We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!”
Review of 34 Lee Road

34 Lee Road
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
34 Lee Road
Ranked #2 of 17 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Thank you Peter & Sue for yet another perfect stay. we now feel we are visiting very good friends!
Cream room a delight as usual. The duvets are so very comfy. Breakfasts absolutely fantastic.
We always choose from the specials boards which are so yummy!!
We will definitely return whenever possible and can thoroughly recommend 34, Lee Road to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
112
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Peter and Sue (the hosts) friendly and very welcoming.Large room, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. 2 minutes' walk to the lovely town centre and sea front. And to top it all, a wonderfully cooked breakfast (pancakes with streaky bacon, cinnamon and plums for me, poached eggs with mushrooms and beans for my wife) which I am missing already. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanDabaoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed last week and were very touched by the warmth and hospitality of Peter and Sue. The rooms are very comfortable, with lots of thoughtful attention to detail.

It is not an exaggeration to say that it is the best B&B we have both stayed in and we hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I visited Aldeburgh recently as part of a nostalgic trip to the area where I spent many holidays in my youth - exploring, walking and learning to sail. 34 Lee Road is just around the corner from where I used to stay, centrally placed on the higher part of the town and - for me - in the perfect position (I was without a car so everything could easily be done on foot and by bus). What a very warm welcome I was given by the owners Peter and Sue Smith; the house has just been converted and I felt both in a luxury hotel and part of a family! The rooms are spacious and comfortable, each decorated in a separate colour and boasting many extra touches not usually found: a very wide selection of hot drinks, high quality biscuits - even a fresh bottle of mineral water provided each day. The en-suite bathroom was particularly luxurious and fitted with a top-quality shower. As for breakfast, this establishment has won an award or two, so don't eat too much the night before! (I don't think I have ever been served homemade bread at a B & B, but it was delicious and well worth it.) Peter and Sue are very helpful with local information and flexible if you need to arrive or leave outside standard times. The town, coast and countryside are wonderful so I strongly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: As far as I know, each of the three rooms is equally attractive and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our second stay, this time we brought the in-laws! They've travelled widely in the past and we wanted to bring them somewhere we could guarantee they would like. We slept well in the comfy beds and enjoyed the luxury of reading the papers with our breakfast.

Another great visit, look forward to visiting next year and sampling those scrummy breakfasts again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laren
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ideal place to stay for the Aldeburgh Festival. Located on a high spot, so no problems when there is a gale! The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very spacious, an exception in the UK! Beds are really big and comfortable. Quiet street, we slept very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auguste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Lilac Room at the rear of the property. Our room, like the rest of the house, was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated and presented. On the landing was a huge bookcase with literally many hundreds of books, fiction and non fiction. There were also DVDs to watch in your room.

Breakfast - where shall I start? There is a toaster for guests in the breakfast room so you can have your toast exactly when you want it. The white and brown bread is made by Peter and tastes delicious. Cereals - there were 5 types of Dorset Cereals, cornflakes, frosties and weetabix. Nice quality orange juice and a wonderful fresh fruit salad that changed a little each day were our choice to start. The cooked breakfast comprises excellent quality bacon, sausages and eggs plus 6 or so of the usual suspects. It is cooked to order so you have about 20 minutes to attack the "starters". There are 4 boards on the wall advertising special breakfasts, we did not try them but other reviewers have commented how nice they were. Assuming you have room for toast after your cooked breakfast, you have a choice of 5 jams, marmalade, honey, marmite, peanut butter, nutella and one other I cannot remember. A coffee maker is there for you to help yourself and tea is brought to your table.

Now the hosts, Sue and Peter. Very friendly and helpful with loads of information about Aldeburgh and further afield, plus where to eat and drink. WE highly recommend the Lighthouse restaurant and the restaurant in the White Lion.

Parking is on street, but we had no problems at all.

Summarising, this is a top of the range B&B. I haven't the faintest idea what they could do to make it better. Well done Pete and Sue, and thank you.

Room Tip: It is a quiet road and so noise will not be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
807 reviews
13.2 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 34 Lee Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 34 Lee Road

Property: 34 Lee Road
Address: 34 Lee Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — 34 Lee Road 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Aldeburgh, just a few minute's walk to the high street and the sea, we offer a warm welcome and high quality accommodation. Our en-suite rooms are furnished to a high standard, with flat screen TV/DVD, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe, hairdryer and shaver points. Full English and continental breakfasts are available. Guests can take breakfast in our breakfast room or our delightful courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
34 Lee Road Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing