We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naff Indigo”
Review of Cafe Indigo - CLOSED

Cafe Indigo
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Fine Indian dining on Stockton Riverside, Cafe Indigo provides excellent food, good service and a beautiful setting. Looking directly out over the river Tees, Cafe Indigo is ideal for a romantic meal, and the private function room makes it perfect for parties. With free wi-fi, disabled access, on-site parking, vegetarian options, and children welcome, there's something for everyone. Check out the website for details of special offers and other services.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Naff Indigo”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Firstly, for a Friday evening 9ish the place was empty which gave me reason for doubt. Samosas very poor and sparse, looked as if they had been made the previous day. Mixed kebab plenty of it but tasteless. When mains arrived pilau rice looked more like thai sticky rice and cold, tikka masala and madras identical in taste. Both tasted peppery and salty and not of the spices they should have tasted of. Don't know if this is because of using groupon? as this was our first visit and will certainly be the last.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“indian with a difference”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

worth a visit not like any other indian restaraunt I've visited food is special a notch up on your normal curry house

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“tasty food and filling”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

yes it may not be a 5* restaurant , but always found the staff helpful . not always as warm in restaurant as it could be , but the food is hot and tasty. The onion bhaji and pakora are excellent .

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level Contributor
546 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Not the best Indian I have been to”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is not one of the best Indian restaurants I have been to and is very average. The staff were very polite and friendly but never there when you required them, it was not to busy so there was no real excuses for taking to long to bring things to the table. The food was again average but tasty and plentiful. However it did take a long time to be served. Would I visit this restaurant again, yes if I got another Groupon deal but I would not like to pay the menu prices as it is very expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“don't bother”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We visited this restaurant on 19 Jan, very poor reception, shown to our table, waited 30 mins for someone to take our order, atmosphere matched temperature freezing, most diners were sitting with coats on as it was so cold. Food eventually arrived but very bland, we had four different mains but all looked and tasted the same. When paying our bill we did not receive a thank you or good night. Needless to say we will not be going back, save your money and get a dine in for two at M&S.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Indigo also viewed

Norton, Stockton-on-Tees
Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing