We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish modern hotel with excellent restaurant in delightful town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stylish modern hotel with excellent restaurant in delightful town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our 3-night autumn break this week at the Brudenell Hotel was a sheer delight. The old style building exterior has a stylish modern interior and our de-luxe rooms overlooking the North Sea were large and well equipped in every way including comfortable sette, separate double width separate shower and a large bath. The daily replenishment of a large bottle of still and sparkling water was much appreciated as well as complimentary newspapers. By the time we returned from breakfast the room had been serviced but I guess this level of service could not be expected.

All the staff were really friendly, intelligent and relaxed and certainly not from the "have a nice day" mould.

The 2 AA Rosette restaurant provided excellent food with a balanced selection of choices in all courses. Breakfast was equally enjoyable so full marks to James-Head Chef and his team. One minor suggestion - Could the cooked breakfast menu include both porridge and a main breakfast dish?

We enjoyed half a dozen different wines which were all value for money including some from the new wine list and bin ends.

It would be good to experience this hotel in different seasons and maybe we shall have the opportunity in the future as Aldeburgh is a lovely town with interesting shops and outlets.

Thanks for a most enjoyable visit to everyone at the Brudenell

Room Tip: Clearly a sea view if you can afford it and a de luxe room if you want to enjoy a pampered stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comprehensive review of your experiences with us it is great to hear that you had a good time. I have addressed that the porridge appears on the from the kitchen selection as I agree this does seem silly and it seems that it has been moved since we re imaged the restaurant menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    285
    92
    14
    7
See reviews for
158
638
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really loved this hotel, with amazing sea views from almost every vista.

We splashed out on a suite that was great to sip bubbles and watch the world go by in the bay window. It was a little pricey for what it was but it was well appointed, sofa, white gowns, tea and coffee etc. Modern and clean.

The position of the Hotel is tucked a way on a quiet spot on the beach. The reception staff were great and gave a good service. Food at the restaurant was of a good quality (but not outstanding) but great for seafood lovers like me. The service could be a little better for this level of restaurant though (If I was being picky).

Would also suggest the afternoon teas in the lounge overlooking the sea if you are up this end of the Aldeburgh beach and want to relax out of the wind :)

I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Brudenell is such a beautiful hotel, in location and luxury. We have stayed twice when meeting up with family from London. Whatever the weather you are guaranteed an amazing stay. Luxurious comfy bedrooms and delicious locally sourced food will ensure value for money. Suffolk is such a beautiful county and this area is my favourite . A stay at The Brudenell is such a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We are all glad to see that you feel we are comfortable and that you enjoy the food. thanks for coming back and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in room 104. Large bay window overlooking the sea and a huge, very comfortable bed. My mobility is limited so I was happy to spend a lot of time watching the sea, which was very calm when I arrived but had completely changed to crashing waves by the time I left. Lovely to watch it during all it's moods. My room was large and very well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities which were always kept well stocked. Hotel staff are all very friendly and welcoming, attentive but not intrusive. The standard of cleanliness is excellent and the food is of a really high standard. I'm really looking forward to returning next year and have already booked same room same week!

Room Tip: The sea views are wonderful and well worth the extra price, as long as you enjoy the sound of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 395merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review the team and I are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your four nights with us here in Aldeburgh. Those crashing waves really are mesmerising aren't they!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Brudenell a number of times and never been disappointed. This time was no exception. It is not cheap but our room overlooking the sea was well worth it. My only quibble is that at Sunday lunch the service was very slow. On the other hand, the food was terrific.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jt1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you are a fan of the hotel and I hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I used to go to the Brudenell before it was renovated and priced itself slightly out of our price range. So I was very pleased when my husband booked this hotel for my 60th birthday celebration. A sea view room is a must in this hotel, they are lovely and the sound of the sea lulling you to sleep is brilliant. The food was first class the Bouillabaisse was delicious as was the lamb. The breakfasts were well cooked and tasty. But most of all the stay was enhanced by the attentive staff who always looked cheerful and interested. My stay at the Brudenell helped lessen the pain of turning 60, thanks a lot, you all did good.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is really a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthNorfolklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
It was our pleasure to have been given the opportunity to be part of a milestone celebration and to help to make the occasion memorable for you. I am personally very pleased to hear your glowing feelings about our team. Many thanks for choosing the Brudenell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were attending a wedding nearby. The hotel is in a beautiful location on the beachfront. Our room was a little expensive but I'm sure that this is because the hotel is so close to the sea and is so well presented. The staff were welcoming, polite and helpful. Our room was clean, smart, comfortable and had everything we needed. Loved the funky bathroom tiles! It was a little on the small side but it didn't worry us. We ate lunch and breakfast there in the lovely restaurant which had sea views. My first thought was lunch looked a little expensive but the quality of the food was well worth it. Breakfast was included and delicious! I cannot wait to return to Aldeburgh and stroll along the beach and look in the lovely little shops! I will definitely stay here when I do return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma_burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review we really appreciate your endorsement. We are all happy to have made a memory for you and hope to be able to do so again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
8.9 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing