We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of the Brudenell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“review of the Brudenell”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day break here. We had a deluxe room with sea view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room fantastic, very clean and the most comfortable bed and pillows we have experienced at any hotel. Food was really very good and service fantastic.
Unable to fault this hotel in any way, which is very rare indeed.

Room Tip: Hotel in generally very quiet but the deluxe sea view although quite expensive is well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
That is great for the team to hear. Thank you for your kind comments. We have recently added a luxury mattress topper and new feather pillows to every bed in the hotel that, combined with beds from mattison beds that are locally manufactured, gives a real luxury comfort. i enjoyed the combination so much I bought them for my home too ! Glad you enjoyed your stay and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    295
    97
    14
    7
See reviews for
164
656
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We felt the room was vastly overpriced for the size.

Booked as a wedding anniversary treat, but we couldn't help being disappointed with our room. It was a sea view room but not a deluxe one. It was very small for a double with very little floor space for two people. There was an extractor fan/ventilation shaft on the roof above, which ran all day and all night and was very noisy. We had to leave the window open all night because the room was so hot, and have a fan on all night which made it difficult to sleep. The toilet was difficult to flush, and there was an occasional mild smell of bad drains coming from the en suite.

On the plus side, it had nice modern seaside style decor and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thankyou for your review. I am sorry to hear that there were aspects of your room that you felt did not meet expectations, thanks we appreciate your feedback . Please do feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this further. I hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel so that you would be happpy to return. Regards Garth Wray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a superior room for a 3 night romantic stay. Everything was excellent. The food was a real high and the oysters and prawns especially were outstanding. The location is perfect and we had good weather which helped. We could not fault the hotel, in fact we could only praise it and the staff.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by an inland view room, ours was fantastic with the best bathroom view ever!! Get ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thanks for your review. We are relly pleased that you had an enjoyable stay here in Aldeburgh. Thanks also for passing on your room tip for others to benefit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Brudenell Hotel for a two night break earlier this week. On arrival we were very impressed with the overall appearance of the hotel and the stunning scenery. The staff were very welcoming but not overbearing. We stayed in the only room with a balcony and although it was on the side of the hotel we still had an amazing sea view and the room was beautiful. The decor throughout was very tastefully done. It was immaculately clean. The restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was out of this world. We couldn't pick a single fault with the hotel and we will definitely be making a return visit in the future. I would recommend this hotel to everyone as it caters for all.

Room Tip: Room 210 is the only room in the hotel with a balcony and in my opinion by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your glowing review, it is lovely to see that we delivered in all aspects of your stay. I will pass on your gratefully recieved feedback to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have always wanted to stay in Aldeburgh as it was a favourite place to visit with my family when I was a child. My father recommended the Brudenell. The hotel lived up to our expectations. The staff were attentive without being pushy. The food was excellent, our room was lovely. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
You are most welcome. We are all pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that we lived up to you expectations. Many thanks for staying at the Brudenell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I booked a short break for my husband & myself and made sure that everywhere was wheelchair friendly.We had a sea view room with a big bathroom and room for his wheelchair and frame. We also booked an electric scooter so that we could go out and about in Aldeburgh. This was stored in the Basement and was delivered and collected by a local firm. The service and cleanliness were first class and the food was delicious and varied. We were very happy and relaxed after our short stay and would love to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your vist to the Brudenell. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were able to do everything that you wanted. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We chose the hotel on its location, and other reviews. We did not regret our choice! While the building is that of a traditional seaside hotel, there is nothing old fashioned about the standards of catering, and in particular staff training. The attention to detail was obvious, and clearly management and staff are not complacent. Staff are not merely doing what they are told: a combination of good recruitment and excellent training must be involved as they are always friendly and keen to get it right. The hotel was to all intents full, but the strain didn’t show in service or on the faces of the staff.

The food was not over-complicated, and was a real pleasure. The restaurant is wisely used by resident guests, but is obviously also seen as an excellent venue for non-residents.

We had a “superior, sea view” room, which was fortuitous on the hottest day of the year, as it faced east and had windows that open. Higher floors on the other side would have pleasant views past the fringes of the town towards open countryside, but might have been too warm in the intense sun. (The bedrooms are not air conditioned.) In poorer weather, or at other times of the year, this would not be an issue.

The hotel has 2 car park areas, but these were full on our arrival mid afternoon, as were the few spaces on-street in front. To use the latter, one must either reverse in or out, maybe 80 yards down a narrow road that is a bit like a promenade for pedestrians.

If headed that way, we would undoubtedly stay there again, and look forward to it!

Room Tip: See review re sea view or otherwise in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotsmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
What can we say? Wow. Thanks for the fantastic review which represents everything we are striving to acheive. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,442 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing