We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excuse for a meal !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Visited the parkmoor for Sunday lunch during November and we certainly won't be going back! We were welcomed by a young man who was very polite and help full and led to our table. He told us the chef would be out shortly to serve the carvery. More than 20 minutes later we were still sat waiting for the elusive chef to make an appearance. After again asking the young man what was happening he finally appeared and we got our meal. The mashed potato was sold and the whole meal was barely Luke warm. We complained and the chef offered a free sweet and coffee which we politely refused and left the premises, and we certainly weren't alone in complaining about the food. The whole dining room was lacking vibrancy, atmosphere and professional standards. The parkmoor really needs to up its standards quickly before there'll be no customers left to make any further complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank IamArkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your meal did not live up to our normally high standards. I can assure you that this is NOT our normal standard, and this matter will be looked in to, to ensure this is not repeated. We would please ask you to try us again, and experience our usual high standard of service and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Having only been to the Parkmore once since our son's wedding reception there 19 years ago, I was very pleased with our visit last week on 15th November. The result of that wedding, our grandson, was 18 and a party was held in a room at the back of the hotel. The venue was very pleasant, the staff most helpful and obliging and the DJ provided by the hotel (sorry do not know his name) was excellent! Overall a memorable night for our grandson and family and hopefully all his friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in the Hotel and that the birthday party went so well. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is the hotel to stay if you are in the area.
Excellent food
Great value
Very customer focused
Gary (duty manager) is everywhere, well it seemed like it, helping and taking the service from good to great.
we will certainly be looking at using both accommodation and the excellent function rooms in the future and we will take advantage of the leisure facilities next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is in close proximity to Yarm, a charming town in Teesside, and this is probably the strongest point of the venue. It’s about a mile out of town and off the main road.

The rooms are standard and on smallish side, furniture – nothing exceptional. Carpets rather tired looking yet clean. Bathrooms with good-sized bath but with those annoying shampoo dispensers inconveniently fixed to the wall.

The breakfast was typical: basic grub to fill you up for the morning.

The bar was only open till about 11.30pm (that on Saturday night!) after which time you might or might not be successful in negotiations with night porter/cleaner/receptionist about any further drinks.

We were quite shocked to see on our return from a night out in town the shutters down across the reception with not a soul in sight, just a note asking you to contact a number provided for assistance. The gruff voice on the other side of the line was clearly not best pleased to be interrupted as it turned out he was cleaning the room after the evening function.

This apparent penny-pinching by the management left us with rather low impression of the hotel.

Staff are generally friendly enough.

The hotel is good enough for a night’s stay if passing through. Low-ish three star standard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback, your comments are appreciated, and duly noted. The bar should be open until residents go to bed - at whatever time - so long as they are well behaved & not disruptive, so we are upset to hear you were not served…. we will be looking into the matter, and it will not be happening again….. that is not the standard we want in our hotel. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our first visit to the Parkmore to sample the a la carte menu. The food was delightfully cooked with superb service throughout the meal. Our waiter was Chris who was extremely professional and attentive.
Thank you, we will return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Stockton_on_teesIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, and we hope to see you back again soon. Our team work exceptionally hard to produce and serve to a high standard, and it's great that it is so appreciated & that you are happy to share that feedback on here. Too many people only want to share their niggles & dislikes, and not their good experiences, so thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had our entire wedding here at the start of the month and cannot fault one thing! Organised well from start to finish with the help of the hotel - thanks very much to Patricia, Chris and Melanie who were very attentive and helpful. We had a meal the night before in the main restaurant for 20 people which was lovely, and the wedding meal and buffet the next day was also delicious. The Three Rivers Room for the meal and evening band was the perfect size and even had its own private bar. The orchid suite which we stayed in was very comfortable and secluded up its own flight of stairs. Would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you so much for a very memorable day!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ScottyMclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time before and during your wedding day. Our managers and staff always offer an excellent service, and it is great to get such positive feedback about them, they will be thrilled that there hard work has been appreciated so much. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future, on your first wedding anniversary if not before. Very best wishes for the future to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here one night for business, £85 room only - what a rip off. Room dingy, lighting poor - couldn't even read my newspaper, never mind do any work. Staff on reception were negatively discussing a guest who had phoned from their room to complain about some noise coming from extractor fans - oblivious to the fact I was sitting ten feet away and could hear every word. Have to say the gym is excellent, plenty of equipment - however that would not induce me to stay here again, or recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at Best Western Parkmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback, you comments are appreciated. We will be taking issue with the front office staff - this is unacceptable. We are in the process of upgrading all our bedrooms, and we still have some left to do. We are working as fast as is possible to get through them given business & financial constraints, and we are sorry that your room did not live up to your expectations. Should you have stayed in a new room, I feel positive your stay, and opinions would have been different. We hope that you will try us again, and see at us at the standards we are aiming at…...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockton-on-Tees hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#7 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
52 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Hartlepool Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Har...
#2 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
472 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Middlesbrough Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Mid...
#1 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
512 reviews
4.6 mi away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#8 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Parkmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Parkmore Hotel

Address: 636 Yarm Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS16 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Stockton-on-Tees
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Parkmore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of a shipping magnet in the 1800's, this beautiful old house has been tastefully extended to create the current hotel. With 55 bedrooms, a large leisure club, incorporating swimming pool, gym, dance studio to name but a few facilities, as well as 3 function rooms holding up to 120 people, this is a perfect venue for you to stay in when visiting the Teesside / Cleveland area. The Hotel has been refurbished in recent years to give it a more contemporary, modern feel, whilst still keeping & enhancing the original features of the building. Our Restaurant, J's at 636 offers a wide selection of dishes produced using only the best of local produce. Close to major local roads & rail links, and with ample free parking, we are easy to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Parkmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stockton On Tees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing