We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great service!”

The Sportsman Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sportsman Hotel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and great service!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stated here while away on business and couldn't have been made more welcome. Great location as only down the road from Yarm. Clean rooms with lots of tea and coffee. Bar staff were really friendly and helpful. From Andrew mounsey

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spain011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Attended the race night & Stayed here on Friday night, fantastic night had by all, Food was fresh & plentiful,very reasonable room rates, the landlord could not have been more accommodating with arranging the room at very short notice,
I Would recommend the sportsman to anybody staying in the area, simply value for money,




Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Accommodation is fine. Food beautiful. Service friendly. Great beer. What more do you want? If you want somewhere with a personal feel, friendly staff and real home cooked food, this fits the bill. Couldn't be closer to the station in a friendly part of town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdodsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Regularly come here for meals. Delicious home cooked food. Reasonably priced. Sunday dinner is fantastic value! !! All the staff are lovely nd happy to help.

Would advise anyone comes here for a parmo and a pint!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglescliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I've been here for meals so many times now, probably verging about 15 times! There is no possible way I can fault the food, it's all home made by the lovliest chef ever! The food is all very reasonably priced, and you get so much for the small price you pay! I will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bannerxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had our engagement party at the Sportsman last Saturday night and was over the moon with the night. Incredibly helpful staff made the whole night a huge success. With almost 70 guests to cater for I was hugely impressed with the efficiency of the staff - it was noted by a lot of the guests. Overall excellent would highly recommend - great atmosphere, lovely surroundings

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We held my grandsons christening here and the hotel did the catering. What a disgrace. To say the buffet was poor was an understatement. Chicken drumsticks were undercooked, tuna sandwiches had that much mayonnaise mixed in it was running off the buns. Our daughter and son in law booked for more people than actually went and the food run out, my husband band I shared a small plate of food and other members of the family had nothing at all.
We had to ask for broken glass to be swept up off the floornwhere we were sat that was there when we went in as it was a tiled floor and my friend stoodnon it she slipped, pkus there was children in our party.
Toilets were a disgrace from us going in the ladies toilet floor was soaking and filthy and stayed that way, you had to lift your trousers or long skirts up to get to the toilet they were also very slippy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hopey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockton-on-Tees hotels
0.1 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#7 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#4 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
363 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Middlesbrough Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Mid...
#2 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
453 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,046 reviews
4.2 mi away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#8 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman Hotel

Property: The Sportsman Hotel
Address: 6A Station Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS16 0BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Stockton-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sportsman Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing