We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Seafood & Grill Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Seafood & Grill Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Price range: US$15 - US$64
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Bus stop on Fort Green car park.
Description: The Seafood & Grill restaurant is a wonderful place to relax and soak up panoramic views along the beach, whatever the time of year, though if you are lucky enough to visit during summer, you can take full advantage of the sea-facing al fresco terrace. It has a relaxed ambience and restaurant staff are slick and friendly. Menus at the restaurant at The Brudenell Hotel are full of seasonal produce, sourced from local suppliers. Head chef James Barber is responsible for creating the appealing modern European dishes on offer; his specialty is good honest food done well, like salt beef hash with a fried egg and sweet potato fries, or his own version of fish and chips. The extensive wine list offers the discerning drinker plenty of choice, and good value for money.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Pre-booked there for dinner while staying at a cottage in village behind it. Looked the business, but that was misleading. We were a family party of five and for some reason were squeezed into a table for 4, on the lower of the two levels in the dining room even though it was mid-week, we were pre-booked and there were only about 10 other diners in the place. My chair position put me on top of an elderly couple who were clearly put out by our being so close - and my own party felt the proximity inhibiting too. Combined with the table's lack of space, I was prompted to get a waiter to move us up a level to a larger table.

Having accomplished that we were left for about 10 minutes while at least two members of staff faffed about on a buffet near by polishing glasses and folding napkins. Eventually someone arranged the places properly (there was a mish-mash of odd glasses and cutlery) and took a drinks order. We looked at the menu. And decided. But no-one took an order. After about 15 minutes we ordered, but still had no drinks. 5 minutes or so after that I had to remind staff that we had ordered pre-meal drinks and, that if they didn't arrive before the starters, we didn't want them. They came immediately, just before the starters. These were disappointing (no oysters in mid week) and the soup with lobster (or maybe it was crab) was just plain cold. I wanted to send it back but, to prevent embarrassment among the party, agreed not 'to make a fuss'. Ages went past before places were cleared. Still more ages elapsed until main courses were served, one of which was wrong. But we were so hungry that we just ate the food, which was pretty ordinary fare. Desserts were humdrum. Getting the bill proved to be a trial too, as we seemed to have become invisible once the desserts were on the table.

All in all the only distinctive quality exhibited by this restaurant was the inflated level of its prices. I have eaten better, with far, far better service from good humoured (not grumpy) staff for far, far less in Brighton, London, Bristol, Newcastle....

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at Seafood & Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant. it is unfortunate that you encountered some issues during your visit and for this I apologise. I apreciate that we do not always get things right and from time to time we do make mistakes it is unfortunate that in this case it seems we made a few. I only wish you had brought it to our attention at the time so we could have had a chance to rectify the situation. please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    128
    72
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue and friendly staff”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Our party of seven were served delicious food by very efficient staff. The surroundings were perfect and we could find no fault at all.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrst148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at Seafood & Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

my own menu! the chef actually made up a menu specifically for me.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank alanjo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Seafood & Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your menu!! See you again i hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic restaurant... superb service... amazing food...!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

In June four adults booked in for an evening meal at this hotel - we were not disappointed! The menu is varied and any number of changes were accomodated to the actual dishes. The service was first class - our waiter Martin, went out of his way to be helpful and was extremely knowledgeable about everything dish on the menu. His jocular manner made our meal an event. The restaurant itself is light and airy and we were not rushed - and could of stayed all night if we had wished. All courses served were exceptional - especially the seafood!
Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woof005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Seafood & Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Glad to see you enjoyed everything. i have given Martin a big pat on the back too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“really nice restaurant and staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Good menu, good wines and excellent friendly staff

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at Seafood & Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review. we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafood & Grill Restaurant also viewed

 
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to Seafood & Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing