We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spur of the moment stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spur of the moment stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We phoned up one morning, very last minute, during half term asking for a family room. The staff were very helpful and offered us two adjoining rooms. They explained that these rooms do not have a view of the sea, were in the basement but had interconnecting doors. We were fine with this as it was so last minute. On arrival we were shown to our rooms which were in our own little annex. The main bedroom was large and roomy with french doors which led out onto a little patio area. The other room was large and had a door which led directly out onto the street (you could only get out, not in).Both rooms had large en suite bathroom.We were extremely pleased with our accommodation. We ate in the restaurant, which had a good menu and the food was lovely. Great location with lovely views of the sea. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: as a family with two teenagers, we liked the privacy of our little "annex" downstairs rm 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddRhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review it sounds as if you had a very enjoyable, albeit last minute, vist to the Brudenell and Aldeburgh. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    298
    100
    14
    7
See reviews for
165
662
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed in room 104, which was delightful with a wonderful sea view. The room was very light and airy with lots of character and tasteful decor. The bed was very comfortable and the bathrobe and slippers were a nice touch. The lounge was pleasant,, bright and homely and sitting by the windows made for a relaxing people watching session. The shortbread is highly recommended!

The reception staff were very friendly and efficient without being intrusive. The lift was very slow and the corridors to the rooms were extremely hot.

We dined in the restaurant and this is where the hotel is being let down. We waited a long time before someone appeared to confirm our reservation. On being seated we were given menus and our orders were taken in a reasonable amount of time. However having asked for a bottle of wine and olives prior to our starters our waitress had to come back twice to double check our order. By the time she came appeared with our wine we were half way through our starters and by the time the olives arrived we were finished with our starters. Our starters were on the cold side and the hollandaise could have been a little more acidic. The main courses arrived promptly and were both warm and tasty! Despite our poor experience with the service in the restaurant we would still return to The Brudenell, it was a warm and friendly place to stay and there is much to do in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Room 104 is wonderful, it has a sea view which is worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenofThebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your visit to us. I am pleased to see that generally you enjoyed your visit. I have followed up your comments regarding difficulties in the restaurant with our food & beverage manager who has taken up you comments with his team i apologise that we didnt quite get things right for you on the night but I hope this does not put you off for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We were on a bike trip, and had been let down by a pub in Orford but we were lucky enough to get a room at the Brudenell, even though it meant cycling a further 12 miles! It was a lovely room and great food in the restaurant. They also had a locked corridor/store room where we put our bikes. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Lovely view from room 111 (not a sea view but lovely non the less) but this room did seem overly hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazraline123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Pleased we could be of service, I hope you enjoyed your bike trip and that we were worth the extra mileage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stopped here one night on a tour, we were upgraded to a premium room with sea view and small lounge.
Well furnished and decorated, premium toiletries, bath and shower. Rooms very clean and exactly what you would expect of a hotel at this price point.
We ate dinner elsewhere however the restaurant menu appeared superb and the location right by the beach could hardly be better. The lounge bar service had a varied selection of beers and quality wines.
Far from cheap but this was half term in Aldeburgh but worth it - recommended for a summer weekend.

Room Tip: Select a seaview room - will cost a little more but better than the view over Aldeburgh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Brudenell and would like to thank you for choosing the Brudenell, Aldeburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Previously, we have had a bad experience or too at The Brudenell, but we have re-visited three times in the last year and found it to be exceptionally good. The rooms are spotless, the food extremely good and twice they have upgraded us after booking. The staff, rather surly when we visited 10 or so years ago, are very friendly and attentive, and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. My only minor complaint it that we find some of the rooms rather hot, even in the winter, and the windows do not open that wide, so it can be difficult to ventilate if, like us, you like fresh air. However, pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you feel the hotel has improved since your last vist and particularly that you found the team attentive and engaging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Lovely rooms decorated in a very homely style - made a lovely change from the bland hotel look. The staff are friendly, the restaurant has beautiful views of the sea front and the food is quite good. The only real disadvantage is the tiny car parking area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks for the review glad you enjoyed the Brudenell and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my grans 90th birthday celebrations with all the family and enjoyed the best weekend ever

Thank you so much to all the staff they were outstanding
Food was excellant

The whole weekend will carry many memorioes for us all

Thank you

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Brudenell,Aldeburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,451 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing