We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely, sunny seaside apartment with views”
other traveller has booked this property
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
A private area in the small courtyard to catch the morning sunshine Open plan living is great for all the family and friends
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
A private area in the small courtyard to catch the morning sunshine
Open plan living is great for all the family and friends
Superb 360 degree views from all the windows on the top floor
Fully equipped kitchen, all the utensils you will need,  and all in tip top condition !
Sunrise at Breakfast !  open the French doors, breathe the air and enjoy the wonderful views
Spacious comfortable lounge area, TV, DVD, Free Wi Fi, selection of games to play and films to watch
Double aspect twin bedroom, light and airy
The smallest twin room has plenty of space and is always the children's favourite!
En Suite shower room
The famous 16c Moot Hall viewed from the French Doors
Aldeburgh Lookout from the Moot Hall on the  Sea Front
Aldeburgh Lookout  fully fitted, DVD, 42 in TV, Hi Fi, BT fast Broadband
Twin Bedroom, Double aspect, large wardrobe, a lovely bright room early mornings
Open Plan Kitchen Dining area with French Doors overlooking the famous 16c Moot Hall and Sea
Entrance to courtyard and a secure place to park your  bikes and buggies
Private entrance to Aldeburgh Lookout and a secure place to park your  bikes and buggies
Looking back to The Lookout from the Beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aldeburgh, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JetStream...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely, sunny seaside apartment with views”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautifully maintained, spacious, airy apartment with fantastic light and great views of the sea, Moot House and the town of Aldeburgh. Within close walking distance of many good restaurants, cafes and interesting shops. Owners were friendly and helpful, and provided a very generous welcome basket of treats and essentials. Apartment was spotlessly clean, and all furnishings in very good, new condition. Kitchen very well equipped. One issue to keep in mind for elderly guests or those with mobility problems, is that the apartment has three sets of stairs from the front door on ground level to the living quarters on the top floor (hence the good views).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: great location, views, sunny aspect
Liked least: 3 sets of stairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay so , thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind comments it really is appreciated.
Hope your stay helped make your Birthday even more special.
Best Wishes, Lisa and Bob Smith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble_gi...
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with friendly hosts”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here for four days with three girlfriends in June. The location is absolutely fabulous with views onto the seafront, and the welcome hamper and milk and wine provided by the hosts was a delight.

The beds were extremely comfortable, and it was great to have two showers amongst four girls. The kitchen was well equipped and with a Co-op only a few mintues down the road we were able to do some self catering using the well equipped kitchen. They even had a sandwich press which meant I could have toasted cheese sandwiches whenever I wanted.

There is free parking within 50 yards of the accommodation, and there were lots of lovely restaurants along the high street, as well as a lovely ice cream shop with flavours such as rhubarb, and christmas pudding.

We would highly recommend The Regatta restaurant for dinner. They offer an excellent Spring menu served at lunchtime and before 7pm which was excellent value for money at £15 for 2 courses or £18 for 3 courses.

We also drove to Snape Maltings and walked one of the trails, and visited Thorpeness with its beautiful boating lake.

The hosts are lovely, and even though we did not meet them in person due to another engagement, they provided us with all the information we needed to make our stay a relaxed one.

Thank you Lisa and Bob - you guys do a great job!

i would highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Friendly hosts
Liked least: Minor problem with balcony door
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Aldeburgh Lookout.
Lisa and I are delighted to hear you had such a good time in Aldeburgh and we hope you will come for a return visit so we can meet and greet you in person.
Thanks again for taking the time to complete the review, much appreciated.
Very Best Wishes,
Bob and Lisa Smith, Proprietors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga K
1 review
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a great weekend with friends and were happy about the property. The sea was close so was the main street with restaurants. The owners were very helpful with their recommendations regarding things to do and the choice of the places to eat. Also we were very pleased to receive a welcome package with bottle of wine and basket of snacks. One small recommendation from us is to keep more useful household supplies, such as detergent for washing machine. Otherwise everything was great. The place is highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Our first guests from Moscow !

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are very pleased you all enjoyed your stay whilst visiting Aldeburgh during your visit to the UK.

Спасибо, мы надеемся, что однажды вы вернетесь !

Thank you once again,

Lisa and Bob Smith.
Proprietors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaynorM17
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment, even better than the photos!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My partner and I, and another couple stayed for three nights in mid May. The Lookout apartment, actually built across three floors if you include the lovely little patio downstairs, is superbly located, and furnished to a high standard — but the real winner is the beautiful double aspect living room (nice kitchen/dining area, comfy sofas). The photos really don't do it justice... The view across to the Moot Hall and the beach/fishing boats is stunning while on the other side you get a view up to the church. The light is wonderful (we did have excellent weather too!). We shall return... Oh, and you get a rather naughty (cake!) but delicious welcome pack!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we are very pleased you had such an enjoyable time and thank you for your very kind words, very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes, Lisa and Bob Smith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funkyeats
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful home from home with fantastic views”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful three night break at Aldeburgh Lookout. Lisa the friendly and helpful owner was there to welcome us and show us the beautiful property which was spotlessly clean and so well equipped. It had everything that you need in a self-catering property (loved the abundance of coat hangers which most places usually lack) and the yummy welcome box of goodies was a lovely surprise. The Lookout is so well situated - literally a stone's throw from the beach and in the mornings we enjoyed watching the fishing boats return to shore from the upper floor. My daughter (aged 10) loves the smoked sprats sold in one of the fishing sheds on the beach and she enjoyed these most mornings for breakfast. The fish from D Fryer (such a great name for a fisherman) was amazing and we were choosing our fish as he unloaded his catch - as the sign on one of the sheds says "anything fresher would still be swimming".

Three generations of our family enjoyed staying in Aldeburgh which has something for everyone - a little cinema, great shops, wonderful restaurants and a really friendly feel. Lisa had recommended pizzas from the pop-up place in the garden of The White Hart at the end of the High Street. She was right - they were delicious. We enjoyed wonderful walks and the location is great for exploring the wider local area. We had a fun time crabbing in Walberswick (you can pick up a crabbing line for a couple of pounds from the shops in Aldeburgh and some bacon for bait from the Co-op). We took our bags of 2p coins that Nanny had saved to Southwold Pier and had a fun couple of hours playing on the machines where you win tickets that you can exchange for little prizes. We also spent a lovely afternoon in Thorpeness which takes about 40 minutes to walk to along the beach. There we enjoyed a cream tea and a trip around the village on a pretty trap pulled by Molly the horse. The cupboard of games in the Lookout provided us with some fun nights. One evening we had the balcony doors open and there was even a choir practising on the beach - lucky us had live background music.

It was my in-laws first trip to Aldeburgh and they are already talking about going again next year. A few days in Aldeburgh feels like you have been away for ages and we have all returned home a few pounds heavier but full of happy memories. The Aldeburgh Lookout is a wonderful base for a brilliant holiday. Thank you Lisa xxx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay so much, thank you for your kind comments it really is appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon, come for a week next time ! Sincere Best Wishes, Lisa and Bob Smith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verity L
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fabulous weekend!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

An elegant yet comfortable and welcoming apartment in the lovely little seaside town of Aldeburgh. Immaculately clean and beautiful decor with a hamper of goodies to begin our weekend away - perfect!
The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could need and the bedrooms are very comfortable. There is also free wi-fi. A beautiful flat in a beautiful location, We can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and the positive review.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Aldeburgh Lookout.
Please do come back when you can, we are open all year !
Best Wishes,
Bob and Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
Gharb, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place, very comfortable and a great holiday destination”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I stayed here in January 2014 for one week and was very impressed with the quality, location and views from the property.
i would say this place is the number one place to stay if you want peace and quiet out of a hotel and the owners are also lovely and very helpful.
This is the number 1 place to stay in Aldeburgh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality, comfort and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope we may be of service again.
Lisa Smith, Proprietor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$187
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing