We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we lived local”
Review of The Waiting Room

The Waiting Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Wish we lived local”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We love this restaurant. We live an hour and a half away but make special trips as the food is so delicious. I love the ambience the airy living room feel. The menu is so good with lovely curries, mexican, Italian different beers and wines. I had the enchilada as did my niece, we both loved it gorgeous wholemeal tortilla, tasty mexican lentil filling topped with a tasty toasted cheese. The salad it was served with was so fresh and had a tasty dressing. My husband and his mum had delightful fluffy omelettes that he said were so tasty. We always have pudding if mains are good and they were also so delicious sauces on sticky toffee pudding and ice cream were so creamy and sweet. We had a local cherry brandy and loved this. We will try to return soon. Service excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    62
    19
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food let down by the service...”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My father in law decided to treat his long term veggie son and I to a veggie meal... as much as I as a veggie of 14 years am loathe to give such a place a poor review I felt embarassed by the service. The waitress sneered and giggled when my father in law asked for a beer and said 'which one' rather than showing him the options. The service was sooooo slow I had to approach a waitress to ask for the dessert menu. We had at least 3 different servers during the 90 minutes. The food was fantastic but given the choice between 2 options at my usual Italian where the (limited) options are tasty,the service is outstanding and my elderly father in law would not be laughed at (seriously the girl giggled) for not knowing the ins and outs of the guest ales. I know where I would rather go. I am so dissappointed by the fact that I finally got my family to 'go veggie' and was let down by slow and sometimes rude service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lizaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Lovely food as always”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I attended the waiting room with my hubby for his birthday(can i add he is very much a meat lover!)& as always the food was Fab. Id informed the staff it was his bday&they decorated his dessert with a birthday message,which was very kind of them. We loved coming to the waiting room as we find it relaxed&love the foods.
Thank you

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loupy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oasis in a Desert (Pt 2)”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Haven't had a chance to visit for sometime so was so glad to find that little if anything had changed! The dining room is slightly bigger but the food, was as good as it ever was! Even the 2 carnivores in our group "loved" their lunches! The organic ales were also very tasty and so all in all a great lunch was had!

One minor quibble and, I understand the need for ventilation, but could something be done to stop the fly's hovering around the food! Perhaps mesh over the windows?!

However, this aside surely The Waiting Room continues to prove its no mirage in the Tees Valley area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiddsy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You are not welcome here”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We live locally and have 2 veg family members and would normally be here at least twice a month. However after being told, when the resturnat is half full at resturant 9.30pm that we were not able to have dessert and some wine we will never visit. What resturant is not interested in serving customers at 9.20 on a Friday night!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aitkenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waiting Room also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
 
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees
 

Been to The Waiting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing