We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked a last minute weekend break. Went as a family holiday with our two young girls (6 and 4). It's been a few years since we last stayed at the Brudenell and it was every bit as good as we remembered. The staff are incredibly helpful including the reception staff who has sorted us out a room at very short notice. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable and although due to the lateness of our booking we couldn't get a sea view room that didn't matter at all. Food is top rate. The sea bass and sole we had for dinner was cooked perfectly. But the best thing is the location. Being right on the beach was perfect for our girls. Will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
It sounds as if you had a great stay thank you for coming and for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    287
    91
    14
    7
See reviews for
159
639
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for the Thorpeness Marmalade Ball and very impressed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, including the lovely guy who served us drinks on the terrace at 1am!!! Great room overlooking the sea, listening to the waves crash onto the shore, bed and pillows very comfy, very clean room and was great to take Roxy the dog who had a water bowl and doggy treat from room service. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had in the UK, all fresh produce and served hot by happy staff. The walls were paper thin so we were woken early but that made us make the most out of the beach. Walking distance into the town so excellent location. Very happy that there is no mobile signal in Aldeburgh so no phone distractions for an entire weekend! Bliss! Was rather shocked at the price of the room, but the view was amazing and we loved it. Would definitely recommend a visit. We went to the Wentworth hotel for a drink but it seemed a bit old fashioned in comparison to the Brudenell. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the area, great weekend!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great. Room 106 had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RippedOff144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Glad to see you had an enjoyable stay and visit to Aldeburgh. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the Tripadvisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The second time my family and I have stayed at this hotel and we have been overwhelmed by the friendliness on both occasions. Reception and waiting staff unceasingly helpful. Decor pleasant, bright and very simple which, though not usually my cup of tea, blends perfectly with the location - literally 5 yards from the beach. Fabulous breakfasts and great food all round. Seaview room was large and nicely appointed with a stunning open view. My only vague complaint is that it was a little hot during the night and I could only open the windows a fraction - a safety measure which could be rectified by allowing the top rather than bottom sash to open more widely... A trufle in the broad picture and Will definitely be returning for a third time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonmaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review we appreciate your feedback. We will look into the window situation as all of the tops of the windows should open all the way down, thank you for pointing this out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had the most wonderful time here during the week. The beds are so comfortable you just won't want to get up.

The rooms are cleaned immaculately, spacious and tastefully decorated. Large bathroom and plenty of hot water.

Dinner is exceptional. Great presentation, quality, taste and piping hot dishes. The chef and his team should be very proud.

Onto breakfast... Again amazing. Such a good choice of dishes and of great quantity. Definitely set us up for the day.

The staff are all very friendly. Lovely welcome from Kelly on check in and kairi in the lounge. In fact everyone was very pleasant and helpful.

The option to dine on the terrace was lovely especially with the sun shining.

Aldeburgh itself is a great place to get away from everything. The only negative was the rain on the main day of our stay but this will give us a good excuse to return again shortly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Wow, what a lovely review thank you very much. it seems that the team have done a great job of looking after you this is great to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a two night stay at The Brudenell, and it was excellent. The hotel is very modern, and the room we had, although small, was very comfortable. The location is right on the seafront of this pleasant little seaside town, and we had the luxury of having a fabulous breakfast overlooking the beach. The staff were pleasant and welcoming, but needed a little prompting at times to take your order for drinks. The hotel car park is extremely small, but there is a free car park about a minute's walk from the hotel. Hotel Wifi worked very well, but no or little phone signal at ground level. We look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review, feedback whether good or bad is always appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

wonderful location rooms overlooking sea
sound of the sea lovely and wonderful sunrise witnessed from our bed
friendly staff all working so well as a team and very hard
hotel rooms too expensive particularly as we spent same amount of money for 3 nights in spain with flights
will look out for deals next time as would return

Room Tip: sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Not quite sure about the title of your review please feel free to get in touch with me if you want to elaborate as I would be pleased to hear from you. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. August is a peak time for the hotel and Aldeburgh in general but do look out for special offers on our website as our prices vary according to demand for our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Brudenell hotel is fantastic in every way: rooms, staf, view, surroundings. But, if you need to be available through mobile, Aldebrugh is not the place to stay. Just terrible, sms can work sometimes if you search the right place, but never calls. And wifi also only works in some (1?) areas of the hotel and not all the time. In my case that was the most important thing as the purpose of my journey was to be available to my daughter being on a camp an hours drive away. I wish I had checked before booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but it is a shame that this review scores us on the fact that mobile phone signal is bad in Aldeburgh? this is not something we have any control over. The wifi issue you refer to is actually a broadband issue that the whole of Aldeburgh suffers there simply is not a good exchange in Aldeburgh. Our Wifi is state of the art and was upgraded via complete system replacement last year. I respectfully request you to reconsider your scoring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
629 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
781 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing