We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B
Ranked #7 of 18 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We recently enjoyed a couple of nights stay at the lovely Swiss Cottage B&B near Aldeburgh. The property was immaculate and our hosts Heather and Eugene were very welcoming.
The Breakfasts were superb too .... We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevesmilemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prettykiwi, Owner at Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you so much it was lovely having you stay with us we are glad you enjoyed your time here in Suffolk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
66
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

You try to be fair to somewhere on tripadvisor that has 5 star reviews (and in the case of this B&B consistent 5 star reviews); but in the back of your mind you enter thinking- go on impress me, do your best. Even with these unfairly high expectations, and having the benchmark set pretty high by recently staying in some other highly rated B&Bs, I left happy.

It ticked all the boring "hotel-inspector" boxes- large bed, nice toiletries, good shower, very clean etc; but more importantly it had charm. The garden out the back is gorgeous, the breakfast is moreish and it is run by Heather and Eugene who are genuinely lovely people (without being ott in anyway).

Do give it a visit if you are near Aldeburgh and I hope that like me you won't only be impressed by it, you will also have a soft spot for it too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Thorpeness. Had a very big bed and a lovely view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruari h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prettykiwi, Owner at Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind review it was lovely meeting you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Swiss Cottage is light, spacious, very modern, very comfortable and very clean, and you couldn't wish for more considerate and friendly (though by no means intrustive) hosts than Eugene and Heather. The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the breakfasts are first-class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prettykiwi, Owner at Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you to you and all our guests who have been so kind as to take the time to give us a review we really do appreciate it .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay convenient for the Aldeburgh Festival. Swiss Cottage lived up to its description as "Luxury B&B". It is a beautiful house, very comfortable and well furnished. Both Heather and Eugene are very welcoming. The house is in a lovely quiet area and it was only a few minutes drive into Aldeburgh. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: The Thorpness En Suite room is excellent and a great view over the large and attractive back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_tchighi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in the Thorpeness en-suite room in June and we found everything to be first class. The room was comfortable, light and airy and very clean. Swiss Cottage is set in a tranquil area and it is just ten minutes from The Parrot and Punchbowl where we enjoyed a good evening meal. Breakfast was lovely and views of the beautiful garden were appreciated whilst in the breakfast room. Eugene and Heather are a very friendly, professional couple and we consider their B&B a delightful find. Chris and Alan Brook.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_BLeyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Essex UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here the 1st bank holiday weekend in May for 2 nights - Eugene and Heather are a friendly couple, we were made welcome, lovely room on the ground floor, spacious and very clean. We stayed for 2 nights and let ourselves in and out when needed, the breakfast next morning was lovely, tasty and using good quality produce. Eugene gave up tips on the local area, the good thing was they left us alone to do our own thing, we were not hassled or given a list of do's or don'ts, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinegirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the Swiss Cottage in may staying in the Thorpeness en-suite room. What a great find this lovely Bed and breakfast turned out to be!. Heather and Eugene are lovely people who clearly want to ensure your stay is first class. Swiss cottage is beautifully kept, our room was lovely, clean well kept accomodation. Our window overlooked the wonderful and peaceful well kept garden. The Thorpeness room has a spacious modern en-suite and with a super shower. Breakfast was great with freshly cooked food and a lovley fresh fruit salad. Swiss cottage is just a short drive outside Aldeburgh, if you are keen walkers you could do this, we are not so we drove!, either way Aldeburgh is easily accessible with some lovely restaurants. We ate at the Parrot and Punchbowl pub one evening which was only a 10 minute walk from swiss cottage and enjoyed a super meal. We love this area and the Swiss Cottage will be our choice every time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosieinyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
13.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B

Property: Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B
Address: Aldeburgh Road | Aldringham, Aldeburgh IP16 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Cottage is a newly established 4* luxury Bed and Breakfast conveniently located between Aldeburgh and Thorpeness. Our peaceful leafy location provides a relaxing base for anyone looking to visit the nearby pretty Suffolk villages. Our large comfortable rooms meet the highest standards featuring kingsize high quality beds and stunning fully tiled en-suites. Heather & Eugene look forward to welcoming you and making your stay as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiss Cottage Luxury B&B Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing