We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bru review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a superior room for a 3 night romantic stay. Everything was excellent. The food was a real high and the oysters and prawns especially were outstanding. The location is perfect and we had good weather which helped. We could not fault the hotel, in fact we could only praise it and the staff.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by an inland view room, ours was fantastic with the best bathroom view ever!! Get ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thanks for your review. We are relly pleased that you had an enjoyable stay here in Aldeburgh. Thanks also for passing on your room tip for others to benefit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Brudenell Hotel for a two night break earlier this week. On arrival we were very impressed with the overall appearance of the hotel and the stunning scenery. The staff were very welcoming but not overbearing. We stayed in the only room with a balcony and although it was on the side of the hotel we still had an amazing sea view and the room was beautiful. The decor throughout was very tastefully done. It was immaculately clean. The restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was out of this world. We couldn't pick a single fault with the hotel and we will definitely be making a return visit in the future. I would recommend this hotel to everyone as it caters for all.

Room Tip: Room 210 is the only room in the hotel with a balcony and in my opinion by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you for your glowing review, it is lovely to see that we delivered in all aspects of your stay. I will pass on your gratefully recieved feedback to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have always wanted to stay in Aldeburgh as it was a favourite place to visit with my family when I was a child. My father recommended the Brudenell. The hotel lived up to our expectations. The staff were attentive without being pushy. The food was excellent, our room was lovely. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

You are most welcome. We are all pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that we lived up to you expectations. Many thanks for staying at the Brudenell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I booked a short break for my husband & myself and made sure that everywhere was wheelchair friendly.We had a sea view room with a big bathroom and room for his wheelchair and frame. We also booked an electric scooter so that we could go out and about in Aldeburgh. This was stored in the Basement and was delivered and collected by a local firm. The service and cleanliness were first class and the food was delicious and varied. We were very happy and relaxed after our short stay and would love to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your vist to the Brudenell. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to do everything that you wanted. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We chose the hotel on its location, and other reviews. We did not regret our choice! While the building is that of a traditional seaside hotel, there is nothing old fashioned about the standards of catering, and in particular staff training. The attention to detail was obvious, and clearly management and staff are not complacent. Staff are not merely doing what they are told: a combination of good recruitment and excellent training must be involved as they are always friendly and keen to get it right. The hotel was to all intents full, but the strain didn’t show in service or on the faces of the staff.

The food was not over-complicated, and was a real pleasure. The restaurant is wisely used by resident guests, but is obviously also seen as an excellent venue for non-residents.

We had a “superior, sea view” room, which was fortuitous on the hottest day of the year, as it faced east and had windows that open. Higher floors on the other side would have pleasant views past the fringes of the town towards open countryside, but might have been too warm in the intense sun. (The bedrooms are not air conditioned.) In poorer weather, or at other times of the year, this would not be an issue.

The hotel has 2 car park areas, but these were full on our arrival mid afternoon, as were the few spaces on-street in front. To use the latter, one must either reverse in or out, maybe 80 yards down a narrow road that is a bit like a promenade for pedestrians.

If headed that way, we would undoubtedly stay there again, and look forward to it!

Room Tip: See review re sea view or otherwise in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cotsmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

What can we say? Wow. Thanks for the fantastic review which represents everything we are striving to acheive. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Booked as a last minute birthday treat for my husband. Room and staff were excellent. The only thing that the let hotel down slightly was the service in the bar and restaurant. The restaurant was a bit slow and, on our first night the bar seemed a bit chaotic. The barman, although charming, didn't know how to make an ordinary Margharita (tho he could make a pomegranite one) and had run out of bacardi. However, he got there in the end and we went back into the bar on our second night, so it can't have been too bad! Special mention for the toiletries - lovely!!!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonlymrsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for your review and comments they are appreciated. We do have an extensive cocktail menu (although we are not a cocktail bar really) and our new barman Josh is working on his repertoire! I am sure the next time you visit he will be able to make you a great Margerita. I am glad that you liked the toiletries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is our fifth stay at The Brudenell with our 5 year old son. We absolutely love it - the rooms (we have stayed in a double through to the deluxe sea view), the service, the outstanding food (good selection of local produce and good portions) and excellent location. Very family friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyRed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

That is lovely to hear thank you very much. We are pleased to see that you enjoy the hotel and are obviously a fan of Aldeburgh! Thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,519 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
837 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
24.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £127 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing