We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slice Coffee Lounge

Slice Coffee Lounge
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Tutbury
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Slice is a contempory Coffee Lounge with a stylish and relaxing atmosphere, the ideal place to socialize with family, friends or colleagues. We have inside and outside eating areas with comfortable seating, perfect for alfresco dining or sharing a jug of Pimms. We are a fully licensed and have an extensive menu to suit everybody’s taste and dietary requirements. We also offer themed evenings, Champagne Breakfasts, Private Parties and Business events.Established in 2007, the business is located in Tutbury village; Burton-on-Trent the company is owned by Carol Leach and Sharon Smith and has a Five Star hygiene award from East Staffordshire District Council.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After such a great experience last time, I wanted to take my parents as I knew it was sure to impress them.
I was right, it is tiny, which is nice actually, but this adds to the comfortable atmosphere. We all opted for the soup and sandwich option, the butternut squash soup was to die for! Once again the hot chocolate dipping stick was heavenly.
The staff are always super friendly and helpful, I love this hidden gem. Than you

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice little cafe ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Visit fairly often. Situated in a lovely courtyard with garden. Non smoking in garden. Range of food and drinks is excellent and prices very reasonable. The staff are friendly and polite and there are newspapers! I recommend the traffic for two which looks pricey but is lovely for a treat. Tea and sandwiches about £5.

Helpful?
2 Thank Beckie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire,UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our daughter insisted that she took us to The Slice for lunch whilst we were visiting her in nearby Burton-on-Trent so we were hopeful that it would be nice if she thought it was worth driving out to. We were not disappointed. The Slice is a delightful little restaurant situated in a yard accessed through an old archway. The location is very nice and there is outdoor seating for the warmer weather. The place was very busy with every table taken as we arrived but a staff member greeted us straight away and reassured us that we would soon be seated. We really didn't have to wait at all long before a table was ready. It was obvious that everyone was enjoying their food and what a good lunchtime selection there was. The three of us opted for the 'soup & sandwich' . We all chose a different sandwich which was accompanied by the most delightful homemade butternut squash cream soup. A large glass of house red made it the perfect light but satisfying lunch. The restaurant (it is too good to be referred to as a coffee house) was clean and pleasantly decorated and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. On holidays and high days, it might be advisable to ring first and reserve a table but whatever you do give this hidden gem a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank struttybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times, food and drinks are 5*, staff all very friendly and lovely feeling and surroundings. Just wish it was open later in the evenings as a bar, and on sundays

Helpful?
Thank Tuts44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slice T, Owner at Slice Coffee Lounge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Slice is now open every Sunday 10am-2pm. We have regular themed evenings and are also opening late on Friday evenings from 25th April 2014. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We popped in to warm up after a drive round we just had a drink because not long eaten wish we hadn't tho because the food looked very nice a gentleman that was sat nearby had smoked salmon and eggs which u will be having when I go back, anyway back to what we had, my husband ordered a pot of tea and me hot chocolate the waitress gave me a option of numerous kinds but I just wanted milk chocolate and when was served to us it was like a little picture on a wooden board with a tall glass of hot milk with a box of chocolate on a stick with a bowl of marshmallows and fresh whipped cream and it was delicious. Will definatly be back best hot chocolate around you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank rachelchich123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slice Coffee Lounge also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 

Been to Slice Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing