We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An individual Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An individual Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I have been visiting the Wentworth over many years since I was a child and Michael's Mother was in charge- so a long time!. We recently went for lunch in mid December with friends and ate in the Conservatory overlooking the beach. There was a choice of a set 2 or 3 course menu with choices or the special Christmas lunch. We all opted for the 2 course lunch, each choice was superb and plentiful. I had liver, bacon on a celeriac mash with fresh vegetables, followed by a wonderful sponge pudding with crème anglaise. This was excellent value in a wonderful setting. My son always states that the Wentworth is ' informally formal' - it has beautiful furniture and furnishings, and the décor is fresh and everywhere is comfortable and welcoming with real fires in the winter and not at all frumpy. Certainly an individual gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you have visited the hotel over a number of years and we continue to impress you. The lunches in the restaurant are very popular and this year was no exception.

The liver continues to be a favourite and the outlook is obviously hard to beat with the beach so nearby.

The furnishings are all individual and our refurbishment programme ensures the public areas are kept tasteful, and modern but traditional

We hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    153
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
95
397
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ive been visiting Aldebrogh my whole life and this has always been a great hotel!

the rooms are lovely and very classical looking, the food is also great and the staff is very friendly and helpful, this is probably the only hotel i would recommend in aldebrough

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cessna110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that we are the hotel you would recommend if Aldeburgh is visited. We hope you come to the hotel for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in Room 38 beween Christmas and New Year and enjoyed the comfort of this delightful suite with sea views . Very clean and well maintained. Food excellent especially the fish which had not travelled far to reach the plate. Staff were courteous and cheery - no sign of Christmas fatigue . Everything was just perfect and we cannot wait to come back next year at the same time - if not before.

Room Tip: Worth extra for a suite as the space was superb and if the weather is bad its a treat to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time during this busy festive period to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed room 38. The views are certainly almost unrivaled and I hope you managed to make use of the binoculars provided in the room.

All our food is sourced locally so I am glad you found the fish to be excellent. Some of the fish only travels about fifty metres to get to the hotel from the beach hut!

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully before December
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Visited here early December.Excellent hotel in very good location with a short hop over the road at the front of the hotel to the beach.Great sea view bedrooms available of a substantial size.Very clean.
Helpful staff.Very good food with excellent choice at breakfast.
Large restaurant and bar meals also available up to 6.00pm although would have welcomed a larger choice of food for a bar meal.
Large lounges to relax in with plenty of room plus open fires in the winter.
Free car park over the road at rear of hotel.
All in all an excellent short break.Would stay again

Room Tip: Bedrooms at front of hotel - 2 floors - face the sea and are of a good size. Road in front of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and pleased you will be back with us again.

The public rooms with the open fires create a great ambience in which to relax. The three open fires are a good bonus in the milder months and people enjoy sitting round them with a glass of mulled wine!

We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy our hospitality

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed at the Wentworth in October, and everything was just perfect. We had a lovely welcome and check in was quick and simple. Our room was on the first floor and had an inland view, and although on the compact side, the room had everything you needed and was also spotless.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, and there are some lovely pubs only minutes away.
We chose to eat in the hotel's restaurant and wow what a good decision it was. We had three courses and all of the food was cooked to perfection, the service was also spot on too. When we went down for breakfast the next morning, the gentleman on the door had remembered our room number which we thought was a nice touch. There was lots of choice for breakfast and again it was all cooked perfectly.
The Wentworth is one of the best hotels we have been too, and we will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we will certainly keep working hard to ensure the high standard you experienced is retained.

We hope you will be back with us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Wentworth is a very comfortable quiet hotel in November where we stayed for a single night to enjoy the food and spend a pleasant night away. We had room 24 which was very comfortable and overlooked the sea. The ensuite bathroom was of a high standard with all the usual toiletries and very fluffy towels! The dinner menu was excellent as was the range of breakfast choices. Staff all very pleasant and the hotel itself, for an old building, was immaculate. A great wine list too. We would happily book again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 24 is certainly an excellent room with a lovely sea view and great furnishings.

We take pride in keeping the hotel in good condition and I am glad this was appreciated.

Hopefully you will visit us again soon for another relaxing break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Susex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the sixth time that my husband, aunt and I we have stayed for a 3 night break over the last 8 years. Each visit we find extremely high standards in terms of attentive staff, meals and decoration. The food is superb and varied and exciting in choices, we always stay for DB&B which is excellent value for such a hotel of high standard.There are many comfortable areas to relax with a good book and open fires in 3 areas. The dining room and bar are beautifully decorated as indeed are all the areas. I suppose what I love so much about this hotel is it is authentic and honest, no gimmicks or corporate styling. The owners/staff clearly love the place and so indeed do we.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSusexPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
thank you for leaving such a complimentary review. It is pleasing to read that you continue to visit the hotel and we do hope to see you again next year.

The staff work hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay and we will continue are rolling refurbishment programme in January to ensure the hotel is kept in top condition.

The open fires are certainly an advantage and all three are roaring at this time of year.

We hope to continue impressing you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
12.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
8.4 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Property: Wentworth Hotel
Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing