We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the end of January for a 3 night break.We opted for the dinner,bed and breakfast option with a bottle of champagne ,very good value.
We were in Room 100 which was a deluxe room in the newly renovated building.The bathroom was very spacious with a bath and a separate shower.There was always loads of hot water, the toiletries were very nice and replenished throughout.The views are amazing,it was very wild and windy while we were staying.This room also has a small balcony big enough for 2 chairs which once renovated will be a great addition to the room.
Breakfasts were very tasty with a good variety on offer.The evening meals were super,sensible sized portions meaning you can enjoy all 3 courses.The desserts were superb!
Aldeburgh is a small town with a very relaxed feel to it and after a day walking and wandering on the East coast I would recommend the Hot Toddy served at the hotel and the Adnams Gin!
The only tip I would give is if you stay midweek in the winter when the restaurant is quieter take a warm cardigan or jumper with you!
All in all a very nice break.Thankyou.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Aldeburgh, we are very lucky to be positioned in one of the most beautiful spots on the east coast. I do hope you will make a return visit again, please stay in touch. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    287
    91
    14
    7
See reviews for
159
639
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Very plush,modern hotel,sat right on the beach,a short walk to shops.We went on 14th Aug unaware that this is the Aldeburgh carnival wkend so was busier than normal,if ur looking for a quiet break avoid this time.Hotel was very good,food lovely,had breakfast outside as weather was fab a wonderful view to the sea. The only downside was our room was a little small,once the travel cot was up not a lot of room,they could also do with some air cond. however I would recommend this hotel we really enjoyed our wend there.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I pleased to read you enjoyed the food and service during your stay with us. Come back and see us again at the Brudenell soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have just stayed at the hotel for a 2 night break, Saturday through to Monday. Really enjoyed the whole experience, staff were attentive and polite, food was served hot and was good.
Room was very nice and relaxing, we had room 303 - a sea view.
The weather outside was dreadful and well below freezing and hence and our room was a tad cool, but the room information told us that a heater was available if we wanted, we did and it was brought up in minutes - problem solved.
Aldeburgh is wonderful place to visit - the hotel just topped off a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatuscatusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent visit, I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay here in Aldeburgh despite the cold spell. As you said, the feel of the hotel and the town is something very special which continues to be so whatever the weather. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Birthday! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed at the Brudenell a couple of years ago for Christmas, and it was so good, we decided to come back. I simply could not fault a single aspect of our stay here. Our group included my year-old nephew (the youngest there) and my grandmother was probably the eldest (she's 90). The staff were helpful and attentive at all times to all of us -- including washing up my newphew's bowl after each meal! The service was second-to-none, the food was perfect (how they managed to serve that many Christmas dinners in one go, to that quality while keeping them warm is still beyond me). In short, we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oswaldicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Wow, thank you for your kind words. I have passed your feedback to the team. Stay in touch and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay, yes there were a few minor niggles but nothing major. The room was clean, tidy and very comfortable, if a little bit warm but there was a fan provided. It was disappointing that two of the main courses were sold out, but the steaks which we both had were good, we should have been offered steak knives, but we weren't, however the meat was tender enough, and we are adults we could have asked if we needed them.

The waitresses seem to work very hard, in the restaurant until late and then back early in the morning. It seems a shame that the menus need to have comments printed on them, apologising for any wait that might happen if they are busy, they must have had a lot if rude people in the past, there were even some there this weekend.

A couple of very nice touches, a birthday card and chocolates for me, and a bowl and a treat for the dog. Would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles-Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we resolved any issues on arrival that you may of experienced. We do hope you will return soon. best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highgate London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

First impressions - by phone, were disappointing. Following the on line instruction to quote 'Best available price', I was given a much higher room price then the one advertised on the website. If you are going to offer something, do it willingly or not at all. Kylie the receptionist did everything she could to put me off booking the best price room as it was 'next to the lift' and had a disabled bathroom with 'lots of handrails'! She succeeded and we did not book that - or any other room until we found the 'Winter blues offer'. This offered dinner bed and breakfast and champagne on arrival. We upgraded the room to a sea view and it was tastefully furnished and lovely and warm. The bathroom which was huge looked as if it had been modelled on a hospital elderly care ward. Handrails everywhere, a chord to pull in an emergency - it was all too NHS geriatric care. It had no warmth to it and was clinical.

We booked dinner in the restaurant at 8.30pm. Mistake! Best to 'book early'...the waiting staff were very efficient and friendly, telling us the fish had sold out. We therefore ordered duck and sirloin steak. By the time we had been served our starters, our waitress then told us - no duck and no sirloin, so could we choose something else! We complained to the restaurant manager who agreed that this was not satisfactory, and left it at that. We both ended up having the chicken which was salty and just OK. What sort of restaurant runs out of 3 of its 6 main courses by 8.30pm?

So - overall, nice room, clinical bathroom, friendly waiting staff but signs of poor management creeping in. Our stay was OK, but nothing more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterMister001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
I sincerely apologise for the experience you had with us recently. I have shared your comments with the team and to the staff member you have mentioned in particular so that we can organise training for this individual. The head chef and restaurant manager are also aware of this feedback and it has been acted on accordingly. We were extremely busy during your stay for the time of year, which led to the restaurant running out of the dishes you wanted to order. I do hope you will return to us soon, as this is not our usual standards we like to deliver to our guests. Please contact Kelly on 01728 452071 to discuss your stay with us in more detail, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our fourth stay, and by far the worst. The location saves it, as now the hotel is not what it used to be. The attention to detail , which used to be there has gone in my opion. The food is not as good overall, the service has slipped , and it seemed to be very poor in regard to value for money. Yes the views are great, but it needs a good manager to get a hold and return it to the class hotel it used to be. Don't think we will be going back, will try another hotel in Aldeburgh for our next visit. Shame!

Room Tip: The sea view is great , if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
I sincerely apologise for the experience you had with us recently. I have shared your comments with the team and to the staff member you have mentioned in particular so that we can organise training for this individual. The head chef and restaurant manager are also aware of this feedback and it has been acted on accordingly. We were extremely busy during your stay for the time of year, which led to the restaurant running out of the dishes you wanted to order. I do hope you will return to us soon, as this is not our usual standards we like to deliver to our guests. Please contact Kelly on 01728 452071 to discuss your stay with us in more detail, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
629 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
781 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing