We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

terrible bar staff not a smile in site
lack of choices of drinks
despite it being hot & sunny there was nobody in the pub and it looked really empty and not very popular compared to other heaving pubs down the road. maybe this is why

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Drinks only at this pub as we didnt want to chance the meals. Ale according to my partner was not kept well, too warm and short measured. (Others complained about the short measures too). Wine tasted like water, nothing more than sugared water in my opinion, couldnt distinguish the wine element at all. Complete rip off. Overpriced and disgusting! Considering complaining to the brewery!!!!!!!!!! Really dont understand the extolling reviews.

Room Tip: Dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SHEEPY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the pub for an evening meal. The menu was full of promise, but food was just awful. The fish pie seemed to be made with some type of minced fish. The skate was slimey and was brought out then my husband was asked what he wanted with it, surely this should have been done when the order was taken? The children's cod was full of bones, we expected some but this was just awful! Staff seemed sullen. I wouldn't recommend eating here

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Lottie4671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just had a lovely weekend in this very welcoming old pub. We were shown to our very comfortable room #1 with en suite facilities and quickly settled in. Lots of visitors and locals enjoying the great food and drink and there we were right by the beach and more or less in the middle of town. Generous breakfast was well served. Anyone giving a bad review might want to book into a five star hotel. Our experience was of a cosy old pub we will return to happily

Room Tip: #1 was good. A bit noisy as you expect from a pub in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have been visiting Aldeburgh for more years than I can remember, and I normally go for a pint or two at the Cross Keys.

If you are looking for a Gastro pub or a pub that sells gourmet type food, then the Cross Keys is not for you. Its just a pub that sells food and a damn good pint.

People have complained the entrance is messy and tired. They are probably referring to the pubs REAR entrance on Crag Path, where a dilapidated house next door and not connected to the pub is being renovated. The pub has no control over that. The front entrance in Crabbe St always look tidy and inviting.

As for the pub itself. Its one of the oldest pubs in Aldeburgh - low ceilings and uneven floors. That what old buildings are like, so don't complain about it. The food is OK. As I said, its not a gastro pub and they don't pretend to be. Its just normal pub food that is of a good standard. The Adnams beer is wonderful.

The staff are fine. They are not grumpy and don't smell!

I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doctor_Mosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nice and cosy looking pub from the outside and despite it having a massive fireplace and a decent atmosphere we couldn't bear to take our jackets off! Had a couple of drinks from the smileless barmaid and left. It would probably be great for drinks on a summers day but if you want a cosy place away from the cold the White Hart was better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_Mac180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I found this pub after having a look on the net for dog friendly pubs. After a walk along the beach trying to tire out a spaniel puppy, we were ready for a good lunch and some good beer. Which is exactly what we got. The food is inexpensive but very tasty and filling and it also arrived very quickly. The beer is mostly Adnams which is also fine. The staff were perfectly friendly and helpful. Not a place to go for Cordon Bleu but a good friendly pub, with lots of buzz with visitors and locals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aldeburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tirah Guest House
Tirah Guest House
#1 of 1 in Aldringham
188 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
#13 of 16 in Aldeburgh
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Toll House
Toll House
#4 of 16 in Aldeburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn

Address: Cross Keys Crabbe Street, Aldeburgh IP15 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cross Keys Inn Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing