We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for one night D,B &B. We booked one of the deluxe sea view rooms, and it was wonderful.
Large room, with lovely bay window overlooking the beach and sea, fabulous view to wake up to!
It was clean, warm and had everything we needed. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with emphasis on local good quality produce. Service was very good, staff friendly & helpful. All in all I would highly recommend a stay at the Brudenell, we intend to return, but only if we can book the deluxe room, its worth paying the extra for! If I had to find anything negative to say it would be not to bother ordering the chocolates in your room on arrival. I ordered champagne and chocolates for my husbands birthday, chocolates were six lindt lindor truffles in cellophane bag, I was hoping for something a bit more special but saying that we did enjoy them! Champagne was lovely!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and book the large deluxe sea view room, sit in the armchair in the bay window for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DippyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback and very positive comments about your stay. It is great to hear that the team looked after you well. I will look into your comments regarding the chocolates they are actually Hotel Chocolat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    300
    102
    15
    7
See reviews for
169
668
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We took advantage of a Sunday night offer for 2 with D,B&B. We could not fault the hotel. The Aldeburgh room, without sea view, was large and with full facilities. The hotel throughout was clean and bright and the staff were polite and helpful. Both breakfast, with full choice, and extensive evening meal menu were delicious, hot and well presented. Afternoon cream tea was a meal in itself so beware.

Room Tip: No sea view is not a problem in the winter. Great views from the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
I t is really pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us and particularly that you felt that the team were helpful and polite. I hope that you return soon to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Modern hotel situated on sea front overlooking beach.Front bedrooms have unrestricted sea views.Very clean.
Light and airy bedrooms with large double glazed windows.
Restaurant with sea views serving an excellent breakfast with a large choice of food.
Bar open most of the day.Bar meals available with good choice.
Good service from staff.Very friendly.
Note restaurant very popular with non staying customers popping in and out.
Lounge seating area very limited in space to say size of hotel.
Car parking at a premium.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view executive rooms.Plenty of room with separate seating area and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thanks very much for your summary of your visit. Glad to see that everything seemed to have been positive for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants.uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

we stayed overnight, from checkin the staff are so helpful and friendly. service is excellent,nothing too much trouble. we were luckly enough to be upgraded to a superior sea view. i think it would be worth the money. wonderful views. comfy bed, slept well, sounds of the sea with the window open.
very good dinner even on the comedy night.
will be going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your review I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything. I hope that you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We love staying at this hotel! You are never disappointed. Great happy staff, a lovely warm atmosphere. We chose to dine at the hotel for the first time...reputation excellent. Exquisite food, thanks chef! Portions on the large side so felt bad we couldn't send empty plates back to the kitchen. What we would recommend would be a visit to the bar for superb cocktails made by bar manager Josh! Thanks to you all for spoiling us!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
This is all lovely to hear. Chef and Josh both very much enjoyed your kind words. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a superb time at the Brudenell Hotel. Everyone there made us feel so welcome and the hotel is fantastic. They made my wife’s special birthday very special indeed and we loved our time there.

We had a superior sea view room which was worth every penny. Having the chance to go to sleep with the sea crashing on the shore outside was brilliant. The reception staff in particular were very helpful and the bar manager was great.

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view, a little more money but you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. I am really pleased to hear that the team helped to make this special occasion with you. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is the second visit to this hotel in a year and the quality has been maintained. Clean, comfortable and with superb sea views. The staff are helpful and give you a warm welcome to this boutique hotel which has quite good public spaces and well-designed rooms that cater for almost every need. As I write this we can hear the roiling sea crashing on the pebble beach. A wonderful calming sound for inlanders such as us. The restaurant serves excellent local food with a small but well balanced menu [sea food is a speciality] and whilst I enjoyed the pork medley my wife devoured the crab with alacrity. We couldn't fault either meal. The raspberry sweet was perhaps a little too sweet and could have done with more of the coulis to make is better balance but that is a small criticism and the attentive waiters ensured the meal was as unhurried as we wanted. Breakfasts are excellent too. Yes, it quite expensive compared to similar hotels in other parts of the country but Aldeburgh is a very special town (in beautiful county) with a unique atmosphere and the extra impact of the all-pervading sea more than compensates. Car parking can be difficult if the hotel is full and the ability to reverse in small streets is an advantage. Recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therealhotelinspector, General Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you very much for your open and honest review we are pleased that you had a really enjoyable stay. we take on board the constructive comments that you have made about one or two improvements we could make thank you. thank you also for sharing your pictures of your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
19.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh
The Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing