We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. I travelled with my husband on business, we stay in lots of hotels and this is one of the best. Beautiful location, the room was gorgeous, with a fabulous sea view. Staff were so welcoming and helpful, we had drinks on the terrace and decided to eat in the restaurant when we saw how busy it was. The food was superb, really excellent standard and the wines too. I can honestly say it was faultless, rare these days! and we will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Our room was a deluxe with a sea view, and what a view! Well worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millonthefloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you very much for such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

made my ooking by phone because of my special needs , fom this first contact with james on reception to finally leaving with the assistance of pete the porter, it was a total delight

we used the restaurant all 3 nights , good food choice and cooked to our requirements
the staff service was superb, all waiters knew their jobs and performed them with great aplomb.they were attentive without being overbearing. S ome hotels go from one extreme of total disinterest while other hotels waiters ask every 5 minutes if things are ok. brudenell staff know the right level of service.
sevice at the bar or on the terrace during the afternoon was to the same high level
summary great comfortable hotel staffed by an excellent group of people, well done to all
,

Room Tip: the usual way thell staff what your requirements are and they will advise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodhallspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review we are pleased to see that you had some really positive experiences with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great hotel with helpful staff, good restaurant/bar and lovely rooms, all with good views [I think]. Excellent location in picturesque, and different, resort. Town, amazingly, seemed to have only one chain restaurant and no chain cafes!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damianb239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

In the UK, we have a number of delightful seaside towns, but nearly all of them have the basic dilemma of how to get people to spend time in them if the weather is so unpredictable. Some larger towns like Blackpool or Brighton have a buzz about them, which counterracts this. However, many smaller towns have a peculiarly dated feel about them, still looking like the 1950s, an era when foreign travel hadn't lured their clientele away. The same goes for hotels. Even after redecoration, many have a 'hotel style' to them which defies any period and restricts the market for them. So, it was a real treat to find one that bucked the trend.
Most British seaside towns have a road running along the front with hotels behind it, but not so Aldeburgh. The High street is one road back, and the best view of the sea is had by a somewhat unpreposessing collection of houses and a few hotels. The Brudenell is one of those. Book a seafront room and you will have the most amazing view when you open the curtains in the morning. But, to me, the great thing about the Brudenell is that it's decorated in a modern style, which complements its position, which certainly made me choose this hotel above the others in the town. It's also the case that many hotels have a regime based upon the timetables of the staff, rather than the customer, so if you turn up at, say, five minutes past three in the afternoon, the restaurant is closed and you have to go out to get something to eat. The Brudenell offers great food - I raise you a Chicken breast with Herb Gnocchi and a Ham and Pea Fricassee - and all day dining. And, if the weather is hot - as it was when we went - you can eat outside on a very mediterranean-feeling terrace.
I'd strongly advise to take a Luxury Package, which seems to offer much more than its constituent parts. Sea Front room (Pity none of them have balconies), Afternoon tea on arrival, A bottle of Chilled Prosecco in the room, Three course dinner (you just pay for the wine) and Breakfast the next day. I expected there to be a surcharge because I chose the lobster for dinner, but I was wrong. In short, I spent a great two days and would go back in a trice.
A few niggles which I mention in the spirit of suggesting improvements rather than a great criticism. Firstly, the 'face' of any hotel is its Reception. At the moment, there are two ways of getting in to the hotel: along the glorious sea front or the rather narrow street at the back, and the reception favours that side. Since most people favour the former, I would move the reception to the sea-side so that you could welcome your guests every time they come in. Frequently, we would walk in off the beach and straight to the lifts without passing any member of staff. Secondly, parking. There's a big council car park just along the promenade, which starts charging at 0830, so you have to go to the car to put a ticket on. Why doesn't the hotel rent some spaces off the council and offer parking as a (payable) extra? Apparently, there is a car park underneath the hotel, but it was never offered to us and is a little compact space-wise. Thirdly, as you're a 4-star hotel, how about a minibar in each room? I don't know what the economics are of this (presumably reflected in the priing system), but this has been a brilliantly warm summer and the ability to have a cold drink in the room would have been much appreciated, not to say the absolute pleasure of a small jug of fresh milk for the tea and coffee instead of the plastic capsules.
Lastly, the staff are very willing and pleasant (not a given by any means), but lack that professional zip that would make a difference. Two examples: when we came on to the terrace, the one waitress concentrated on clearing tables rather than serving us immediately. Maybe they'd just read tdp16's review below which complained about tables being left uncleared for half an hour. Somebody came on to the terrace after us and were served before us (a good waiter will always know their tables). The member of staff then disappeared (presumably to enter the order onto the computer) before coming back to serve us. Could she not have taken our order at the same time? Oh, I know it's not the end of the world, but I find it slightly annoying. Example two: it was one of the hottest days of the year (end of July 2013) and as the windows only opened a small amount we phoned down to reception to ask whether they had a fan. 'I'm sure we do sir' (good), 'I'll ask the turn down staff to get one up to your room when they come in at 6' (not so good). 'But it's 3 o'clock now and we're really hot' 'OK, sir, I'll see what I can do' (good, again). We boiled in our room for an hour, by which time it was time for afternoon tea. When we went down, there was a fan sitting at reception. 'Is that for Room 102?', I asked. 'Yes, sir, do you want to take it back?' (not so good, verging on bad).

Room Tip: Seaside room every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoffram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Many thanks for your review and your suggestions of things we could do to improve some of your niggles I take your comments on board and we will endeavour to deal with those niggles via training and developing the team.

We do not have minibars in our rooms but we do offer a far more customer friendly room service of our entire bar and our entire restaurant menu in the room which gives a far superior product than can be provided from a mini bar. We do leave mini milk pods with our tea and coffee facilities for convenience however in our room directory as well as with the tea facility we do say that we are happy to bring you fresh milk.

We do not have any underground parking at the hotel which is why this facility was not offered and I am unsure why you thought we had this facility. We do have our own car park and have some undercover bays in the garage opposite the hotel as well as spaces along the seafront.

I take on board your comments about the positioning of reception and whilst we may decide to move this at some point it is located for the convenience of guests entering from both sides of the hotel, the majority of our guests arrive from the road side of the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed in Aldeburgh as we were going to the centenary festival at Thorpeness and this hotel looked the best on the internet. Looking round Aldburgh and Thorpeness, i think that this is the most modern and was fully refurbished in 2010 to a very high standard. As with many sea front hotels the main entrance is the back of the hotel which looks a bit unappealing but don’t be put off. The hotel is right on the sea front, literally, with only a narrow roadway from the sea wall to the shingle beach.

We took my partners parents with us and so we had 2 rooms both with sea views and big bay window. They were finished to a high standard with bath, separate shower and good quality sanitary-ware with white tiling and a brightly coloured feature wall. The bedroom had a good size bed, settee and 2 chairs and a table, all good quality and comfortable, shame the television didn’t work but we didn’t really need one anyway.

We had lunch on the terrace and as the sun shone it was glorious drinking a cold pint of beer. Unfortunately when we ordered there wasn’t any fish due to late delivery but after we had ordered it did arrive and so others around us did get there’s.

The reception staff were very helpful as were the bar staff. We found the waitresses a bit lacking, it seemed that they were under staffed as others were complaining about the time taken to get their food although we were fine. It doesn’t look good if plates are left for half an hour after the people have left and the new customers have to ask for them to be moved.

It was a shame that there was a fire alarm just as we were going to leave which meant we were delayed by an hour but that’s not the hotels fault. They would find it better if someone just updated people what was going on and likely timings. I appreciate that they don’t always know but just tell people how it is.

All that said, if we stay in Aldeburgh again we would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 201 and our Parents stayed in 107. Both had fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the brudenell I am glad to see that overall it was a positive experience. I am sorry that we had a fire scare this was due to a lift brake being stuck and creating smoke something we rectified as soon as possible with a lift engineer. I apologise that we were unable to get you back into the building more quickly however whenever there is an incident like this we are entirely in the hands of the fire brigade as they make this decision not us. Once back in the building and everything declared safe we did our best to make sure everyone received complimentary teas and coffees. I am just glad it wasn't anything more serious and that all went to plan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Booked a last minute weekend break. Went as a family holiday with our two young girls (6 and 4). It's been a few years since we last stayed at the Brudenell and it was every bit as good as we remembered. The staff are incredibly helpful including the reception staff who has sorted us out a room at very short notice. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable and although due to the lateness of our booking we couldn't get a sea view room that didn't matter at all. Food is top rate. The sea bass and sole we had for dinner was cooked perfectly. But the best thing is the location. Being right on the beach was perfect for our girls. Will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

It sounds as if you had a great stay thank you for coming and for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for the Thorpeness Marmalade Ball and very impressed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, including the lovely guy who served us drinks on the terrace at 1am!!! Great room overlooking the sea, listening to the waves crash onto the shore, bed and pillows very comfy, very clean room and was great to take Roxy the dog who had a water bowl and doggy treat from room service. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had in the UK, all fresh produce and served hot by happy staff. The walls were paper thin so we were woken early but that made us make the most out of the beach. Walking distance into the town so excellent location. Very happy that there is no mobile signal in Aldeburgh so no phone distractions for an entire weekend! Bliss! Was rather shocked at the price of the room, but the view was amazing and we loved it. Would definitely recommend a visit. We went to the Wentworth hotel for a drink but it seemed a bit old fashioned in comparison to the Brudenell. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the area, great weekend!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great. Room 106 had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RippedOff144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Glad to see you had an enjoyable stay and visit to Aldeburgh. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the Tripadvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,514 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
835 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
24.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range: £140 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing