We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and magical stay!”
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Saxmundham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing and magical stay!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have been coming to the Wentworth for 18 years, and yesterday we had a lunch party with 17 of our friends, an event we do every year. This time they really surpassed all expectations! The food was amazing, the staff excellent and the ambience perfect. The lounge areas are gorgeous, so peaceful and NO background music thank goodness! All our party praised everything highly. Despite 3 hearty lunch courses we managed to enjoy a beautiful meal in the evening - the Monkfish is the best fish dish I have had. We were upgraded to a superb room with a lounge area and sea views................Breakfast as always was scrummy! Many thanks to the Team at the Wentworth, there is nowhere to compare with it. Long may it continue...............

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are best, although the annexe is also very pleasant and quiet. there are stairs but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggySaxmundham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for your more than complimentary review

We are so pleased that we continue to impress you and that you come back year after year

Your comments have been passed on to all the staff. We hope to have you back soon but if not hopefully for your 19th year

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    160
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
97
418
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Mersea
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I first had lunch at this hotel around fifteen years ago. Since then I have returned for lunch several times, but never managed an overnight stay until last week. We checked in slightly early and our room was not ready, so we spent a very relaxing half hour with a drink, talking to the hotel's owner and his interior designer. It was quite clear that the Wentworth is a labour of love and it shows in the decor and furnishings. Our room was beautifully furnished and although we had been warned that it was on the small side, it was fine. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The view as I walked into the dining room will live long in my memory and the food was equally good. This hotel is quintessentially British. Relaxed surroundings with great food and friendly staff. I hope to return many times.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DougWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad you have finally had the chance to stay with us, and furthermore that you enjoyed the stay.

The owner works here on a full time basis and certainly puts a lot of time and effort into ensuring the hotel is in the best condition and the interiors are carefully selected.

We pride ourselves on being a traditional country house style hotel by the sea. This sets us aside from many hotels that may be lacking in character or impersonal. It is nice to know this is appreciated

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you for your second stay very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

On Saturday night once again we were treated to excellent service, a beautiful dining room and the most inspiring food in Aldeburgh. We have a cottage here and have eaten out countless times over the past ten years but must say that the Wentworth has the edge.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. We are delighted we continue to give you the highest standards.

Hopefully you will visit us again when you are next in Aldeburgh and we look forward to having you

Your comments are gratefully received
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I have been visiting the Wentworth over many years since I was a child and Michael's Mother was in charge- so a long time!. We recently went for lunch in mid December with friends and ate in the Conservatory overlooking the beach. There was a choice of a set 2 or 3 course menu with choices or the special Christmas lunch. We all opted for the 2 course lunch, each choice was superb and plentiful. I had liver, bacon on a celeriac mash with fresh vegetables, followed by a wonderful sponge pudding with crème anglaise. This was excellent value in a wonderful setting. My son always states that the Wentworth is ' informally formal' - it has beautiful furniture and furnishings, and the décor is fresh and everywhere is comfortable and welcoming with real fires in the winter and not at all frumpy. Certainly an individual gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you have visited the hotel over a number of years and we continue to impress you. The lunches in the restaurant are very popular and this year was no exception.

The liver continues to be a favourite and the outlook is obviously hard to beat with the beach so nearby.

The furnishings are all individual and our refurbishment programme ensures the public areas are kept tasteful, and modern but traditional

We hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ive been visiting Aldebrogh my whole life and this has always been a great hotel!

the rooms are lovely and very classical looking, the food is also great and the staff is very friendly and helpful, this is probably the only hotel i would recommend in aldebrough

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cessna110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that we are the hotel you would recommend if Aldeburgh is visited. We hope you come to the hotel for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in Room 38 beween Christmas and New Year and enjoyed the comfort of this delightful suite with sea views . Very clean and well maintained. Food excellent especially the fish which had not travelled far to reach the plate. Staff were courteous and cheery - no sign of Christmas fatigue . Everything was just perfect and we cannot wait to come back next year at the same time - if not before.

Room Tip: Worth extra for a suite as the space was superb and if the weather is bad its a treat to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time during this busy festive period to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed room 38. The views are certainly almost unrivaled and I hope you managed to make use of the binoculars provided in the room.

All our food is sourced locally so I am glad you found the fish to be excellent. Some of the fish only travels about fifty metres to get to the hotel from the beach hut!

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully before December
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Visited here early December.Excellent hotel in very good location with a short hop over the road at the front of the hotel to the beach.Great sea view bedrooms available of a substantial size.Very clean.
Helpful staff.Very good food with excellent choice at breakfast.
Large restaurant and bar meals also available up to 6.00pm although would have welcomed a larger choice of food for a bar meal.
Large lounges to relax in with plenty of room plus open fires in the winter.
Free car park over the road at rear of hotel.
All in all an excellent short break.Would stay again

Room Tip: Bedrooms at front of hotel - 2 floors - face the sea and are of a good size. Road in front of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and pleased you will be back with us again.

The public rooms with the open fires create a great ambience in which to relax. The three open fires are a good bonus in the milder months and people enjoy sitting round them with a glass of mulled wine!

We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy our hospitality

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,015 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
808 reviews
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Property: Wentworth Hotel
Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing