We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break”
Review of Wentworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mid week break”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been going to the wentworth now for quite a few years now. Sometime times twice a year went in April to celebrate our wedding anerversary and husbands birthday. And a break in the summer. We find staff are always polite and helpful even recommended a bottle of red wine with our dinner which was very nice. But we forgot the name. We hope to return later in the year . Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Room 2 very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredaP187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. We are pleased you continue to visit us and do hope you enjoyed your birthday and anniversary celebrations at the hotel. We are proud you chose the Wentworth and look forward to welcoming you back as always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    156
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
96
407
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked only 24 hours ahead and were pleased to get one the few room left. It was at the inland side of the hotel but that was not an issue for one night. The price of £139 for DBB for two was very good indeed.
So many aspects of this lovely family owned hotel are perfect. It is beautifully set out downstairs and we felt at home straight away helped by the high standard of the staff.
Dining was wonderful and there was no need to book a time so we were able to relax in one of the comfortable lounges with pre dinner drinks whilst staff came to us to take our orders.
Whilst our room was small it was enough for us as we relaxed after check in and were impressed when a request for fresh milk in the room was met without hesitation.
Our perfect experience was spoiled however by a poor night's sleep. Our mattress was very firm in the middle but sloped away at the sides and the pillows were far too soft for out liking.
We will definitely go back and will book in sufficient time to get a better room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordieboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for leaving a guest review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be of a high standard

I wondered if you might contact me directly to let me know what room you stayed in so we can investigate the bed and see if perhaps there is a fault we are unaware of. I can be reached by telephone on 01728 452312 or by email - james.wentworth@hotmail.com

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We live in Suffolk not too far away from Aldeburgh and quite often go to the Wentworth for a meal. We had booked a table for our favourite meal of the week the Sunday Roast for yesterday the 23rd March. When we arrived we were shocked to see so many people in the Hotel, it was just heaving and everybody was there for lunch. We immediately thought we would be in for a long wait to-day. There were many large tables for either Birthday Parties or
Anniversaries. The reason for this review is just to say a big Thank You and Congratulations to all the staff at the Wentworth who worked so hard to make everything run like clockwork. It was very impressive and the food was still of the very highest standard, presented to perfection and most importantly for me lovely and hot. We had three courses, our table was booked for 1.15 and we were out by 2.30 which was just great. Well done to you all. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your visit to our restaurant. We were indeed very busy on this day with over 90 lunches booked in the restaurant. We also serve food in the lounges and bar areas so the chefs and serving staff did very well to accommodate everyone.

I am delighted to hear that service was up to the usual standard and there were no delays on your meals, despite the large number of people.

I shall pass on your comments to all the staff and we hope to see you back at the hotel very soon

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lovely dog friendly hotel. Food excellent, service good, sea view room in great location. What more do you need!
Couldnot fault this weekend away. Thank you for hospitality.
Well worth a walk to Thorpeness if looking to fill lungs with fresh sea air.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne_2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Dogs are always welcome and hopefully feel at home too when they arrive.

The walk to Thorpeness is certainly popular and completed by many of our guests.

Your comments about the food and service are gratefully received and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

we have been going to the Wentworth for more than 20 years and the standard has never dipped. The management is always looking to making improvements, the staff are fantastic and the food is exceptional. There is no lift, but don't let that put you off. This is one of the best hotels for the price int the country.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We will work hard to ensure our standards are maintained and hope you continue to visit for many more years.

The hotel has five ground floor rooms and we are happy to help with luggage to get guests up to the higher floors.

Your comments are very kind and we hope to have you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Have stayed here once or twice a year for about 15 years now. Lovely independent hotel, professionally run and full of charm and character.
Rooms are well appointed. The extensive public areas are really really comfortable and lovely to spend time. Cosy bar with roaring fire in winter. Right on the coast so lovely I summer too.
The food is wonderful.

They are always improving the hotel, interesting updates etc which give or add even more character.

This is just how a weekend at the seaside should be!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are proud to be independent and the proprietor is still very active in the running of the hotel, especially in the updating/refurbishment program which you have mentioned

The fires in the milder months and the outside areas in the summer mean we have equal attraction to people all year round

We look forward to welcoming you back for your second stay of the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have been to the Wentworth many times - the only reason for doing a second review is that the set menu has altered. Whereas before you had a very wide selection of dishes the set menu is now lacking a lot of choice...so much so that when I ate there with friends recently I actually chose something off the main menu instead which of course worked out a lot more expensive.
The hotel itself is still lovely and the best part is sitting in the lounge areas after lunch and chatting over coffee. Just be prepared for a lack of choice if you choose the set menu which unforunately is also not shown on the website.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYLASS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_wentworth, General Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We think your visit to us must have been on a Saturday. This is the only day on which we have changed our menus recently. Our lunch menu during the week has been the same for nearly three years

We decided to offer the same menu on a Saturday as the rest of the week to give continuity. The set menu is actually cheaper than it would have been previously with at least three options per course offered in order to take advantage of our "2 courses for £13.00" promotion. The other items on the lunch menu are individually priced.

Our sample lunch menu is on our website in the 'Dine' section and then click on 'Our Menus'

We are glad you continue to enjoy the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,441 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
12.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Property: Wentworth Hotel
Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing