We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little find”
Review of The Railway Inn

The Railway Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aldeburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Aldeburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Me and my family stayed at the railway inn for the weekend and hired out all 3 rooms during our stay. All rooms where very lovely, the single was small but not a problem just more on the cosy side. All rooms had excellent power showers and where all very clean with crisp linen and a Delicous fry up was included. all staff where very welcoming and friendly and couldn't enough to help, very recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pig118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

It is good value but the single room is very small, no wardrobe just a few hooks on the wall. Very nice bed linen and soft towels.The "on street parking" was not available so I had to park in a nearby supermarket car park - not ideal! I also should have realised that a room in a pub would not be a quiet experience.

Room Tip: Check first that there is no live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Railway Inn for 1 night over the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend in June 2012 as we were attending a friends 50th Birthday celebration dinner in Aldeburgh. We arrived to find a clean and comfortable room, with a large shower and crisp white bed linen and towels. In the morning, we were treated to a lovely full english breakfast complete with tea and coffee and toast…most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stemp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for a weekend break.

Location
The B&B is a short walk into town and has good road links to the A12 and surrounding areas.

Railway Inn
The B&B area of the pub is very light and airy. There is separate access for the rooms if you didn’t want to go through the pub.
There isn’t a private car park so you park on the roadside. We never had an issue with getting a space outside the pub.

Room
We stayed in an en suite double room. The bed and linen was very comfortable and the shower was very good with toiletries provided. The room had a TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee facilities and adequate storage.

Food & Drink
We liked the pub and used the pool table, duke box and quiz machine.
A full English breakfast was included in the rate and there’s orange juice and cereal if you want it.
The breakfast was good with plenty of toast and tea & coffee.

Staff
The owners were very friendly and we felt relaxed during our stay.

Overall
We enjoyed our stay at the Railway Inn and thought Aldeburgh was a very nice place to visit. The B&B rate charged is good value for money and we would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were lucky to find this B&B in Aldebrugh as we were attending a wedding in Thorpeness just a couple of miles along the coast. This is your average tidy pub with a B&B upstairs. We were met with a warm welcome on arrival and given room keys and a front door key for access if we were back late. The room was clean and well decorated with a modern look. The en suite was compact but again modern with impressive fixtures and fittings and also had a power shower. Good tea & coffee facilites in the room too. The only downside was lack of a wardrobe or cloths rail but they had attempted to put up some hanging hooks on the wall.

Great breakfast in the morning and the managers were very attentive throughout including the e mail exchanges before booking.

All in all, for £65 inc breakfast you can't go wrong. I'd happily stay here again when in Aldeburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Condroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Nice place to stay, good breakfast. Not expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romagnolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stayed a Saturday night for a family celebration at The Brudenell. Didn't want to spend £300 for a compulsory two night stay so considered ourselves lucky to find The Railway for an extremely reasonable £65 for a double B&B with en suite power shower. The three letting rooms have been recently decorated and were very clean with good quality bed and bedding. It is a short walk into the town with nearby on street parking. A very nice full English breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pintof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aldeburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
698 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tirah Guest House
Tirah Guest House
#1 of 1 in Aldringham
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,534 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
The Butchers Arms Freehouse
#9 of 16 in Aldeburgh
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toll House
Toll House
#4 of 16 in Aldeburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Leiston Road, Aldeburgh, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Aldeburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Railway Inn Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing