We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ploughman's lunch more like Poor Man's lunch - dreadful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

31st July we visited Aldeburgh and for a treat we decided to have a pub lunch in this pub.

I chose a Ploughmans' and requested white bread instead of the offered granary bread.

I was bitterly disappointed by my meal when it arrived. Large plate with 2 slices of pappy white sliced supermarket bread 3 pieces of cheese, cheddar, stilton, and brie, a small pot of branston pickle, 6 tiny salad leaves doused in oily dressing, 1 baby tomato which had a soft area and a split in the flesh indicating it was either going bad or had been squashed, 1 medium pickled onion, 2 pats of wrapped butter which were soft and runny and 2 minute pieces of fresh onion. Ghastly! the only good thing was the cheese. I felt robbed when I realised this dreadful meal had cost me £9.95 - disgraceful charges. My partner had a crab sandwich loved the crab but the bread - yes you have guessed it was that damn awful pappy white sliced supermarket bread again !
The area leading to the toilets all looked grubby and would benefit from a lick of new paint - smells stale too. All brass door fitments etc tarnished looking - the place does not look cared for.
The ashtray was filled with old cigarettes, ash and debris and it was full of rain water - horrid.
I felt very cross that my treat of a smashing meal out had not been met - I felt and still feel very cheated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GOLLYAUNTMAUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

End of July, glorious weather at a popular seaside town, cross keys deserted. Not serving food in the evening we called. Just as dingy and grubby inside, no welcome, still surly landlady and non smiling bar staff. Will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NowRetired31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We needed a place to stay while attending the Peter Grimes performance on the Beach (wonderful experience). Having left booking a room rather late all we could find was a double room at the Cross Keys which as it happens was next to the opera setting.

The Trip Adviser reports left us very concerned about what we would find but our stay exceeded perhaps low expectations. This is not an upmarket pub with all the facilities etc that some people would look for. It is an old building, rather small and dark that perhaps has not moved with the times. However our bedroom, newly painted, was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fine and the Landlord very friendly and helpful. He lent us a blanket for our evening on the beach.

Fine for a one or two night stay but not if you are looking for luxurious pampering.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arrived in Aldeburgh too late for any of the pubs to be serving food, which was just as well for the Cross Keys as their kitchen refurb. would have sent us elsewhere at any other time.

Inside was a little dark and dingey for a summer's day (would be nice and cosy in the winter) but the staff was friendly, the Adnams good and it was nice to be able to sit outside in the sun.

Not a bad place, but not great either.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Fresh urine on the toilet seat and dubious white stains on the sheets. Overpowering smell of fried food in the room too! Only stayed long enough to find somewhere else. Doesn't look like its been cleaned in ten years. Avoid like the plague!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Had stayed at this Pub/Hotel some time ago and found the place charming with hanging baskets and flowers outside the front of the pub with a seating area outside at the rear.Also the interior was clean and tidy.But what a difference of a few years and presumably ownership/tenancy makes.Admittedly we have had a cold winter but there was no trace of any hanging baskets and probably hadn't been for some time.The interior was dull and dingy and when we were shown our rooms there was a distinct smell of cooking oil/fat and one of the rooms was not particularly clean We decided against staying and went elsewhere.What a disappointment from what was a nice place to stay and enjoy a drink and meal.

Room Tip: Unfortunately try elsewherel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank stevebwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We only visited this Public House for a lunchtime meal, but a lovely atmosphere,
roaring fire, very reasonable Bar meals and the drink prices were also reasonable very central location, it was winter time but a good outside area if the weather was warm,

Room Tip: We only visited this Public House for a lunchtime meal, but a lovely atmosphere, roaring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank sophie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aldeburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
#9 of 16 in Aldeburgh
28 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tirah Guest House
Tirah Guest House
#1 of 1 in Aldringham
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Toll House
Toll House
#4 of 16 in Aldeburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn

Address: Cross Keys Crabbe Street, Aldeburgh IP15 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing