We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some issues but would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Plenty of off road parking, pleasant reception area and great welcome. Room was very comfortable but my window looked out onto a flat roof and air con units and the bathroom although functional was evidently not one of the modernised ones - still everything worked. Very warm as the kitchens seemed be underneath air con units but thankfully my room had air conditioning. The menu looked good but my Thai Red Curry was not what I was expecting with chunks of carrot and pre-cooked cubes of beef. I left the restaurant and half of my meal with apologies from the waiter and really was not keen to have a sweet at that stage. I am sure I just made an error of choice as everyone else in the restaurant seemed perfectly satisfied. Breakfast was ok with a good choice of continental and English dishes.
Very comfortable nights sleep but I was unable to do much work that evening as the Wi-Fi was very slow - the maître de mentioned that other guests had complained when he saw me using my tablet at the table.
Overall - close to a 4 but the evening meal and slow Wi-Fi were flaws.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BladderedBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, the comments regarding the food have been passed back to the Chef. This is most definitely not the normal standard we serve, and I apologise for that. We have noted that the WIFI signal can fluctuate depending on the number of guests using it, and we are trying to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Parkmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Work brings me to this hotel, currently staying here for the next month, good points and bad points however overall very good!
Bad points: the rooms are a little dated however modernised with flat screen tv's! Rooms can be on the small side too! Also if your looking for a quiet weekend best phone ahead and see if there are any function on.
Good points: the staff are very tentative and friendly, especially the big guy with the goaty beard whom works in the resteraunt/bar!
The food is excellent, recommend the Parmesan chicken and open lasagne :p! Furthermore, the gym is quite small, but it's got some heavy stuff, good for building muscle! Been here for a couple of weeks now, will update before I leave...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmac8300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you are enjoying your time with us. We have a refurbishment programme in place to upgrade all of the bedrooms, but unfortunately we are unable to complete them at the speed we would like...... it takes time! We have a new menu in place, which is having great reviews, so we hope you enjoy that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I read the reviews before we went to the Parkmore (after booking) and was quite apprehensive when we arrived......all negative feelings were quickly dispelled. The exterior, reception and our room were ALL impressive.
All staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially Vicky (?) at check in at 4.30pm on the 4th October and Gary who served breakfast both mornings of our stay. I would certainly stay here again when in the area and would also recommend this hotel to friends. I cannot understand some of the negative reviews.
Thank you Parkmore for our enjoyable stay. The village of Yarm was delightful .... spent all day on the 5th taking in all it had to offer, then returned to hotel to make use of the leisure centre then enjoyed a relaxing evening ..... highly recommend this hotel.....Margaret Kerr from Dumfries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you will come back and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is very tired very dated, staff unattentive, rooms dirty even the refurbished rooms, had hair in sink and floor was dirty, food disgusting, how can they charge so much for Rooms and Food in this hotel! Stayed here on the way home from a trip looking at other reviews its not the first and wont be the last BAD review this Hotel has.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balloonenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are extremely disappointed to receive a review such as this.

We have NEVER had food described as disgusting. In fact we regularly receive compliments on the food served.

Our standards of cleanliness throughout the Hotel are normally exceptionally high.

I would question if any of these issues were reported during your stay so that the situation could be rectified? NO mention has been made to us that anyone was so dissatisfied with their stay. Had comment been made, we would have done everything in our power to rectify the problem, should they have existed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here on a business trip with a colleague. Bland business hotel which has seen better days. Clean and functional but very dated and down at heel and definitely not worth the £110 per room. The breakfast was very basic. The staff were pleasant enough but got the impression they were a bit jaded. Fortunately didn't eat dinner, as wasn't very impressed with the place.
Was checking the place out for further business trip involving 12 colleagues. Definitely won't be booking in here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayeMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are sorry that you were unimpressed with the Hotel. We regularly receive a lot of compliments about the Hotel, the refurbished rooms, the food and especially the staff, so we were surprised by your comments.

Everyone's perceptions are based on personal taste, and we are disappointed not to have satisfied your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Due to my husbands work we have been staying in this hotel over the last 3 years. Unfortunately after about a 6 month break we came back bringing my sister and Mum. There have been changes NOT in the decor unfortunately, obviously a change of chef, the food was adequate, but on our last evening it was horrendous, there was a party from Stockton Rotary club of around 30 people and our meal then became one and a half hours late!!!! The Manageress in charge was very good - but obviously there was something very very wrong, the whole dining room clientele were very angry. We complained and did get our meal without cost, that was when my sister had to send her meal back to the kitchen because it was not what she had ordered!! All in all it was a sad ending to a 4 day break for our 84year old Mum,

Room Tip: Front facing otherwise you inhale everyones smoke from the courtyard outside
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. We apologise that your last evening with us did not live up to the rest of your stay.

Very sadly, on the night in question, our Chef suffered a family bereavement, and was called away. His team did their best on a very busy night, but unfortunately there were some delays. We are sorry that you were affected. Obviously this is not a normal occurrence, and our food and service is excellent in normal circumstances.

We are still undergoing our bedroom refurbishment, having just completed a major refurb in the Leisure Club, including a lot of new equipment.

We hope that you will return again in the near future, and enjoy our normal, high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel has pleasant gardens at the front but inside the reception is uninviting and tired. The bedroom and bathroom were ok but one had to go through a warren of corridors to find it.

When we arrived at the restaurant for breakfast at about 9.10am it was full. There being no tables available we were asked to wait, several other people also arrived and likewise had to wait, although some others did manage to 'squeeze' on to existing tables with friends.

There was only one waitress on duty who, even though she was totally out of her depth, did her best to cope and to her very great credit remained, cool, calm and polite, for which she needs to be commended.

Finally, after my husband had been to reception to complain and ask that the manager be called to deal with the problem, other staff appeared and another part of the restaurant was opened, (where all the dirty china had been stacked and a large mirror beside our table was covered in greasy finger marks).

It took 18 minutes for us to be seated and a further 30 minutes for our order to be taken and arrive.

On the self-service table there was no fresh fruit other than apples and some grapes and the tinned fruit was so tasteless it was disgusting to eat. There was a small plate of seriously burnt pain au chocolat and croissants and a small plate of cheese and meat which looked decidedly old and dry. The 'clean' cereal bowls were dirty.

Finally, it was interesting to note, that when we left the restaurant; we were the last to leave; the original young waitress had yet again been left on her own to clear up all the tables.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am afraid that on the morning in question, 2 members of the breakfast staff called in sick, and at short notice replacements could not be found, thus the staff were over stretched for the number of guests in house. This is not a normal occurrence, and by no means our normal standard. We apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton-on-Tees
0.2 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#7 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
51 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,094 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
134 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Middlesbrough Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Mid...
#2 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
491 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Parkmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Parkmore Hotel

Address: 636 Yarm Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS16 ODH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Stockton-on-Tees
Price Range: £72 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Parkmore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of a shipping magnet in the 1800's, this beautiful old house has been tastefully extended to create the current hotel. With 55 bedrooms, a large leisure club, incorporating swimming pool, gym, dance studio to name but a few facilities, as well as 3 function rooms holding up to 120 people, this is a perfect venue for you to stay in when visiting the Teesside / Cleveland area. The Hotel has been refurbished in recent years to give it a more contemporary, modern feel, whilst still keeping & enhancing the original features of the building. Our Restaurant, J's at 636 offers a wide selection of dishes produced using only the best of local produce. Close to major local roads & rail links, and with ample free parking, we are easy to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Parkmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stockton On Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing