We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the real Aldeburgh experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaton House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eaton House B&B
Ranked #13 of 18 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the real Aldeburgh experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I f you want the real experience of visiting a historic Suffolk coastal town, then Eaton House is for you. If you wanted a Travellodge you should have stayed on the Ipswich bypass. Ask for the en-suite bedroom with a view of the sea. Eaton House is a large, clean, friendly Victorian house that still bears evidence, in its delightful entrance hall, of its time as a nunnery and then a school. It also has a large beautifully kept garden which you can roam in. The breakfasts from locally sourced produce are not to be missed. The people who run Eaton House are happy to tell you its history or leave you in peace as you wish. Unless you live in a world of ten shilling notes it is a very good value B&B with a lot to recommend itself

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redr0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Two bedrooms are at the front of the house with a sea view. One room has an en-suite bathroom and the other has a sink. There is a third bedroom with a view of the spacious garden at the back. There is a communal bathroom for the two rooms without a bathroom. There is a TV in the communal sitting room but not in the rooms themselves. The hostess is very helpful and friendly and gives suggestions for places to visit. She has a lovely dog called Ruby who is very friendly and never barks. All the rooms in this B & B are large and full of light. The seagulls are quite noisy in the morning which disturbed me a little bit as I had the window open but it made a nice change from hearing traffic. The B & B is very close to the one and only cinema in Aldeburgh and only a short walk to the high street. The breakfast kept me going well past lunchtime- cereal, choice of tea or coffee, orange juice, toast, bacon, scrambled egg, mushrooms and tomatoes.

Room Tip: The B&B is on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Charming homey warm and clean. Hostess is so kind and very helpful with information on area. I felt very at home and could do my work in the large sitting room, which was good as it was cold outside during my stay, but, warm and so cosy within. I could also make food whenever I felt like it. I would certainly recommend to single travelers like myself.

Room Tip: Easy going atmosphere near the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starzira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

The entrance to Eaton house looks like something from the house of horrors a dark dirty hall way no indication of where to go, on arriving on the top floor our room was spacious but shabby and not very clean and very cold,when the roller blinds were rolled down to reveal many squashed flies. The shower room is still unfinished and there seemed a total lack of care and attention to detail that should be in place to make one's stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Myself and a friend have recently stayed at Eaton House, when we were greeted by Ruby the dog I knew we were in for a lovely stay. The room was very comfortable and the sitting/dinning room was also very comfortable and clean, we were given free use of the kitchen to make tea/coffee when ever we wished. The breakfast was delicious. The landlady was really laidback and pleasant. We had a room with lovely views of the sea. We thought that this place was real value for money and would most definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen503730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I stayed a full week, and was treated to one of the best weeks of my life. The owner was gracious and fun, and helped organize our daily excursdions. Our room was big, with an amazing veiw of the Sea, and a nice lovely new big bed. I am still floating.... The English breakfasts were excellent and kept us going all day. I would, in a nano second, tell anyone of my friends to visit. In fact, I already have. Being from Montreal, It was great to be hosted by such friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsCarlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I enjoyed my 3 night stay, felt welcomed, and able to come and go as i liked.
No ''landlady'' breathing down my neck. A breakfast proper, without all the portion control money saving irritants, a proper english with time to eat in peace. Thanx :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorsvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.0 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton House B&B

Property: Eaton House B&B
Address: 17 Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is divided into four flats of which the B&B, on the top floor, is one. The atmosphere is informal and friendly. There is a large sun deck and sitting room with wonderful views, books, games and TV/DVD. Internet connection can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Eaton House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton House B&B Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing