We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Brudenell recently and had a great time. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic and I even had a personalised menu created by the chef, as I am a vegetarian. The sea was just outside our window and lulled us to sleep each night. The room we stayed in had a bathroom adapted for the disabled, it was huge, (my husband is a wheelchair user), and so it had plenty of room to manouvre around for him with all the usual grab rails etc., (203). We would highly recommend the Brudenell and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, ( more expensive), but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanjo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Brudenell. i am glad to see that you really enjoyed your stay. it was a pleasure meeting you on this visit and i hope that when you come back we will have made one or two of the adjustmens to the room that you suggested to make it meet your needs even further. hopefully the weather will improve for you too next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We recently had a 2 night stay in a deluxe sea view room (100).
It was very expensive (£300 per night), but you are paying for the location right on the sea front in a quiet spot. Besides, the room was definitely deluxe. Very big, with it's own lounge area, 4 piece suite, bigger than super king bed facing a large sea facing bay window, 26" LCD TV. Bathroom with shower and a bath. Whole room very clean, modern and tastefully fitted. And all the nice touches you expect for a room of this price.

The only problem we had was the building next door was being renovated (adjacent wall to our bedroom) so we were woken fairly early 7:30am with drilling and hammering. It wasn't a large place so work will most likely be completed quickly. However, without that noise, you'd be hard pressed to find such a peaceful setting. No road noise, hardly any human noise and just the sound of the waves.

Breakfast was nice with a good selection, and relaxed. We had evening meal one night, and again we thought the food was excellent and to a high standard. Nice modern restaurant well worth a visit even if you aren't a resident.

There is a small car park at the back for about 10 cars, in which we easily found space mid-week. Otherwise you can park on the lane directly in front of the hotel on the sea front for free (Crag Path). It's a dead end, so not busy, although I'm told in high season parking can be a challenge.

The restaurant, reception and housekeeping staff were all professional, friendly and happy, which is a good sign.

Great hotel, and we will stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thanks for the review it was good to see you had a great experience. Appologies for the early noise from next door builders this is very naughty of them had we known we would have spoken to them. You are right in thinking that the work will not go on long though thank goodness! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A great hotel, in a great location.
Friendly and helpful staff, great service.
We had a superb meal on Friday night and the obligatory fish and chips on the beach on Saturday.
The room couldn't be faulted beautiful views front and back.
The whole stay was totally relaxing, it was as though we'd been away for a week, we'll definitely go back, hopefully with friends.

Room Tip: Go for the superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

The team were really pleased to hear that everything was to your liking. thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

New Management and and a new era now it is a great hotel to stay and eat.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room with a sea view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Wow, Thanks very much glad to see your return was a success. it was lovely to have met you and i hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Was lucky to be treated to a 2 night stay in a Superior Sea view room.
We walked into a room that gave us both HUGE grins and a good start to our break.
The only thing between our view of the sea was the beach! Could not even see the road below.
Well decorated room although windows were very dirty but then it was right on the sea front so salt water was more to blame.
Breakfast menu was above the average and we had dinner in the restaurant on night one which was fab.
Best Gin/Vodka Tonics whilst waiting for out table and even a menu paying homage to the Gin and Tonic !
Bath was small but there was a double shower so a small minus.
Selection of wonderful toiletries, I am hooked so will have to google to find more .
Good hotel, lovely staff and good room.
Not cheap but then the view and location maybe deserve this

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moominmama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the G & T menu. We are currently paying homage to wimbledon by offering a strawberry infused one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a Superior room with a sea view! It was very spacious and clean room with stunning views from a large bay window. All the sitting areas and the restaurant also overlook the sea. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and I would defiantly recommend paying the extra money for the views!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for yor review. glad you enjoyed the views too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We booked this hotel for a one-night stay only a few days beforehand when the only had rear-facing rooms available; they did say that as it was our first visit they had a policy of upgrading us if a better room became available. I have to confess to thinking this was just talk but when we arrived they did indeed have an upgrade for us to a sea-view room. The sea itself is barely 100 yards from the hotel across a single lane road and although the North Sea is hardly the Southern Oceans the effect of just being able to watch the waves break and roll, and the fishing boats bobbing about is mesmerisingly relaxing.

Bar, restaurant and lounge are all positioned to give similarly great views of the sea and there is a veranda if sitting inside is not your thing, but the Suffolk Coast is not always a great place to go for the weather so be prepared.

The staff were very helpful and polite, and even at busy times at the bar they always let you know they knew you were waiting.

One very minor downside was that in our sea-view room the bath itself was quite short (and I'm of pretty average height), but given the whole experience to rate this as even a minor inconvenience would be churlish.

One very minor plus side is that mobile phone coverage is sporadic at best for at least 2 of the networks, some may complain about this (but even then it's hardly the hotel's fault) but I just thought it added to the relaxing effect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NKTNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Thank you for your review, I am glad to see that we exceeded your expectations and that we gave a good impression. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
837 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
24.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £128 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing