We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Penny Black Pub

Penny Black Pub
Ranked #192 of 338 Restaurants in Stockton-on-Tees
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just come out of our first meal at this hidden gem and can assure you that it won't be our last. Got a groupon through word of mouth so didn't really know what to expect, to say we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. Beautiful food, friendly staff and ridiculous value for money means that we have found our new regular venue for bar meals.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    43
    13
    19
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unexpected hidden gem”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just made our third visit here, we found it via Groupon. On 1st visit we wondered if we had made an error, the car park was nearly empty and it isn't the most attractive pub. However it is clean and tidy and the food is exceptional. The staff are friendly and attentive and the food is made freshly to order, even the desserts are all home made (and to die for) which is pretty rare these days.
My husband loves the burgers and I don't blame him! We have never been disappointed. Even the coffee is good. All in a housing estate pub for about £7_£8 for main courses. They do 2 steak meals with a bottle of wine for £25, we noticed this on the way out today. I asked about dogs and they are welcome in the bar area, they also do takeaway.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuffmuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the very best”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have visited most weeks via a GROUPON voucher; and will continue to visit when the offer is over. The atmosphere is great, the lounge comfortable, the staff brilliant - so friendly and helpful - a warm welcome and the food is excellent. Altogether, first class.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merseyreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place in Stockton!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent food, service and quality. Started with nachos - wow!! Followed with the pulled pork, the chicken, risotto & salmon - what an experience! Mouth is still watering from remembering the tastes! Also Sunday lunches are fantastic!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab food, superb service, and a brill band on, too.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Went last night with my family, 4 adults and one child. We all had starters, food came quickly, was well presented and tasted fab. The main courses were all really big portions, freshly cooked chips with beautiful parmos, one of the best I've had in a while. Daughter had the burger and it was also huge, but delicious. We shared desserts, as we were almost stuffed, and they were lovely too.
The bar staff were really friendly and chatty, particularly the dark haired woman who served our food. As we finished eating, a couple of lads starting setting up to play guitar and sing, so me and the hubby decided to stay a while to listen to a couple of songs... was so good we were still there at closing time!
Food is fab, service too, and the live music was a bonus and a perfect end to the night!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungry_lass_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Black Pub also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Been to Penny Black Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing