box of tissues and toiletries would have been a nice touch.
At 0430 in the morning the fire alarm went off (annoying but these things happen) but when the guests assembled outside there was no member of staff to guide us, check the rooms or let us know what had happened and he couldn't turn off the alarm until showed by another guest. To my knowledge the building wasn't checked to see if everyone was out. Fortunately all was in order set off by a guest smoking.
We were under the impression that breakfast was included in the price, not until we were informed that they hadn't charged us for breakfast as an apology for our disturbed night. At £7.50 for a full English it represented poor value, one sausage, two rashers of bacon, egg, spoonful of beans, grilled tomato and toast. Ok taste wise but could have been bigger for the price.
All in all a nice pub / hotel but on the expensive side if booking ensure where possible that you have a bigger room if required.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    73
    35
    26
    21
See reviews for
64
102
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed for just one night whilst in the area on business. I was most impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the general feel of the place.

My room was a small/standard double which was really more like a large single, perfect for a solo traveller, but I don't think I would want to stay there with my wife in the same room, I would book a bigger room.

Had dinner at the restaurant in the pub downstairs and the food was excellent, as was the wine I drank. Service again exemplary, as it was at breakfast in the morning too.

All in all it made for a very pleasant stay, and I will most definitely be returning when travelling to this area again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8 at the top of the building. It was rather small for a couple so when booking ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFGiantsNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This used to be a great place to eat. We had family business locally so revisited old haunts. The service was slow. The food average and the starter non appearing, although we asked for it twice. However when the bill arrived lo and behold the price of the non existent starter was on it. We should have gone to the Castle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed overnight at the D&P mid week for a little treat.
The room was lovely, very romantic & quirky, and the bed/floor was a little wonky so it all added to the feel of the place.
Unfortunately we had to leave early in the morning due to work commitments, so we did not sample the breakfast, however, it wasn't really the food we were interested in.
A lovely place to stay, we enjoyed ourselves hugely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightmareJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The pub looked nice, stylish and cosy and the service was nice. However! The food was terrible. dry and tough chicken for several of us who had some sort of meal with chicken, stale and hard bread, lasagne was terrible and peas cold and hard?? Its a shame that the food let it down so badly as this place has so much potential going for it. Maybe the chefs need reviewing? My family all have backgrounds of hospitality so we know the standards. The food at this place didnt meet it at all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

just got back from having our first meal at the ode dog and partridge - I can honestly say that they meal was lovely - we both had beef noddles to start with which we thought was a different twist for a starter - I had chicken with bacon and cheese in bbq sauce with chips and salad - the chicken was free range - chunky chips - I really enjoyed it - my partner had mix grill - he has a big appetite but couldn't finish it all - it was cooked to perfection - we will be certainly visiting again - also thank you to our waiter - who was very helpful and friendly to us - fellow south Derbyshire - thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had been going to the Dog and Partridge for many years and always enjoyed eating out there. Since the previous manager and chef have left, this which was once a lovely pub to eat in has no longer been the same since. We understand that there are teething problems when new staff take over which we were hoping to be been ironed out by now, unfortunately they have not. The steaks are no longer cooked to perfection and the service is slow. We are now looking for a new pub to eat in around this area, any suggestions would be gratefully received.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellitots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tutbury
4.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
420 reviews
5.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
354 reviews
13.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Property: Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
Address: High Street, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing