We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Hospitality”
Review of Brasserie Bleue

Brasserie Bleue
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Bleue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$41
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Our new Bar and Brasserie has been inspired by a modern desire to return to simple, 'back to basics' food, offering freshly prepared dishes, contemporary, informal surroundings and impeccable service. We hope the whole family will enjoy dining with us. From fresh fish bought from Dean's Shed, situated on the beach opposite the White Lion, to smoked kippers sourced from Pinney's of Orford, every ingredient used in the exciting dishes which feature on the new menu, has been 'hand picked' to guarantee an abundance of flavours - Bon Appétit.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Hospitality”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed for three nights and ate at the Brasserie every evening after pre dinner drinks at the bar. The food was really rather very good and tasty but surpassed by the friendliness and professionalism of the waiting and bar staff. We were made to feel really special as they could not do enough to ensure that we were having a great time and experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for your recent comments. I am pleased you have enjoyed your recent evening with us. We do work hard to offer great food and even more so great hospitality. I look forward to welcoming you back here again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    120
    58
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Richard N "This has become our local!!"”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Friendly, efficient service with good quality, locally sourced and fondly prepared food at reasonable prices (especially the Prix Fix menu) in a nice warm atmosphere ...what more can we say, apart from It is really refreshing to find somewhere that isn't trying to be pretentious but coming up with the results plus a selection of drinks which won't break the bank either

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. See you again soon.

Best wishes

Sean Morrison
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere. Food OK”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Didn't knock my socks off like I thought it would to be honest. Not a bad meal but not exactly memorable. Nice bottle of Malbec and garlic mushrooms to start. Steak was a bit fatty and I asked for rare but it was nearer medium when it came out. Cheese board was a bit disappointing. Wasn't actually a board, came out on a round plate. The selection of cheeses served wasn't great and just one type of cracker available. For the cost, the cheese board was a let down. The restaurant suffers from 'bouncy floor' syndrome. It's an old building with an old floor that may need some repairs. Quite often when someone walks near your table you can feel your chair rocking up and down as the floorboards move. Quite disconcerting. Anyway, it was an OK experience. Judging by the reviews on here, it's a popular place to eat in Aldeburgh. Price was fair too,

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coluforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for posting a review. I am disappointed to read that we did not quite live up to your expectations. I can assure you your feedback will be shared with the management team at our next meeting. I hope you may choose to visit us again, if you do please ensure you ask for Peter (General Manager) or myself and we will ensure you are looked after.

Best wishes

Sean Morrison
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super service by the sea”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

What a great team - really helpful, fast service and delicious food - all with a great view of the Aldeburgh coastline

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-M-S-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will hopefully see you again soon.

Best wishes

Sean Morrison
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We booked our Sunday lunch at the White Lion very easily on-line and arrived at the Hotel to a friendly greeting and our table ready for us. The menu was very varied to appeal to all tastes and the food was very tasty and well presented. The service was very good and friendly. We will certainly be visiting the White Lion again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you taking the time to post a review. See you again soon.

Best wishes

Sean Morrison
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Bleue also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing